Fiction logo

Nanna's Misunderstanding

Dainty Dairy Narratives, Family Page 5

By Arjun SahasyaPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
3
Image created in Night cafe studio and edited in Canva

"The distance between parents and children is directly proportional to the age of the child. The distance grows as the child grows.

When a child is born, they know nothing about the world, so what they see is the world for them, and that is their parents.

As children grow and learn new things, their worlds expand, resulting in a decrease in the proportion occupied by their parents in their world.

I hope I am 100% wrong.

The first one to realize the change is the parent, as the child is busy understanding new things… and there is a slight chance that parents might think the child becomes distant.

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````⇚ Introduction

Hello, I am Ishaan again at your service. While we are on the subject of being distant, it came to my attention that the number of readers of my series "Dainty Diary Narratives" decreased.

Mr. Arjun Sahasya was saddened by this fact but took it sportively and chose to learn from the experience. He erased the entire chapter I had narrated to him, twice.

So, I will be narrating the DDN series in a slightly different way, as I also felt I was muttering sometimes in previous pages as I go on telling about stuff like Deku here and as Endeavor there was only one person who read my previous page, and I thank them for reading my story. The rest of you, make sure to read it before continuing with this.

🢘 Previous chapter

Image from My Hero Academica (chapter 247)

And I almost forgot, Author Arjun told me to tell you that we are a work of fiction. Any resemblance to actual events, locales, or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental, and of course, this doesn't include the Author itself; he is as real as Virat Kohli.

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````Now, let's continue our story…

Page 5: Misunderstanding

I want to immediately share with you about Nanna's misunderstanding, but let's first understand Nanna to know how he misunderstood Joy.

How do I start telling you about Nanna? Well, it is given that we are a middle-class family, and he is a ordinary middle-class father you can find anywhere. But what makes Nanna most special is his contribution to household works.

Nanna always wakes up before anyone in the house, cleans in front of the house, waters all the plants, then freshens up for work, drinks tea and eats breakfast Amma made, and then he goes to work.

If he is at home in the afternoon, he also washes clothes, cleans the house, and our little garden if needed. When he comes back, he cuts vegetables for dinner and sometimes cooks for us, and washes dishes after we had dinner.

He greets everyone he knows with a smile as he goes out, sometimes stops and talks to people about various things. At work during breaks, most people gather around Nanna and talk about normal stuff and ask him for advice related to anything.

It is something I have known since I was a kid, as Nanna used to take me to his workplace daily. Everyone used to play with me, mainly the boss. Then I got into school, I still used to go there when I had a holiday and after some time stopped going there.

Not only that, but I have also slowly stopped doing many things. Even Joy has; we went from crying to going out with Nanna to stopped going out with him to play with new friends. From running to Nanna when he came home to not even noticing him as we look at screens. From asking him to tell stories to telling him stories as we go out.

Sometimes I wonder if I grew up or the distance between us grew, but as I said at first, the first one to realize wasn't us but our parents, and I think the same thing led to Nanna, misunderstanding Joy.

It all happened a few days ago,

7 days to go for the trip…

Nanna was coming home from his office; he coincidentally met Joy's friend, the one Joy made a promise that she will come to the trip. Nanna, being Nanna, greeted her with a broad smile and asked about her well-being.

As they both talked, she asked if Joy's done shopping for the trip, but Nanna was confused by her question as he didn't know about the trip, so he simply replied, "Not yet."

Nanna didn't ask her about the trip as he thought Joy would say herself and later that night, he tried to ask her, but she said she was busy as she was taking cooking lessons from Amma. So, Nanna decided to wait for Joy to tell her about the trip.

5 days to go for the trip…

Nanna waited for Joy to tell him about the trip, but she hasn't. He tried to ask me, since I didn't know I thought if he was planning a 'Family trip'. So, he concluded that I didn't know and haven't told me or asked me anything about it after.

But I discovered that Nanna was being down and tried to ask him, but he would change the topic every time I ask him.

3 days to go for the trip…

I thought it was work tension at first, but it wasn't. My friend who was working there told me that. As I was wondering why Nanna being sad, I remembered Nanna asking about the trip. So, I thought if Nanna was sad because he couldn't plan a family trip. Then I asked Nanna and Amma about the trip and Amma said 'No' as she said we will be going somewhere.

As I was talking about the trip, Nanna looked at Joy as she didn't say anything and just excited for the trip when I asked, he went to the terrace, sat on a swaying chair, looked at the night sky, and I saw what I haven't seen in years, a drop of tear in his eyes.

It made me remember that day, when I truly understood the meaning of death and also the first time I saw Nanna cry.

To be continued…

Written by

Arjun Sahasya

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a coffee ☕️ 😊

Originally published at Medium.

Short StorySeriesfamily
3

About the Creator

Arjun Sahasya

Writing in different genres✍️,

Dreaming to create The Greatest Fantasy 🌌,

Join me on this journey! 📚

Support 🤗 | Suggest 🧐 | Bless me 🙏

To support me in my journey as a writer Buy me a book 📖 😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I'm a tad confused. Are you Arjun or Ishaan? Who is Arjun and who is Ishaan? Also, lol, I feel that Nanna is overreacting 🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.