Fiction logo

No Need For Sleep

What happens when you are trapped in nightmare, and there is just no way out?

By Maria DPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
No Need For Sleep
Photo by Kahfiara Krisna on Unsplash

I was walking to room 1,204 which was odd because this hotel was only about 6 stories high and the numbers in the hall went by 100's I was lost for a while until I took a left turn at the red mirror sitting alone on the wall. I wasn't sure how I knew about the red mirror, or why It felt familiar to me but I followed my intuition and to my surprise I was on the floor of the thousands.. Where did it come from, how, I was about shook because it seemed as if it had came out of no where, like if I just went through some portal and landed on the other side. Whatever, I kept on walking until I found room 1,204. I was about to knock but right before I did the door opened itself I thought someone was behind it, but the room looked empty. "Hello? Is anyone here? I was told to come here?" Nothing, it was empty and the echo of my voice was a bit weary.

I was confused when all of a sudden I heard a loud Slam! I got goosebumps as I felt the fear take over my body you could only imagine how I felt in those moments. I turn around to see if anyone is behind me, but no. I decide to exit the room with out further investigation as I was afraid of who or what was in those closed doors.. This whole place just had a vibe, a weird vibe, I opened the door and walked out when all of a sudden I was no longer in the hotel. I was in a grocery store, at this point I thought I lost my mind, I thought I was going crazy even pinched myself and hoped and prayed that I would wake up, but nothing. I was looking around when I noticed everyone looked weird, they were not people, they were not humans they looked as if they were made of plastic, and all of a sudden a sound came over the intercom which sounded like a scratched CD just stuck on repeat. I was scared, I was about to panic I had to get out of here but I was so afraid to move and be seen by them so I tried my best not to be seen. I was walking behind the isles and If I saw anyone coming my way I would go the other way. I wasn't breathing. I was holding my breath because I don't think not any on of those people were breathing! I started to pick up my pace, when I bumped into a plastic standing in the door way, then that's when all eyes turned to me and they all went red! Their eyes looked like fire, like a laser was about to shoot out of them so I jumped pushed the person in front of me and ran out of that store as fast as I could!

I stumbled onto the ground and noticed the snow, what the hell was going on, how was this even possible?! I have to be dreaming it felt as if I kept falling into different realms! I was cold, I was wearing a sweat shirt pajama pants I was not dressed for this weather my feet were about to get frost bite, there were buildings with lights on and each time I tried to enter the doors seemed to be locked! "Help me please! Someone please help!" There was no one, this town was empty, yet the lights were on and I could hear music coming from somewhere so that was when I decided to follow the sound! I was stunned when I noticed what looked like a party, except it was those laser shooting people again, they had already spotted me and I knew it was too late so I turned around and ran for my life before my feet gave out! I fell onto the ground and closed my eyes and was ready for what ever was about to happen to me!

I opened my eyes to the sun beaming on my face from my bedroom window, oh thank heavens it was just a dream. Just a stupid dream I think to myself. I get out of bed head to the living room to see my family, having nightmares like that always makes me want to see my family and make sure they are okay, and that I am okay it helps me feel better. The house was empty when I went downstairs I figured they went out to breakfast so I head to the bathroom so I can take a shower and get ready for the day when I walked past the red mirror on the wall. The same red mirror I had seen in my dream, this whole time it felt familiar it's because it was. All along it was the mirror hanging on our wall. I noticed something different so I re-track and look at myself in the mirror when all of a sudden m jaw drops, and I notice my eyes go red Red like fire, like I was about to shoot lasers out of my eyes! "MOM?! DAD?! Someone please help me please!!" I plead out as I fall onto my knee's this nightmare just kept on going, as if it was never going to end! "Honey? Honey are you okay?" The sound of my moms voice calmed me down enough to get up off my knees but I had my face in my hands because I did not want them to see me this way, "mom, I-" I had no clue what to say when she grabbed my hands and asked If I was alright.. "Honey what's wrong?" I look up at her and expect her to freak out when all my heart sank to my stomach and I felt as If I could faint! "AHHH!!" I start to yell as I notice my mother look different, her hands felt different! She was- She was- I was stuttering until I finally was able to come to terms in my mind, she was one of them... This was the longest nightmare I had to live, and I still live to this day. I have not slept a day of my life since then, and frankly I never felt sleepy. Neither did my mom, or my dad... Even our dog had laser beam eyes. It still felt like home, only not. It felt like a hell hole, and I had no way to get out.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Maria D

Just someone who enjoys to write, and explore her mind. I love to read, especially when they turn into movies in my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.