Fiction logo

Not so distant

Strangers

By J GiddensPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Not so distant
Photo by Robert Bye on Unsplash

Part 1

I saw her watching us surf for at least an hour. The bright pink matching skirt & bikini she wore caught my eye. The way it hugged every single curve clinging to her toasted almond skin it was hard to look away.

Could this be the same woman I saw everyday this week walking along the beach in a business suit in the early morning? Her hair was usually tied up but today she let it down. Long dark and full flowing over both shoulders.

I finally mustered up the courage to ride in on a wave nearby where she was sitting.

“Would you like to learn?” I asked.

“Pardon me?”

Why had I never seen this girl before? Even her politeness intrigued me.

“Would you like to learn to surf?” I reiterated. “Today’s a beautiful day to be in the water!”

“Oh, no thank you.” She replied. “I enjoy just sitting and listening to the waves.”

“Ohhh I understand, you can’t swim.” I muttered

“Pardon me?!” She exclaimed. Glaring at me over the top of her glasses as if she’s already over my shenanigans. “Making assumptions, are we?”

“Trust me, I know it can be a sensitive issue. But here we have a saying, if they’re not in the water, the water is not in them.”

“Wait, what?” She paused. “I’ve done extensive research and I never read that anywhere.”

“AHAHAHA” I couldn’t hardly my cackle. “Another saying we have on the island, don’t take stuff too seriously.”

At this point she was just scowling at me, exacerbated really, but with each response I inched toward her. Closing the gap between us until I was close enough to see her skin glowing in the sunlight. I could see the little peek-a-boo tattoo she was attempting to cover on her waist and the book she was clutching Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. I could almost see the self timer she had running in her head, counting the moments until she was able to return the solitude I interrupted.

“Quick! think of something else to say,” I thought to myself. “So you can’t or don’t swim…”

“Choosing not to!” She interrupted.

“Soooo you’re choosing not to swim… on such a beautiful day mind you, and you’re one of those come and read at the beach types.” I quipped as I tried to flash a grin. “You must not be from around here.”

“You finally got something right.” As she smiled back.

Yessss look at this little banter we have going I thought.

“My name’s Cylus, but everyone calls me Cy” I uttered.

She replied simply “Nia.”

As it left her lips I felt a little quiver down my spine.

Before I knew it, we were full-blown engaged in a conversation. Occasionally throughout, I couldn’t help but wonder why this girl is even talking to me. We were completely different personality types but she captivated me. Unlike any girl I ever met on the island.

She was a lawyer visiting Jamaica for work. She knew more about it than people I grew up with here for years. I couldn’t believe it. Her saying this was her first time coming to the islands, that I could believe. I became more and more enthralled by the minute. It was uncanny, we sat and talked for hours, watching the sunset. I told her about the island, how I’ve never left and she told me about New York, how she couldn’t imagine herself anywhere else.

I was overjoyed when she asked me to walk her back to her hotel.

“All the pictures really don’t do this place justice,” she said.

“The island is perfect the way it is,” I continued. “I’m glad you can appreciate it, maybe there’s still hope for you.”

As she blushed, peeking up at me over her glasses “maybe there’s hope for you.”

I didn't want to leave. I tried my hardest to keep outside talking but she insisted.

"This has been lovely but I have a dinner party I need to attend and I still need to get ready," she said.

"Blow it off!" I responded. "I have a dinner too, I'd much rather be here with you."

She gave me a laugh "tempting but no, I have a responsibility."

"You're on the island girly, your only responsibility here is to live."

I admired her commitment even though I didn't understand it. We exchanged numbers and parted ways.

Part 2

I searched for her during my surf for the next couple of mornings to no avail.

Then there I was leaning on the bar of another dinner party for my father's real estate company barely looking up from my glass to notice my surroundings.

I take a sip and glance up and BOOM, there's Nia! Buttoned up in that pant suit I saw her in all those mornings. That beautiful hair tight and tied up, walking step by step with my father and a couple of his advisors.

What the hell is going on here, I thought. What are the chances.

Could this dream girl who I spent an incredible evening with be apart of these leeches looking to build all over the beautiful nature this island had to offer. She fit right in with those vultures.

Even in this light I couldn't take my eyes off of her but I couldn't let her see me. I needed to see her in her element. So I watched her, hiding behind different groups as she moved throughout the party. My father gets lost in these things, there's no way he's going to come looking for me.

The night went on and I watched this girl who I couldn't stop thinking about for days rub shoulders and mingle seamlessly with the people who embody everything I detest.

At a point I couldn't take it anymore, I found myself back at the bar and even deeper in the glass. Contemplating how could these be the same person, sip after sip until I turn around and she's behind me.

"Cy what are you doing here?" She said bewildered

I stand to my feet slamming my cup down, "getting to know the real you."

Short Story
1

About the Creator

J Giddens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.