Fiction logo

Nova

Episode 1: The Will

By Real PoeticPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Nova
Photo by Melinda Gimpel on Unsplash

Takota: Well, what does he get? What does it say?

Lawyer: An architectural masterpiece. It was designed by your brother’s birth father. He also left Nova approximately 1.5 million dollars in a trust for you as well.

Nova: My father was a successful architect?

Lawyer: A genius architect. His entire estate is worth well over twenty million dollars.

Takota: Okay, so we’re fuckin rich? Is that what you’re telling me! Holy shit! Call Carrie right now and tell her we need her immediately.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Nova: Carrie? She isn't even mom’s friend anymore, remember. I would never give her the satisfaction.

Takota: Since when do you give a shit about mom’s personal life?

Nova: You don't understand. I have no intentions on selling it. I want to live in the house and I want you to come with me. Actually, I need you to come with me.

Takota: What about mom? He abandoned the both of you 28 years ago. Left you for dead. What kind of man leaves his family? How could you want to live in his house? You have no idea who this man is. He’s your father but he was never your dad.

Nova: You mean was. He’s dead, but this house gives me the chance to finally know who he might have been. This house must have meant everything to him. There has to be answers there or some sort of explanation for his absence. I need to know what was so special about that house that he was happier there rather than being here with me. I mean he did leave the house to me. That has to count for something, right?

Takota: Have you ever thought that maybe he gave you the house to relieve himself of his own guilt and that it had nothing to do with you at all? I’m no expert on narcs but they don’t usually care about how other people feel.

Nova: You sound just like her.

By Sai De Silva on Unsplash

Takota: Oh, really? By her, do you mean the woman who raised you by herself until she met Dad? Yeah, you must’ve forgotten that you already have a Dad, asshole. That man is not your father and never will be. It would break Mom’s heart to find out we moved into that crazy man’s house! Are you taking pills again? You sound insane. We have no idea what kind of shit took place in that man’s life. Stop trying to see your father as some lost hero. He was a deadbeat and god only knows what else.

Nova: Nah bro, Jeffrey was your father. He may have raised me but I always knew even before Mom was ready to tell me the truth.

Takota: Our father loved us! He treated you as if you were his own until his last breath. It would be incredibly disrespectful not only to Mom but to Dad to ever walk the same halls as that horrible excuse for a man. I’m leaving! You have completely lost your mind. Don’t worry, I would never repeat what you just said aloud to anyone. Ever! It brings me great shame to even think about doing something that impulsive.

Nova: Impulsive? I’m not the one who was trying to jump into selling what could turn into a family heirloom. You always talked about having a home. Maybe this is our chance to finally have one.

Takota: Family heirloom? So he’s your family now? Unbelievable. Something doesn’t feel right about this plan at all. Don’t say I didn’t warn you to stay the hell away from that house.

Nova: He’ll be back.

By LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

Lawyer: I don’t usually give personal advice to clients, but if I were in your shoes I would be just as curious as you are. Maybe your father wasn’t the best, but he has given you the opportunity to have power over your own life. Living in that house could give you an entire new perspective. If it means anything to you, I looked up to your father. He designed my home for free. He saved my marriage and for that I am forever grateful. I’m sure he loved you very much. Sometimes people don’t know how to right their wrongs in their own lives. Doesn’t mean they are not worthy of forgiveness.

Nova: Thank you, that meant more than you know.

Lawyer: No problem. You’re Kai’s son. That means you are family now. Here’s the address to your new beginning: 10413 High View Drive, Frostburg, Maryland— Here’s a photo.

Young Adult
3

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I am intrigued 😳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.