Fiction logo

The Food Romance

Short Story

By Hazel ParadisePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Food Romance
Photo by Chad Montano on Unsplash

Do you like eating dessert?

Or maybe you like to start your day with old-fashioned sour cream doughnuts?

Or do you like to have Rosemary Garlic Focaccia Bread? Perfect crispy texture outside and soft, tender inside?

What about coffee?

You must be thinking why the hell am I asking you all these things?

Because I am getting married to my enemy I met at the bar! And I am sitting here making the guest list and selecting desserts for our wedding day.

And if I am doing all the work, where is the groom? Well, Mr. Know-it-all is busy in his office, probably in some business meetings.

I got so crazy the previous night when my fiance said that he wouldn’t come with me to do the shopping for our wedding day. Who says that, right? I mean, we are in this together..?

I think men are interested … too?

So, after quarreling early in the morning and spoiling both our moods, I finally decided to grab a decent coffee from a Cup Of Joy. I have my friend there Josie Clark and she makes the best coffee in the world! My boyfriend thinks it's a woman named Ginger Swift who makes the best. Now, don't ask me who she is because I really don't know.

I just heard her name once when Michael was asking my fiance to patch him up with her. That’s all.

Leave it, the secret will be revealed soon.

So, now I am here doing all the shopping and selecting the best dessert for my day.

“Sean is going to get a very good surprise from me today,” I said as I took a large bite of my pastry - Tiramisu. This traditional Italian dessert was made up of sponge fingers that have been dipped in coffee and then sandwiched between mascarpone cheese that has been flavored with dark coffee and lightly whisked with eggs and sugar before being finished with a dusting of cocoa.

I am going on a one-week strict diet. I don’t know how I am going to stay away from coffee and sugar and desserts.

Since the day Nina announced my diet plan, I have been binge-watching and binge-eating wherever I get time. You can say I have been addicted to it. I am afraid to even show my YouTube history to anyone. You won’t get anything other than a Korean convenience store, dessert platter shorts, 24 hours food-eating challenge, and so on. Not mukbang. That’s my limit.

I never knew people were making such videos before Nina’s announcement. Sometimes, I watch more than eat.

On the other side of the table was my friend, Josie Clarke.

I was lost in my world. I didn’t notice that she was looking at me in surprise. We connect much better than our boyfriends. That’s true. “And what is that? Planning for a small surprise gift for your fiance before the wedding?”

I gave a wicked smile. He skipped shopping. We were supposed to be together. We decided a few weeks back that he is going to be riding me along with him to his best baker and dressmaker. But I think he needs to be reminded that I don't take no as the answer.

I am becoming just like him.

“A big fat check from his designer.” I smiled.

Just a few minutes more and his meeting would end. And then he would be checking his phone. He knows my anger will be screaming in this inbox. He knows me well. But instead this time he will be getting check after check. First from his baker and then his designer. Even from small stores where I did some random shopping.

“Don't you think it went too far?” Josie asked. I know she is concerned, but I don’t think this is enough.

After our lunch, I bade Josie goodbye and made my way to the apartment. My phone suddenly dinged. It was a message from my fiance.

“Thanks for the gift, Mimi. Send me more, I am waiting. 🙂”

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Hazel Paradise

I am a non-fiction author. I believe every author to be their own boss and have multiple sources of income. Consistency is all you need!

https://www.patreon.com/hazelparadise

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.