Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Nectar of the Gods

A Microfiction Tale

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Nectar of the Gods
Photo by Christian Liebel on Unsplash

The sky was emerald, the sun was crimson, and the air was tight. Not exactly what I expected the end of the world to look like. Then again, no one really expected to survive when the gods returned.

I was one of the unfortunate who did, chosen by the gods to manufacture their nectar.

That vile nectar.

The same nectar that polluted our skies and poisoned our rivers, it filled their distended bellies until they bulged.

The gods warned us never to consume the nectar—warned us with a zap of their shocking weaponry until we smelled of burning flesh. No one ever neared the main vat twice.

But that was before they took my sister. Before she had injured her leg and been deemed “unfit to work”. Before I had figured out the schedule for the changing of the guards and snuck a cupful of nectar out of the vat.

Now, I hide in my sleeping alcove, ready to taste the nectar of the gods. It burns my throat and lips, but I cannot stop drinking it. The heat of a thousand suns is sliding down my esophagus, but I do not want to stop.

Tears gather at the edges of my eyes as I see what only the gods get to see. Colors beyond imagination. Swirling lights. The faces of all those I have lost.

The cup rolls out of my hand as the nectar provides me with one final gift.

My sister.

Author’s Note: This story was inspired by #51 of Sirena Carroll’s 100 fiction writing prompts, which can be found here:

Microfiction

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Test6 months ago

    Wow very well written!

  • Gosh this was so sad! I love how the direction you went with that opening!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    The gods are high and needy. True story?

Stephanie HoogstadWritten by Stephanie Hoogstad

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.