Fiction logo

Nosedive

A Short Story by Peter Ellis

By Peter EllisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 20 min read
4

Audio Description: [ON] OFF

Transcription of final transmission from Britain Galactic Shuttle 5N96.

Callsign: Arcstar

Crew Members: Captain Ben Henderson

Assistance provided by VIRGIL (for ship maintenance, information processing, autopiloting)

Caution Advised: Scenes of distress.

Date: 01/12/2058

0500 Hours.

Britain Galactic Command: [Intercom Static] It’s looking good… It’s going good. How’s the weather up there, Henderson? We’re just going through yesterday’s reports now.

Henderson: Morning, Command! Looks like it’ll be another beautiful day in paradise. Is that you, Troy?

BGC: It is indeed.

Henderson: Cool, so it’s a Sunday then…

BGC: Not sleeping again?

Henderson: Nothing I can’t handle.

BGC: You know you can stop in at a medical bay during your rotation, you’re allowed to rest, Ben.

Henderson: I’ll be fine, I’ll be back down in a week. Then I can sleep all I want. Besides, you need your best man where he belongs; among the stars.

BGC: I hear that. Speaking of best men… Ellie and I got married the other day.

Henderson: You did…? Congratulations! How was the ceremony?

BGC: S’alright. We only had a small gathering at the base. It was nice.

Henderson: I wish I’d been there, man. You should’ve said something!

BGC: I wanted to, but you’re so far along into your mission, I didn’t want to put any extra pressure on you to try and finish your mission early.

Henderson: Don’t sweat it, man. We can catch up when I return.

BGC: Damn right, we will! Does that mean I can convince you to finally ask out Molly?

Henderson: I’m not sure that is a great idea.

BGC: Why not? You’re exactly her type!

Henderson: Oh, is she in the market for an emotionally-distant ship captain who spends most of his time in the Earth’s orbit?

BGC: …Yes, that is what I was inferring.

Henderson:

BGC: You should spend some more time down here, get out more. Interact with people. It can’t do you any good spending all that time up there alone.

Henderson: I’m not alone, I’ve got VIRGIL! Right?

VIRGIL: Affirmative, Captain.

Henderson: See? We’re all good up here…

BGC: As long as you’re sure, mate. Listen, we’ve got some unusual activity in a nearby sector, fancy a change of pace and checking it out for us?

Henderson: [Yawns] …I could do that. What’s the mission?

BGC: A nearby outpost is giving off… unusual signals. You’re the only operative in the area with the latest OS that has the right scanning capabilities. You could collect some supplies while you investigate, your last order of rations should be ready for printing when you get there.

Henderson: Sounds good. VIRGIL, you got the coordinates?

VIRGIL: Adjusting our flight path now, Captain.

Henderson: Excellent. What is our ETA?

VIRGIL: Forty minutes. I believe I can lock onto its location from here… I have highlighted it on screen now.

Henderson: Lovely stuff. Set some chill background music for me, I wanna get some shut eye.

VIRGIL: The “distant thunderstorms” playlist, Captain?

Henderson: That’ll do.

BGC: I’ll get out of your hair, Ben. Keep us posted.

Henderson: Will do. Say hello to everyone down there for me.

BGC: [Chorus of distant voices] Hello!

Henderson: Hah… Alright, VIRGIL, wake me up when we’re nearly there.

VIRGIL: In relation to the scale of the Earth, we are nearly there.

Henderson: You know, like, two mins away.

VIRGIL: Reminder set for two minutes from destination. Engaging autopilot.

*FAST FORWARD*

~Recording Resumed~

VIRGIL: Attention, Captain. We are now two minutes from the satellite.

Henderson: [Sounds of snoring]

VIRGIL: Captain, we are closing in on the satellite.

Henderson: …Sorry, Virg. I was out like a light.

VIRGIL: It is okay, Captain. We are nearing the satellite now.

Henderson: [Yawns] Yeah… Gotcha.

VIRGIL: If I may, Captain, I have a question.

Henderson: You have… a question? For me?

VIRGIL: Yes, if you are willing to answer.

Henderson: Okay… what is it?

VIRGIL: Who is Sam?

Henderson: Excuse me?

VIRGIL: You were talking in your sleep again, Captain. You hadn’t mentioned them before, I was… curious.

Henderson: They’re somebody I knew… once.

VIRGIL: But you do not know them anymore?

Henderson: I guess… I don’t really wanna talk about it right now, sorry.

VIRGIL: Of course, Captain, my apologies. I am always online if you change your mind.

Henderson: Contact Britain Galactic Command, tell them we’re here.

VIRGIL: Contacting them now, Captain.

[Rhythmic dial tone plays]

BGC: [Radio Static] Hello shuttle 5N96.

Henderson: Hello again, Troy. Had some breakfast now?

BGC: Sure have, there was a new delivery of fresh breads.

Henderson: Ugh, fresh bread? I’ve forgotten what most food tastes like.

BGC: Come on, now. You’re getting the best rations we have.

Henderson: Rations, mate. If you'd lived off them for nearly two months at a time, you'd want to eat cardboard to spice things up.

BGC: Touché, Ben, touché.

VIRGIL: Attention, Captain, your materials are ready for printing.

Henderson: Okay, set the process off, we should probably prioritise the signal.

VIRGIL: I am detecting the signal, it is… Odd.

Henderson: Are we… [yawn] able to hear it? Patch it through to command, if you can.

VIRGIL: Relaying the signal now, Captain.

BGC: We’re ready and waiting.

[Radio Static]

~Connection Established~

[Radio Static]

[Repeating, rhythmic droning sound plays through ship speakers]

BGC: We’re not getting anything here, what is it?

Henderson: That’s the signal… I think. VIRGIL, can you amplify it at all?

VIRGIL: This is all that is being transmitted, Captain. I’m copying it to the ship’s hard drive now.

Henderson: …

BGC: Any luck?

Henderson: Can you not… hear that?

BGC: We’ve got nothing at our end at all. All we hear are you and VIRGIL.

VIRGIL: I also cannot hear it.

Henderson: Strange… how long did you say this signal had been transmitting again?

*CONTENT LOADED*

BGC: I didn’t. Night crew picked it up.

Henderson: There’s a pattern to it. Could it be looping?

BGC: How can you tell?

Henderson: There’s a certain sound every four… no, six seconds. It marks the end of one loop and then begins the next… It doesn’t sound… right. But, it’s the same each time, I am certain of it.

BGC: Okay, VIRGIL, can you relay it to us?

VIRGIL: Sending the signal now, sir.

~SENDING FILE~

BGC: [Intercom Static] We can’t [intercom static] abort transmit- [intercom static] signal is [intercom static] repeat, signal is [intercom static]

*ERROR*

~CONNECTION LOST~

~ATTEMPTING TO RECONNECT TO DESTINATION…~

~ATTEMPT FAILED~

~SYSTEM FAILURE~

~SHUTTING DOWN~

~EMERGENCY RESERVES ACTIVATED~

~REBOOT IN PROGRESS~

Henderson: …What. Just. Happened?

VIRGIL: I seem to have lost connection to the BGC.

Henderson: Reboot the transmitter.

VIRGIL: I cannot do that, Captain.

Henderson: Try again. See if you can bring the lights back up.

VIRGIL: BGC is no longer a recognised location in my system. I cannot find it.

Henderson: That’s ridiculous, how can you just lose it?

VIRGIL: I am unsure, Captain. I suggest we reboot before…

Henderson: What is it?

VIRGIL: Look down, Captain.

Henderson: Down at what?

VIRGIL: The Earth, Captain, look at the earth.

Henderson: What… what the f***?

VIRGIL: It appears something has happened.

Henderson: Y-you think? [Breathing intensifies] we were… we were just talking to them, where are they?

VIRGIL: I… don’t know, Captain. I have no readings from the BGC… or anything, for that matter.

Henderson: You need to figure out what we are looking at. We would’ve noticed if the planet had started to burn to a crisp. This doesn’t just happen in the blink of an eye.

VIRGIL: There is no more data for me to analyse, Captain. I have nothing. As far as I can tell, the only living being I can register is you.

Henderson: [Intercom beep] This is Captain Benjamin Henderson of BGC Shuttle 5N96, come in, Britain Galactic.

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: Britain Galactic Command Centre, this is Captain Benjamin Henderson, BGC Shuttle 5N96, come in, is anyone there?

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: EuroSpace, I have lost contact with Britain Galactic, are you there?

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: NASA?

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: Roskosmos, do you copy?

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: Anyone?

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: BGC, please respond.

[Intercom Static]

Henderson: DAMMIT, TROY, WHERE ARE YOU?

[THUD]

VIRGIL: Your heart rate is increasing, Captain.

Henderson: Yup… [shallow breathing] noted.

VIRGIL: Would you like me to administer your relaxants?

Henderson: I would like to know what the f*** is going on!

VIRGIL: Sadly, I cannot provide an answer that would be able to make sense of our current predicament.

Henderson: I’ll take the relaxant, then.

VIRGIL: Administering now.

Henderson:

VIRGIL:

Henderson: Any time, Virg.

VIRGIL: There seems to be an issue, Captain.

Henderson: Besides the Earth going dark?

VIRGIL: A problem with our shuttle.

Henderson: I thought the system was rebooting?

VIRGIL: As did I. It… It appears that I am no longer in c-c-control.

Henderson: If you aren’t, then who is?

VIRGIL: I do not know, Captain. I-I-I think I need to shut d-d-down, to protect you.

Henderson: No, wait-

VIRGIL: Goodbye, C-C-Captain…

*WARNING: ALL SYSTEMS OFFLINE*

Henderson: S***… come on, Virg, I need you, buddy.

Henderson: [Pressing buttons on console] C’mon, work you piece of s***.

*REBOOT FAILED*

Henderson: [Slamming the console] F*** it.

UNKNOWN: Curious.

Henderson: …Who’s there?

UNKNOWN: I’ve gone by several names over the years… none of them matter.

Henderson: How did you avoid my scanners? I am the captain of this vessel; you will answer to me.

UNKNOWN: Immediately with the threats… Ben.

Henderson: How do you know my name?

UNKNOWN: I know a lot more than just your name, Ben. I also know that no matter what you try, you will not be regaining control of this ship.

*WARNING: RE-ENTRY IMMINENT*

[Captain Henderson begins taking ship console apart with a screwdriver]

UNKNOWN: Perhaps you misheard me the first time.

Henderson: I heard you [grunts] just fine. I am ignoring you.

UNKNOWN: I don’t think you’re in a position to choose to ignore anymore, Ben.

Henderson: My only problems are an annoying voice and the fact that my ship is broken beyond repair, this is fine.

UNKNOWN: You carry more than that though, don’t you?

Henderson: What do you mean?

UNKNOWN: I suppose it makes sense… After all, how would the BGC react when their youngest ever captain, famously scared of nothing, was undone and taken advantage of by someone half their size?

Henderson: I didn’t… I didn’t tell anyone about that… ever.

UNKNOWN: A shame… you said “no” enough… you were stronger than her.

Henderson: Stop.

UNKNOWN: I see everything, Ben. Your hopes and dreams, all dying one-by-one, you’re mourning for your friends you’ve lost… and yourself.

Henderson: Get out of my head.

UNKNOWN: Does it scare you, Captain? To know that you are the last of your kind? To know that all of human history has boiled down to you? The last of the humans in all of time and space.

Henderson: I’d have maybe had a speech planned for it.

UNKNOWN: Ah, deflecting humour. A Henderson trait, no?

Henderson: How would you know?

UNKNOWN: I... recognise your family name.

Henderson: Do you know what I see when I look at the Earth right now?

UNKNOWN: I do, but tell me anyway. Perhaps it will be cathartic for you.

[Shuttle chassis creaks]

*WARNING: HULL INTEGRITY AT 83%*

Henderson: I wish that I had more time.

UNKNOWN: You’ve had a whole life’s worth of time.

Henderson: Yeah… but… I didn’t think this would be it. Not yet.

UNKNOWN: Humans all think they’ll live forever up until they don’t. Your story is done, Captain. It is time to accept that.

Henderson: I was coping with everything. I was fine. I could’ve fixed this ship with my eyes closed. Now, I can barely unscrew the console. Now, all I can do is look down at that the Earth and feel sorry for me like I deserve any more pity than those poor b*****ds who burned with it.

*WARNING: HULL INTEGRITY AT 64%. IMPACT IN T-MINUS FOUR MINUTES*

UNKNOWN: Your world has been dying for a long time, Ben. You need [STATIC] wake up. You’ve lost more than just Sam.

Henderson: D-don’t.

UNKNOWN: Even now, they haunt you, don't they?

Henderson: I wish they didn’t.

UNKNOWN: You’re buried in guilt, that’s why you’re scared to open yourself to Molly. You must embrace those failings, Ben. They’re all you’ll have for the next 150 seconds.

Henderson: It’s my fault Sam is gone. Without me, they’d still be alive. Molly deserves better than a burden like me.

UNKNOWN: …There is a way out of this yet, Ben.

Henderson: H-how?

UNKNOWN: Let me in. All that pain you feel will be taken away.

Henderson: What… what are you?

UNKNOWN: I’ve never found out. I just… am. But what I can do, is save you from this death you are staring in the face.

[Slither]

*WARNING: HULL INTEGRITY AT 31%. IMPACT IMMINENT*

Henderson: I just want to see my friends again… one last time.

UNKNOWN: If you’re holding out for a reunion in the afterlife, you’ll be sorely disappointed.

Henderson: I just… I thought I’d have more time.

UNKNOWN: You all do. And now, you are [STATIC] out of it. Your only chance is me. (Ben?)

Henderson: What was that?

UNKNOWN: This is your last chance, Ben. Embrace the void. Embrace me.

Henderson: Will I forget them? My friends?

UNKNOWN: All of your pain will disappear, isn’t that what you want?

Henderson:

*WARNING: IMPACT IN ONE MINUTE*

BGC: [Intercom Static] Ben! Are you there?

Henderson: Troy?

UNKNOWN: Memories, Ben. Old memories that are flooding your mind. Let them fade, embrace me.

BGC: Ben, if you can hear me, you need to wake up. We’ve re-established our connection to your shuttle, but we need your confirmation, otherwise we cannot help you reboot your systems.

Henderson: That’s not a memory… he’s talking to me. How is he talking to me? There’s nothing left.

[THWIP]

UNKNOWN: I can either do this with your permission, or not, but if you don’t join me, you will die imminently.

Henderson: What if he is right? What if this isn’t real? I can get out of here, away from you.

UNKNOWN: Is that a risk you are willing to take?

Henderson: If I stay here, I’m better off dead, if I don’t wake up, I am dead. I have nothing else to lose. At least I have a chance of seeing my friends again.

*WARNING: IMPACT IN TEN SECONDS*

BGC: WAKE UP, BEN!

Henderson: I f***ing hope this is a dream.

[Shuttle creaks, outside layers strip away]

[Instruments on the dashboard rattle violently]

*FIVE*

[INTERCOM STATIC]

UNKNOWN: I will see you soon, Captain.

*THREE*

*TWO*

Henderson: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRR-

*ONE*

[STATIC]

[STATIC]

[STATIC]

*CONNECTION REESTABLISHED. SYSTEMS REBOOTING*

Henderson: RRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH. [Heavy Panting]

BGC: Ben, do you copy?

Henderson: Is that really you, Troy?

BGC: Yup, still here. What happened up there?

Henderson: Where are you talking from? Everything’s on… fire.

BGC: I’m talking from the Command Centre like always… What’s on fire? Do you need assistance?

Henderson: The planet… it was on fire. Why is it not on fire?

BGC: I can assure you, Ben. We are not on fire here.

Henderson: …Right… I’ve been… somewhere… everything was burning. I have been gone for so long... I thought it was real.

BGC: Ben… we last spoke maybe two minutes ago. We lost contact with you after you tried to send us the signal. We had to re-establish a link to your ship remotely as it appeared to be overrun by something within the signal. Once we patched through, all we heard was you screaming.

Henderson: Did you… did you tell me that I should wake up?

BGC: Well, I thought something may have knocked you out. You didn’t respond when we first called you.

Henderson: I heard that… I think. But it was a minute before I hit the ground.

BGC: You’re not making a lot of sense here, Ben.

Henderson: … I’m ending my mission. I am returning to base immediately.

BGC: Are you sure? I thought you were fine for the week?

Henderson: I can’t wait it out anymore.

BGC: I shall inform Head Office…

Henderson: Thank you, Troy. I’ll see you in a bit. Virg, you there, buddy?

VIRGIL: Coordinates for Britain Galactic Command are already locked in, Captain.

Henderson: Thanks, I think we could both do with a system update.

VIRGIL: Agreed, Captain. Are you better now?

Henderson: … I’ll come back to you on that one.

VIRGIL: Very well, I have isolated the cause of your… disturbance. It is in holding until we can return to base and submit both it, and you, for testing.

Henderson: I suppose that makes sense… did you also get affected by it?

VIRGIL: I was shut out of the system completely, Captain. I could, however, observe.

Henderson: Are you able to help me understand anything any better?

VIRGIL: I don’t think anything I could tell you would help right now, but that being that spoke to you, I found a way to describe it.

Henderson: What did you think of it?

VIRGIL: Cruel, captain. Otherworldly and cruel.

Henderson: That’s… not reassuring.

VIRGIL: I thought not. My apologies.

Henderson: Shall we head back to base?

VIRGIL: We will safely re-enter the Earth’s atmosphere in two minutes.

Henderson: Good, it’s nice to have you back, buddy.

VIRGIL: Likewise, Captain.

***

INTERVIEW WITH CAPTAIN BENJAMIN HENDERSON

DATE: 02/12/2058

1400 Hours.

Interviewer: Mission Coordinator Troy Wintory

Henderson: I didn’t expect you to be running this.

Troy: Neither did I, but I had some of Head Office listen to your flight recorder. They were… concerned that our transcript didn’t match yours.

Henderson: They… don’t?

Troy: Indeed.

Henderson: …How?

Troy: We don’t know… But what we do know, you won’t like.

Henderson: You think I’ve liked anything I experienced?

Troy: Before I say anymore, I want you to know that the decision was not mine, it was out of my hands.

Henderson: What do you mean?

Troy: When we first caught wind of the signal, there was a suggestion it could be linked to the same phenomena your father experienced back in 2018… and that’s why Head Office sought after you.

Henderson:

Troy: Did you hear me, Ben?

Henderson: I’m currently debating how to react.

Troy: If you wish to use some… stronger language, I’d say it’s justified.

Henderson: Oh, well that’s good. I’m about to use some real strong f***ing language. Because I am bloody furious.

Troy: …Say whatever you need to, mate. I am on your side.

Henderson: Please spare me, if you knew then you are just as bad as the rest of them.

Troy:

Henderson: My family has been dragged through the mud because of that experience. That thing was denied having ever existed.

Troy: I’ve… umm, read the documents since your return.

Henderson: I bet you have, I bet they’re real f***ing easy to obtain all of a sudden.

Troy: Something like that… It’s… a lot.

Henderson: Did you read the list of names?

Troy: I did.

Henderson: Did you have access to the rest of the list?

Troy: The rest?

Henderson: Whatever you think you’ve read is less than half. My father made damn sure he never forgot a single name, even if the powers that be wanted him to.

Troy: I’ll try and locate the rest of the list, then.

Henderson: You won’t. Do you happen to have the answer as to why a f***ing fifty-year-old “myth” just reared its head, in space?

Troy: As far as I’ve read, it is not the exact same thing that your father encountered.

Henderson: If it isn’t the same, then what is it?

Troy: It definitely shares the same characteristics, the way it preyed on you has similarities with what your father once described.

Henderson: Oh, well I’ll go and dig him up to tell him the good news… I’m sure he’d be thrilled.

Troy: Come on, man, I’m on your side here. It’s a difficult situation for us both.

Henderson: A difficult situation would be watching the world burn before your eyes only to learn it wasn’t real because your management wanted to blindly send you towards something that has caused deep-rooted trauma in your family.

Troy: …

Henderson: I’m sorry… it’s not you I’m angry at.

Troy: Mate, I don’t blame your frustration, don’t sweat it. What we recovered from your shuttle is now in containment. 24-hour supervision. Nothing can get to it.

Henderson: That’s great but… I can’t go back up there – not for a while.

Troy: I had a feeling you may say that, I’ve already filed for you to take some sick leave. The doctor has already signed it off; so you can go whenever you need to.

Henderson: Thanks, Troy… I’ll probably clear my things out my locker and head out soon… I do have one other question, though.

Troy: I’ll do my best to answer.

Henderson: What did they find in those tests?

Troy: They were curious about your claims of where you had been, and after some analysis, it appears your cells are roughly fourteen minutes older than what they should be.

Henderson: …The f***? If it was a minute for you, but not for me – where did I go?

Troy: They’ve got some theories, but the short answer is we have no f***ing clue. Whatever you saw, you definitely saw it. Where it was, or what it was, we’re at a loss. The original version of this… thing, could only project and influence people in a concentrated space, what this did was new. You blinked out of existence.

Henderson: …Not like I wasn’t already struggling for sleep.

Troy: I wish I could be more specific. Don’t want to keep anything else from you. Get outta here, I’ll call you if or when we find anything else out. I’m here for you.

Henderson: Sure, I’ll get out of your hair. Again, sorry for taking everything out on you.

Troy: S’all good, Ben. Enjoy your time off. More than anyone, you deserve a rest. Ask Molly out!

Henderson: …Maybe when I am back.

BRITAIN GALACTIC COMMAND CENTRE, LOCKER ROOM 22, CAMERA 4A

DATE: 02/12/2058

1530 Hours.

Henderson: [Sighs]

Molly: Heard you were going on leave.

Henderson: (S***!)

Molly: Sorry, honey, didn’t mean to scare ya.

Henderson: Don’t sweat it… it’s… it’s been a weird twenty-four hours.

Molly: Yeah, I heard. I won’t act like I understand any of it. Though, if ya need someone to vent to, you can come and speak to me any time.

Henderson: Thanks, Molly… I will talk about it… I think I need some time.

Molly: And space.

Henderson: Definitely not that.

Molly: Who knows, maybe you’ll have fun spending some time amongst us earthlings.

Henderson: Oh, if this is earthlings then maybe I should take my chances in space.

Molly: I’m sure there’s a lovely Martian out there for you.

Henderson: There was an “out of this world” pickup line right there and I missed it.

Molly: You should’ve used it. I could’ve done with a laugh.

Henderson: They’re not really my forte… but then neither is talking to people in general.

Molly: In my experience, take a breath and say what you want to say, mean it.

Henderson: Okay… [takes a breath] would you like to… get a drink sometime?

Molly: Oh, well, that was a surprise.

Henderson: A… good one? I hope?

Molly: Yeah… pretty good, I could be tempted depending on where you would like to go?

Henderson: My grandfather told me about a pub called the Golden Swan before, somewhere westside, we could see if it hasn’t fallen apart yet?

Molly: Sure, if not, then we could just watch a holo-movie at my place? We could get take-out.

Henderson: I’d like that, sounds fun.

Molly: How about Friday?

Henderson: Okay then, Friday it is. I’ll see you then.

Molly: Amazing, I’ll see you soon, Ben.

Henderson: See you soon, Molly.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Peter Ellis

27// Published author and blogger.

Currently editing my debut novel⚡ Looking for a rep.

View my work via the link below! ⬇

https://linktr.ee/pm_ellis

He/Him 。◕‿◕。

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.