Fiction logo

Nightmare Removal

I saw the future of the earth in my dream. You don't want to know...

By George Karouzakis Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
Nightmare Removal
Photo by Noah Buscher on Unsplash

- I can't breathe...

- Get up quickly, drink some water. What did you feel? Was it a nightmare?

- I don't know... but it felt so real, more alive than life itself. I still feel it was real life, and now that we're talking together... we're in a dream.

-What are you talking about? Drink some water and get some fresh air in the garden, please.

- I can't sleep. Please don't leave me alone...

- I will not leave thee. Calm down and tell me what ails you.

- It all started before I went to sleep... In the early afternoon, I thought it would be nice to wear this heart-shaped locket around my neck that we bought on our trip to Iceland.

Photo by Giulia Bertelli on Unsplash

What's that got to do with your nightmare?

- I just fell asleep, and then I had this vision that inside the locket was a message for me. Someone was trying to warn me about something terrible. I touched the locket almost by accident and felt a vibration. Then the terrible vision began to take shape in my mind...

- What kind of vision... Will you tell me more?

- I've seen Earth in the future. Climate change has made human life on the planet almost unbearable, the population has shrunk dramatically. Temperatures are rising rapidly, food is becoming scarce, and the death toll has multiplied. Earth's resources have greatly dwindled, and those left behind are ready to execute a massive plan to save humanity by moving to another planet.

- Oh dear, stop watching these post-apocalyptic documentaries on Netflix. They'll ruin your brain...

- Please don't make fun of me. I still feel the horror of what I saw...

- Okay! And then what happened?

- On Earth, advanced technology has developed that helps people escape to another, safer place that I can't identify... The survival of the remaining population is ensured by the existence of two massive military bases, where living conditions for the population are artificially created. Earth's permanent resources are used to sustain life and improve technology in preparation for relocating humans to another place.

Photo by Wil Stewart on Unsplash

- In the end, your nightmare is a real blockbuster ... I follow you with great interest!

- The conditions on Earth and the difficulty of the operation require that society be organized within the military bases. The scientists run the society, and the workers carry out their orders. Discipline through strict rules characterizes the life of the workers on the bases.

The goal of survival does not allow them to have healthy social relationships. Love affairs and cohabitation are forbidden, and breaking the rules leads the workers to exile outside the Sanctuary as punishment, where the climatic conditions of Earth promise only death to the exiles. Their lives and bodies are dedicated entirely to the salvation of humanity. Any deviation from the norm can be devastating to all. I can't bear the thought of...

- Are there real people there? I mean by characteristics of everyday behavior or just the general idea of people?

Photo by Sam Moqadam on Unsplash

- Very clearly! The leader of the scientists is Doctor Archard, a tall, gaunt intellectual with a scar on one of his cheeks, who is coordinating the gigantic mission of migration from Earth. His public speech is laconic, militaristic, and he constantly tries to remind everyone of the importance of the endeavor and the discipline needed to save humanity.

Those who break the rules of life and work are brought to justice by a team led by Archard. The guilty are banished from the military base to the inhospitable and dangerous earthly environment. His secret intention is to leave the largest number of workers on Earth to die, escaping only with the team of scientists.

Photo by Jeff Finley on Unsplash

- Have you seen this whole story with such details in your dream? Can you really remember names? I'm beginning to be afraid of you...

- Yes, everything was so clear to me: faces, gestures, names. That's why I'm so afraid of it. I also remember that the leader of the workers is called Captain Amorite, a handsome, shapely man, with a heart-shaped medallion like mine on his neck, who tries to combine his rebellious nature with the conditions in the military bases.

Sensing that the fate of the workers on this mission is uncertain, he tries to balance the tensions in the working caste and negotiate their future with the scientists.

- Are there any women. You only ever talk about men?

- There is a female worker who has a direct connection to the world of scientists. She is a secretary named Zita. She is an impressive, beautiful woman with dark hair and blue eyes, the only person who works in the mission headquarters.

Photo by Kirill Balobanov on Unsplash

She has access to various information and for this reason she is the first to understand the secret intentions of the scientists to expose the workers in the dangerous environment of Earth. She informs Captain Amorite about the scientists' intention and tries to organize with him the rescue of the workers.

- Wow, that sounds impressive!

- Yeah, but at that point I woke up and couldn't breathe... The strangest thing that happens to me is that now when I'm awake and talking, my mind is on these people. I'm thinking about the rest of the story while I'm not asleep, right here beside you as we talk.

- Please, tell me what is going through your mind.

- The scientists have been careful to give the workers a sense of their vital mission to save all humanity. The mission of the workers is the highest there is, so they work continuously. They produce things; they use the remaining pores of the earth, entrenched with a strong patriotic feeling in the sacred purpose. The scientists are fine-tuning the technical part of the mission and the specific organization of the project.

When Secretary Zita Captain Amorite learns of the scientists' intentions to leave Earth without them, the workers prepare a second plan. They decide to secretly keep some of Earth's limited pores for themselves for protection. They also plan to occupy the headquarters to capture the scientists and put control of the mission in their hands. This decision causes many kinds of casualties, and its outcome is disastrous for most of them.

Photo by Nicolas Lobos on Unsplash

My dear, this story is terribly beautiful. Could you please write it down, so you won't forget it? Oddly enough, you have shared all your grief with me, and I am looking at your nightmare story from different perspectives.

-Am I a sleepy storyteller? Feel better now that I have told you all this.

- I suggest you make yourself a cup of coffee and write down everything described at once. Don't waste time. Earth is in danger.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

George Karouzakis

Journalist, History researcher, art and science lover.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    George Karouzakis Written by George Karouzakis

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.