Fiction logo

Nebula's Home: Stella Dune

Have you ever been to the dark side of the moon?

By Flannery McIntyre DziedzicPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Nebula and Aurora escaping Stella Dune

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I am here to say that is a flat out lie.

When I was a little girl, my mother, Aurora, always sang me the same lullaby. Night after night.

‘Have you ever been to the dark side of the moon?

Remember, remember, Stella Dune.

Nebula, sweet Nebula,

Never forget the place we call home.

Stella Dune, always know you are never alone.

Have you ever seen the dark side of the moon?

Misnomer, light, oh how it shines through.

Remember, remember, sweet Nebula, remember Stella Dune.’

I never forgot. It was always there, tattooed on my heart and soul. Over the years as I grew older it faded into more of a dream than an actual memory. We weren’t supposed to speak about it. So we never did. I saw it in my mothers eyes, the knowing glances that were deeper than just the average stare. The pain behind her smile, couldn’t hide behind the crows feet around her eyes. My father died the night we came to earth. Leaving our planet and starting anew in a wild and treacherous place was easy compared to losing him.

Even though I was much younger, I remembered my time with him so much stronger than Stella Dune. As our ship plummeted towards earth, his scream echoed the entire way. My father, King Phoenix Arroway, the leader of Stella Dune, sacrificed himself for us, and for the people of his planet. Like a true King, dying heroically with his planet.

Growing up on earth was so much different. Every day seemed to be chaotic, there was always news of some horrific thing happening. Say what you will about Stella Dune, yes our planet was destroyed, but the day-to-day was peaceful. Not only was the difference in our worlds night and day, but so were the children. I may be human, but I truly felt like an alien compared to these people. An outsider. Knowing this would never truly be my home.

My heart to my chest, I would close my eyes and see home. Memories danced around my minds eye. Me, playing with my friends. My best friend, Ash. He was my fathers counselors boy. They lived in the palace with us. I saw that last day like it was yesterday. My father walking alongside my mother on the steps of the palace. He turned and saw me coming, and with open arms he beckons me to come to him. His smile so warm and inviting. As I approach, his smile turns dour, eyes bulging, he’s now looking past me. His demeanor sends shiver down my spine, in an instant going from pure bliss to utter horror. “It’s Orion.” My father shouted. “Sound the alarms!”

My uncle, Orion. Always the black sheep of our family, my fathers brother. I never understood what his problem was, it wasn’t until years after getting settled on earth that I was able to get just enough information from my mother to piece things together. “Love can make people do incredible things.” I recall her saying to me. She swirled her wine around the glass as she seemingly thought out her next words methodically. “Orion was in love with me.” My mother explained. We all grew up together, Phoenix, Orion and I. Orion and I were good friends as children.”

“Phoenix was just a few years older and I always was in love with him. For as long as I can remember.” I sat still in my chair at the dining room table. “I just don’t understand, mother, if it was truly love… why would he destroy an entire planet? Let alone kill his own brother?” My mom shook her head. With a single tear rolling down her cheek she shrugged. “I don’t think we’ll ever truly understand evil, my dear. Bitterness, it… well it poisons the heart. If you don’t figure out what to do with that displaced energy, it can tear apart worlds.” I don’t know why but my mothers poetic wisdom seemed to stick with me. Perhaps because I felt that bitterness she spoke of. Not for a lover, but for my family, friends. All of the brave warriors who died for the Kingdom and planet. The farmers, the storekeepers, the children. Ash. How could someone be so blinded by rage and bitterness to destroy such a peaceful place? I was beginning to understand it. As I grew older, the more out of place I felt in this world. I tried to fit in with the other children. I really did. The distractions of this realm had no hold on me. The other kids got excited about new movies and video games, roller coasters and shopping. None of that appealed to me. At home I would have been a celestial soldier by now, fighting with lightning sabres and learning to fly. Living on earth was like entering another dimension, stunted by lack of free energy technology.

I long for home. To be with my family in our Kingdom. This planet was not my own, it would never be my home. There were things that I knew that I could never tell the people of earth. Things that I had seen that they will never understand. By the age of 16, I realized that I had to find a way back to my planet. Even if it was destroyed, I would rather die there rather than continuing to live this lie, or half truth. There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t miss it, even as the images of home fade to distant memories. There’s this pang in my chest that tells me my father is still out there, after all these years. Even after seeing the destruction as we headed towards earth. Even after hearing the screams. Call it hope, or call it stupidity, I felt the flicker of my fathers soul in my heart and something told me that meant he was still alive. As I would close my eyes at night, I would sing the lullaby to myself and I could almost see my father searching for a way to get to us. Maybe it was up to me.


‘Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space.’ That’s what the people of earth say. I am here to say that that is a lie. Like most things that are taught on this godforsaken planet. I hear their screams to this very day, echoing in my heart. I’m thankful for my mother who has survived by me all these years on earth, encouraging me to treat living on earth like a mission so I would never give up, or tell anyone the truth. As the years go by, it just gets harder and harder. The weight of my truth weighs heavy on my soul, I just can’t lie to myself any longer. I have to get out of here, I have to know beyond a shadow of a doubt if my fathers alive, if anyone survived. Even if it’s the last thing I do.

AdventureFantasyLoveSci FiSeries
Like

About the Creator

Flannery McIntyre Dziedzic

Flannery is a wife, mother, writer, and an army national guard veteran.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.