Fiction logo

Ninety-nine pages of fairy tale book

"Knock, knock ......" the door rang.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

"Knock, knock ......" the door rang.

The rabbit just opened the door, and the bear crashed in, mixed with the wind and snow of the mountains, and a coldness slipped into the room.

The rabbit brought the bear a hot potato soup, and the bear sat by the fire and drank the soup, his body was so comfortable that it was "bubbling".

"Forgive my rudeness, Bunny, but as a bear who doesn't hibernate, you know that winter is hard." The bear said, "Oh, by the way, thank you for the potato soup."

"That's okay, I always entertain my winter guests that way, but my cabin is rarely visited in the winter." The rabbit replied.

"Then you must be very lonely, right? Bunny, let me tell you a story."

The rabbit was very happy, she was always drowsy and couldn't fight in the winter, all year round her cabin had guests coming and going, they talked and laughed with the rabbit, but no one ever told the rabbit a story.

"I picked up a cat a long time ago, she was skinny and small, always shrunken into a ball, it took me a long time to make the cat fat, every time I climbed a mountain, the cat was always tired and panting, but she still liked to accompany me to run east and west. Whenever I hibernated, the cat always leaned over my body and kept my dreams for me, he drove away all those black, cold dreams and filled my dreams with warmth and hope."

"I thought the cat and I could always be together, but then, one day, the cat's mother came to my door, hoping that the cat could accompany her on her last journey, something that could not be refused in any way, and the cat looked a little reluctant, and I pushed her and let the cat follow her mother."

"After the cat left, there was no one who could chase away those dark and damp dreams for me while I was hibernating. The nightmares intensified and took over my brain, and I often woke up in the middle of the night, looking at the empty cave."

"I regretted it, I missed the cat, all the time."

"So I began to travel while looking for the cat."

"Oh, Rabbit, do you know what a bear that doesn't hibernate does?" The bear suddenly asked.

"You would go and steal honey and eat it all over your face." The rabbit thought for a moment and smiled.

"Naughty rabbit." The bear followed suit and laughed bitterly.

"By the way, this winter, can I borrow your attic to sleep? I am very tired now, if I do not wake up in the coming spring, please bury me in your garden, and if the cat comes here, say that the bear once lived here, and, if you can, send her a flower and tell her that the bear regrets it, and that the bear should be selfish ......"

"Of course you can, it's not just a nap, next spring we'll have to go pick flowers together, the flowers in my garden are very beautiful." The rabbit did not think so.

"Thank you, kind rabbit." The bear walked with heavy steps toward the attic.

Spring had arrived, the grass was growing, and the cuckoo was holding green leaves to announce the arrival of spring.

The rabbit hopped up to the attic and went to call the bear to get up.

The rabbit pushed open the attic door and found it silent, the bear's huge body lying on the ground, silent.

"Bear? Bear! Wake up! We have to go pick flowers together! Bear!" Rabbit nudged the bear and shouted.

But he could never hear the bear's response.

With tears in his eyes, the rabbit buried the bear in his spring garden, as he had wished.

During the spring and autumn, there were still many visitors who passed by the rabbit's hut, and the rabbit would treat them warmly, and the days seemed no different from before.

In the blink of an eye, it was the cold and lonely winter, and the rabbit became lethargic again, unable to fight.

"Knock, knock ......" the door rang.

The rabbit just opened the door and the cat scurried in.

"Oh ...... please forgive me for being rude, Bunny, because it's really cold outside."

"It's okay." The rabbit's heart suddenly fluttered and seemed to connect to something.

Picture

The rabbit brought the cat a hot potato soup, the cat sat by the fire, drinking potato soup, comfortable, the cat can even feel the body and even every joint crevice "goo goo" hot air.

"Ah! Thank you for the soup, Bunny." The cat exclaimed.

"I always serve my guests like this, no need to thank them."

"Kind rabbit, I don't think there are many guests on such a cold day, you must be bored, right? After all, the cold winter always makes people drowsy, so, I will tell you my story, right?" The cat said so.

The rabbit suddenly became sad.

The cat didn't notice the rabbit's expression and told itself.

She was picked up by the bear, she had been with the bear, she thought she could always stay with the bear, but the cat's mother came to the door, hoping that she could go back with her, the cat was reluctant, she had always lived with the bear, but the bear still pushed herself to the mother.

The mother is very attentive, after the cat went back with her, it is more attentive, she strung a string of oak leaves at the door, the wind blew, tinkling very pleasant, I must say, and mother live together very comfortable, very pleasant.

But the cat still can not help thinking about the bear, sitting also want, standing also want, sleep also want, do not sleep also want, more and more intense.

As time went by, my mother gradually became only skin and bones, and looking at the gradually emaciated cat, she felt guilty that her impulse had led to this result.

On her deathbed, the mother said, "Go to the bear and say hello to him for me."

So the cat set off on her journey.

She kept looking for Bear's footprints. In the town, Bear had been seen buying seeds for fruit trees, on the farm, there was a large apple orchard left by Bear, and even the canned apple juice in the city had Bear's patent, and Cat kept looking for Bear along his route, wanting to talk to him a lot, to spit out her long-standing love, but she could not find it.

Maybe it will never be found in this life ......

The cat was silent, and the bottom of her eyes were bleak.

The rabbit actually should have thought that she was the cat in the mouth of the bear, the rabbit said nervously: "Actually ...... actually the bear lived here, he said, while he was traveling, looking for a cat."

The cat's eyes lit up and the fireplace's flames danced in the cat's eyes, "Is that true!"

"Well. The bear said that if the cat came here, let me send you a flower from my garden, which he had said was beautiful." The rabbit replied.

But it was winter, and the rabbit's garden was blown to pieces by the wind and snow, but at last the rabbit found in the corner of the garden a red plum in full bloom, alone and fragrant, like a drop of blood that had fallen inadvertently in the brilliant white snow.

There it was, the place where the bear slept for a long time.

The cat took the red plum and jumped up and down with excitement.

"Oh, kind rabbit, thank you for passing on the message! I was going to borrow your loft for the night, but now it seems that I don't have to, I can't wait now, I think the bear is waiting for me at the next stop, I'll continue my journey soon, thank you very much indeed, rabbit, I'll see you again sometime!"

With that, the cat scurried out the door, its thin figure quickly submerged in the blanket of snow outside the door.

What a persistent cat.

Later, the rabbit became a rabbit who loved to climb in the attic. In the cold winter, the rabbit would no longer be drowsy, and she wrote the story of the cat and the bear into a book of ninety-nine pages, but the book had no ending.

The rabbit tells the story of the cat and the bear to every guest who comes and goes, and each time she tells it, the story ends differently each time.

After all, the story of the cat and the bear is far from over, and there are always people running on the road full of joy.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.