Fiction logo

Never Lie

An addictive psychological thriller

By Muhammad ZeshanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Chapter 1: The Accident

I should have known better. I should have been more careful. But I was young, reckless, and invincible. That's what I thought, at least.

It was a warm summer night, and I was driving back from a party with my friends. I had had a few too many drinks, but I thought I was okay to drive. I was wrong.

As I turned a corner, I saw the headlights of an oncoming car. I swerved to avoid it, but I lost control of my car and crashed into a tree. My friends were okay, but the other driver wasn't so lucky. He died instantly.

I was in shock. I couldn't believe what had just happened. I had just taken a life, and it was all my fault. I knew I had to take responsibility for my actions, but I was terrified of the consequences.

Chapter 2: The Trial

The trial was a blur. I don't remember much of what was said or done. All I could think about was the man I had killed and his family. They were in the courtroom, watching me with hate in their eyes.

I pleaded guilty and accepted the punishment: ten years in prison. It was the least I could do for taking a life. But even in prison, I couldn't escape my guilt.

I spent my days locked up, alone with my thoughts. I couldn't stop thinking about the accident and the man I had killed. I wondered if his family would ever forgive me.

Chapter 3: The Therapy

After two years in prison, I was given the opportunity to attend therapy. At first, I was reluctant. I didn't think therapy could help me. But I was wrong.

My therapist was patient and understanding. She helped me work through my guilt and my fear. She taught me how to take responsibility for my actions and how to forgive myself.

Through therapy, I started to see a glimmer of hope. Maybe, just maybe, I could find redemption.

Chapter 4: The Release

After serving eight years in prison, I was released. I was scared to face the world again, but I knew I had to. I wanted to make amends for what I had done.

I found a job as a janitor at a local school. It wasn't much, but it was a start. I worked hard and kept my head down. I didn't want anyone to know about my past.

But my past caught up with me. One day, I was cleaning the principal's office when I overheard a conversation between two teachers. They were talking about the accident and the man I had killed.

I panicked. I didn't want anyone to know. I didn't want to be judged or hated.

Chapter 5: The Confession

That night, I couldn't sleep. I tossed and turned, haunted by my past. I knew I had to do something. I couldn't live with this secret any longer.

The next day, I went to the police station and confessed. I told them everything: about the accident, about my guilt, about my fear. I was ready to face the consequences of my actions.

It wasn't easy, but I knew it was the right thing to do. I had to be honest. I had to never lie again.

The trial was quick. I was sentenced to another two years in prison. But this time, it was different. I had a sense of peace. I had confessed, and I had taken responsibility for my actions. I was ready to start over, to make amends for what I had done.

And when I was released, I did just that. I volunteered at a local homeless shelter and helped those in need. I worked hard, and I never

Short StorySci FiMysteryLoveHistoricalFantasyFan FictionExcerptAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.