Fiction logo

Mythdefined

A Curious Discovery

By Doug CaldwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 24 min read

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. In fact, the existence of dragons anywhere was ancient lore. That was all true until a Saturday some time ago when I was walking behind our home with my five-year-old grandson. He spotted a fox stretching up to a spruce branch. The fox moved away as we got closer, my grandson Gabe ran ahead in his curiosity to see what had attracted the fox.

“Grandpa, it looks like a baby animal, and it’s hurt I think.” The look of awe on his face was captivating. I looked closer at the small dark animal laying prone on the tree bough.

“It could be a moth or a bat of some kind.” I said. The fine membrane of skin that formed the wings appeared correct to a bat, but the long tail with the fork at the tip was somehow alien despite seeing it just inches away.

“Can we take it home and make it better Grandpa?” Gabe’s voice was hopeful and excited.

“I don’t know yet Gabe, let’s look around and see if its mother may be watching us, Okay?” I was hopeful this young animal had somehow been separated from its mother who was probably quite anxious to have her offspring back in her care.

Half an hour of sitting quietly watching from a distance for any movement, Gabe began to grow impatient, “I don’t think his mom is looking for him Grandpa, we should take him home and feed him okay?”

“You might be right; I thought his mom would have been yelling at us by now. Let’s see how he likes being touched by humans.”

The small dark creature watched us approach him and his body language indicated his fight or flight pose- leaning more to flight as its eyes grew larger when I extended my forefinger under its chest stimulating the tiny mammal to crawl onto my finger. It shifted position took a breath and exhaled what appeared to be steam.

I was alert for the mother as we walked back to our property where we went into my shop as I knew there was an old wire bird cage that would both protect the animal from harm and prevent it from making a premature getaway while we nursed it back to health.

Releasing it into the cage, the creature took up a position on the upper perch and stretched its wings, in a fluid motion the neck and shoulders flexing to become limber once again. Its legs concluding the well-practiced stretching procedure with its toes curled into a ball then extended wide open to grasp the perch once again.

Its wingspan was around four inches and very similar to a bat’s anatomy including the mouse-like torso and rodent shaped head, its ears round and very mobile.

“Can we give him some food?” Gabe asked.

“First let’s see if he’s thirsty, I’ll bet it has been a while since he had a drink.” I removed the small water dish mounted between two of the wires of the cage. I filled it with fresh water from the tap and replaced the container back into the cage. The little fella came instantly to have a long drink. His face appeared to be happier after his refreshment.

“What do we feed him Grandpa?”

“I dunno, I’m not even sure he’s a bat, and bats can eat many different things from fruit to bugs to meat and blood. I guess the first job it to confirm exactly what he is. Wanna help?”

“YES!”

“Okay I’m going to go get my computer and camera from the house. Can you stay here and watch over him while I’m gone?”

“Okay!”

My wife was in the kitchen when I entered our house, “ We found something a bit different on our walk,” I informed my wife, “It looks like a tiny bat of some kind, but it has a long tail and a different shaped face, I have never seen one before. Its warm blooded and covered in soft fur like a mouse or a bat, but I don’t think it is either of them. It drank some water and Gabe thinks we should feed it now – but I don’t know what it eats.”

“Look in the fridge,” she told me, "there is some left-over chicken and some other stuff it may like.”

I made a sample plate that included small bits of chicken meat, a teaspoon of cat food, some cheese, banana and a few raisins and some mixed nuts thinking that we might be better able to determine what it is by what it liked to eat. I had not yet seen what kind of teeth the animal had. I fetched my laptop and camera and with granny in tow carrying the plate of food bits, we entered the shop.

Inside the building we could see Gabe with the small creature sitting on his open hand outside of the cage. The two of them gazing into each other’s eyes. Gabe’s face awe-struck in the fascination of this little beast staring back at him. They appeared to be having a conversation with Gabe speaking softly and the beast making soft chirps similar to a squirrel in a tree.

“Lookit what we found granny!” he all but whispered, “He likes me!”

Moving closer, my wife took a better look of this mysterious creature. She put the plate of food on the workbench as the tiny animal watched. It flitted down from Gabe’s hand to the plate and began sniffing at the selection of foods. After examining each morsel, it took a bite of banana and seemed happy with that, Next was a raisin followed by a taste of cat food. It was displaying a more relaxed and happy appearance as it swallowed down bits of food. Its ears perked up and its tail sweeping back and forth, it jumped up to land on Gabe`s arm once again and began to wash its face with its paws.

I commented to Gabe `It looks like you have a new friend.” My grandson`s face beamed his happiness in hearing this. “But we`ll have to let him go back to the forest where he belongs you know.” I concluded which changed Gabe`s face to a frown.

“But we have to look after him!” was the earnest reply from this mesmerized little boy.

“Oh, we’ll make sure he is healthy before we let him go.” I explained, “That might take a couple days – Is that alright?” He nodded his approval.

“What do you think it is?” my wife asked after having a closer look at the creature.

“Damned if I know, “I replied, “But I am about to Goggle it to see what I can find.”

An hour’s searching of small furry creatures, I still had no clue to what this little bugger was. I took pictures of it from a variety of angles and noted things I had ignored at first - like what kind of teeth it has - small little sharp ones, but no canine teeth, so perhaps that’s why it picked the fruit to eat first. There were no visible reproductive organs, and it had not yet defecated or urinated.

On each of its four feet there were four toes, three forward and one back, each tipped with a short black claw. Its rounded ears were moving to focus on sounds as they were made and its eyes large and black with no indication of a pupil. Two tiny nostrils at the end of its muzzle would flare open slightly as it breathed. Like a cat being petted, it moved its head sympathetic to Gabe’s gentle stroking of it.

“I think I’ll contact Thom Bennett at the Game Branch,” I told my wife. “A professional local biologist would be the best to confirm what it is.”

Mr. Bennett phoned me about an hour after I emailed him the pictures and a brief note explaining what had transpired so far.

“I would very much like to see this animal as soon as possible.” He explained, “There have been reports of these animals in the past, and some blurry photographs, but there has never been any physical evidence of them. The one you have is the first. Would it be possible to visit you soon to see this animal?”

I told him to come on out and gave directions to where we are located. Thirty minutes later he pulled into our driveway.

Introductions completed, we walked to the shop where Gabe had spent the past hour creating a strong bond with the spritely creature. It would land on the boy’s head or shoulder and trill soft chirps to him.

The biologist stood dead still and watched my grandson engage the little critter like it was a new puppy. Gabe would take a raisin from the plate and hold it up. The little wings fluttering as the raisin was plucked from Gabe’s fingertips.

“He learns really fast too!” Gabe bragged “He comes when I call him…watch!” Gabe walked to the end of the room and called, “Raisins, come here.” In an instant the small avian was flying to Gabe’s outstretched hand to gently land. “I call him Raisins cause he likes them so much.” It was explained to us in a very earnest tone.

“Gabe, can you please bring him to me and hold him while I have better look at him?” Thom asked as he sat at the workbench and laid out a blue terry towel. “If you put him on the towel will he stay still for me to take some pictures?”

“I think so, but he will stay on my hand as long as you want.” Said a little boy trying hard to be helpful.

The silent biologist began a detailed field examination of this peculiar little beast. Thom stroked the soft fur of its back and hoped to bond a bit better. The animal was measured, weighed and photographed in many basic poses to record the best details of it’s body, limbs and head. A clip of fur was taken for DNA analysis as there was not yet a feces sample for the purpose.

“I never thought I would ever see one,” said the wide-eyed wildlife expert. “They are myth-status beings, the few reported sightings were written-off as folklore. Not even in the fossil record have they been confirmed. But this…” he grasped for the words to express himself.

“This is a profound discovery and opens a whole new field of biology. Can you take me to where you found it?” he was visibly excited now.

Leaving the small creature to sleep in the cage with Gabe standing watch, I guided the biologist a few hundred yards behind our property to the river valley where we first saw the beast.

“We didn’t see any others and we waited about 30 minutes to see if the mother would come looking for it, but we didn’t hear any calling by the mother or the youngster trying to reconnect.” I summarized our activities after finding it.

Sitting once again at the work bench where the animal continued to snooze in the cage, I asked, “So Thom, my plan was to rehabilitate the animal back to health and release it back to the wild. I suspect the scientific community would like to study this beast in some detail. So how do you think will this play out in the near term?”

“I don’t know.” Was his supressed answer. “Of course, we would like to study this animal, especially as it appears to be an unidentified creature not yet in the taxonomy classification. Being a new discovery, it will create much excitement in the natural sciences community and as I believe you suspect, there will be many who will lobby for the animal to remain captive and under study.” He watched my face as he spoke.

“Existing legislation will need to be studied closely for the legalities of releasing a pre-extinction status animal back to the wild verses keeping it in captivity for study. If it was deceased, it would be an easy decision to make but we are faced with a large ethical matter and forcing it into long term captivity for science does not detract from doing the right thing for the animal. I can imagine this will become a real big deal and there will be opinions supporting both options for its future…I don’t know.” he concluded.

“I assumed as much, but my primary concern is about my grandson and his attachment to Raisins as it is now called. Of course, Gabe would like to keep this animal in perpetuity, but I have always taught him wild things belong in the wild and not in cages, but does the unique circumstances of this new discovery alter the law?”

“Again, I don’t know but I intend to find out as quietly as I can.” He said

“Thanks Thom, I appreciate that. Of course, we’ll help. I looked him square in the eye and asked, “What would happen to all this now if the little fella flew out that door and was never seen again?”

“I suspect there would be a full-scale investigation of the local area to find it or others of its kind. I have pictures and some basic data on it so it has officially been reported and I am obliged to share this information with the zoological community, so there will definitely be some follow-up investigating.”

“Well before we get to all that, what’s your expert opinion on the present health of this little fella?” I asked as Gabe walked back into the shop and found his way next to the small cage.

Thom frowned and replied, “From my basic examination, it appears to be in good health. I suspect that it was suffering from being undernourished causing it to be weak - that’s why you found it, otherwise if it had more energy it would have flown away.”

I agreed, “That’s what I was thinking as it perked right up after getting some nourishment. Being springtime there is not much for wild foods yet, but there are some remaining berries from last year and perhaps some cadavers melting out of the snow for it to pick at.”

“I suspect it is migratory as it is highly doubtful an animal such as this could survive a northern winter. But that raises many more questions that will need answers before we truly understand this animal.”

“I am also obliged to tell Gabe’s parents about all of this, and I’m sure they will have some concerns too.” I added, “I’m thinking we can achieve a great deal and still respect the little guy while understanding him better.”

We agreed to meet later that evening with Thom and my son and daughter-in-law to discuss the options of how to document this new discovery and respect both it and the little boy who was growing a more profound responsibility for its care and attention.

At the conclusion of that evening meeting it was decided that the government’s biology branch would perform whatever tests and observations required to document this small creature to officially enter it into the taxonomy record as a newly discovered species.

I and my daughter-in-law Anna would also be in attendance for these examinations. Gabe was to stay with my wife and I for a couple days so that he and Raisins could remain close during what may be a stressful time for the young boy and his new friend.

It was also agreed that Gabe was the guy in charge and would determine when Raisins needed a break from the testing so he would remain happy and stress-free.

The first day of the testing was to introduce both Gabe and Raisins to the lab to make it more familiar. Thom also took the time to explain to Gabe, his mom and me what kind of tests would be performed, how they would be conducted and reassured that there was no risk or discomfort to Raisins. The only concern was for performing a CT scan to better understand and document the animal’s physiology. The risk was associated to administering the anaesthesia that would be needed to keep the animal still for the CT scan. That was the greatest risk in all the tests and examinations planned.

I was so proud of Gabe as he watched and listened to our discussions on the tests to come and what he could do to help. He asked questions about if the creature would feel any pain or be frightened by any of the testing, and was pleased when Thom said there would be no ill feelings felt by the little guy and Gabe was going to be there for all of the testing to be sure his little friend remained happy.”

It was hoped that all of the initial examinations could be completed in one day, but they wanted to invite a leading natural scientist to assist the procedures so there would not be a need to repeat this work and to limit stress on the animal. Charles Barker PhD was on the next plane from Ottawa, so the day after tomorrow was scheduled for the examination.

Back at our house later that day we had moved the wire bird cage into the spare bedroom Gabe called his while he stayed with us. The bond between the two of them was growing stronger and the cage was not really a requirement anymore as Raisins would be found sitting on Gabe’s shoulder most times. The beasty had settled into our home routine and appeared to be quite content and had trained Gabe to know when he was hungry or wanted to be left alone for a nap. He didn’t fly away when out in the open air, but stayed with Gabe, I expected this might be a problem when it was time to release him in a few days.

Dr Barker had arrived, and we first met him when we got to the lab for the formal inspection. He seemed to be an agreeable sort and was very keen to see Raisins up close. Gabe was quiet and absorbing everything that was happening while he held the cage Raisins occupied.

“We saved some of his poop for you!” Gabe said proudly while holding up a small baggie.

“Thank you very much Gabe, this will be important.” He said as he accepted the bag.

The next hour was a Q&A where Dr. Barker asked many questions about where Raisins was found and the circumstances leading up to his capture, He also asked about what the creature had eaten and what it had refused to eat, sleeping patterns and excitement levels and what actions the animal would display during a number of regular situations.

They spent some time talking about vocalizations the creature made and a recorder captured the gibberish dialog Gabe would make to the squeaks, chirps and gurgles the animal made.

Dr. Barker wrote copious notes throughout the process but was cautious and still when Gabe let Raisins out of the cage for a stretch. The animal flew to its usual place on Gabe’s left shoulder and rubbed its head on Gabe’s cheek.

“This animal has strong bonding trust,” observed the doctor, “And you only found him two days ago?”

“Closer to three, “I said, “He appears to trust Gabe more than myself or other adults. But Gabe was the first to feed him too, so that might be a part of it.”

“I would like to take some more measurements if he will sit still for me, Gabe could you please hold him and try to get him to stay on this cloth pad while I measure him?”

Dr. Barker repeated the same examination Thom performed previously, this time with a video camera rolling.

“I think it would be a good time to do the CT scan. Thom, I have been considering how best to immobilize the animal to remain still for the procedure. Any thoughts?”

Thom replied, ”I have been thinking the same, between its size and an unknown metabolism, I would suggest the protocol used for lab mice- a CO2/Oxygen mix should provide the few minutes required to complete the CT scan.

They moved to the lab where the tomography equipment was, and all was in readiness with two more biologists attending in case something was required.

Gabe was displaying an increased level of concern as the process unfolded. His mom was reassuring and provided him with a positive outlook to the day’s events so far, but it was clear that the CT stuff was a concern for his small friend.

Gabe invited Raisins out of the cage and onto another blue terry towel. The creature sat like a dog its wings folded neatly on his back. He was watching all around him. The procedure was a small clear plastic cone would be held over the animal and the gas would be administered very slowly until he became unconscious and limp allowing the animal to be adjusted to provide the optimum imaging of its body.

Raisins was unconscious for no more than four minutes and began to wake up before the final images were shot. Gabe was clearly anxious for his friend while the procedure was concluding, and the little beast began to move clumsily under the camera.

“It will take a little bit of time before Raisins feels back to normal,” Thom informed Gabe, “So to make sure he stays healthy we’ll just give him some water now and food later today, Okay?”

“I think we have just about everything we need,” said Dr. Barker. “I want to take a blood sample and that might distress the animal, so I saved this procedure for last.” One of the assistants had prepared the equipment and handed it to Dr. Barker. “I attached the smallest gauge needle we have,” said the assistant.

Raisins was a little groggy as the anesthesia was still wearing off. Doctor Barker pinched a flap of skin on Raisin’s upper back and gently inserted the needle just under the skin. Suddenly, Raisins was fully alert and angry, he issued a small jet of orange flame from his mouth and made an angry sound. His teeth grasping the doctor’s fore finger and he bit down.

Gabe was also at full alert witnessing the angry display of his friend. “He’s hurt!” Gabe accused,

“No I think he is more surprised than hurt,” I told my grandson, That was the safest and easiest way to get the blood to complete the testing, but we could not tell him that it might sting a little bit so he was surprised. Have you ever seen him blow flames out of his mouth before this?”

“No, he’s never made flames to me before,” Gabe offered with an emotional edge to his voice. Clearly, he was growing worried for his small friend. “I think we should take him back home now.” That made it official, the day’s examination was concluded.

Thom heard the concern in Gabe’s comments and wanted to soften the little boy’s fears.

” Thankyou Gabe for helping us to gather all the information about Raisins. What we did here this morning is very important and you played a very important role. You will forever be known as the discoverer of this new species of animal. There is a good chance that the official name of this animal will include your name. Something like Dragonious Gabriellis or something close to it.”

Gabe’s was pleased to hear this and hugged his mom tightly and said, “Can we go home now mom?” His emotions had been strained.

On the drive home, Gabe asked me, “Grandpa when we let Raisins go will he stay around or go find his mom and dad?”

“I don’t know Gabe. I’ll bet he misses his mom and she probably misses him a lot too. Do you think its time to let Raisins go?”

“Maybe, but I don’t like how the animals at the lab are kept in cages with nothing to do, and their cages stink too. I think they’d be happier playing in the grass and trees by the river.” Gabe spoke in the sincerest voice I have heard come out of him.

“Well, lets talk about it tonight after we have all had some more time to think bout it, Okay?” We left Raisins and the cage at my son’s home primarily for Gabe as he was able to remain close to his friend after such a traumatic day.

Late the next day Thom Bennett called to inform me that the government’s environment department would be making a public announcement on the discovery of Raisins and we should be prepared for the world media circus to come to visit with us. And they would very much like to invite Gabe and Raisin’s to participate in the announcement.

I called my son and shared with him what Thom told me. “We need to make a plan to protect Gabe in this - everybody will want to interview him and as importantly, we have to let Raisins back into the wild. I think we have perhaps one day before things get crazy. So, I suggest if all are agreeable, we release Raisins tomorrow sometime. I only hope he leaves the area and doesn’t come back, otherwise there is a chance he could be recaptured by others who are only in it for the money.”

“Dad, Gabe and I have been having some discussions about releasing Raisins and since the lab test Gabe more and more dislikes what could be in store for the animal if we don’t let him go. I think he might be ready if we tell him about all the media interest and what it will mean for all of us, and Raisins if he is captured. I don’t think he will object too much.”

“Okay I am glad to hear that. He has been so mature throughout this ordeal.”

We agreed that Mom and Dad would talk with Gabe tonight and prepare him for the big step of returning his friend back to the wild. They would also speak with him about all the news people wanting to talk with him and ask dumb questions over and over.”

My son phoned me back shortly before ten with a report on how the discussion with Gabe went. “He agrees that we should let Raisins go tomorrow so that he has time to get away before all the people arrive. Anna and I are also thinking about the long-term effect this might have on Gabe. He is only five, but already his name will be in the news everywhere, but I wonder about the next twenty years and how this may be an influence in his life. Apparently, there are foundations and other organizations that award cash prizes and scholarships for these discoveries. Each year there is a Top Ten list of new species so this is not a unique event in the science world, but a real dragon found by a young boy is special report level news “

We agreed that the three of them would come to our place next day for breakfast and to put Raisins back where he belongs.

When they arrived, I saw Gabe in the back seat with Raisins in his place on Gabe’s shoulder. They got out of the car and the animal remained in place but did have a very good look around and a large sniff causing its ears to perk forward then track to the left and back to the right as if searching for a particular sound.

“What did he have for breakfast?” I asked Gabe.

“Mom got him some cranberries and he likes them a lot!” was the enthusiastic reply.

“He sure looks healthy and strong; I’d say you did an excellent job of making him better and look at all the things you taught him. Yeah, I think you did a very good job.”

“So, let’s walk back to where we found him and let him go there. Okay?” I asked

“Okay, but everybody has to come too.” It was not a plea, but it was close.

So off we went, three generations on a mission to put an animal, no matter how strange and unique, back to the wilderness where it belonged. It was only a ten-minute walk down the trail to the tree where we found him just a few short days ago. So much had happened since then, life changing events, it all happened so simply and flowed like a natural force between my grandson and the shy creature he had befriended. Now the rest of mankind would need to accept the formerly mythical creature into the real world.

Gabe was holding his mom’s hand as we walked, Raisins perched on his shoulder sniffing the air, suddenly Raisins leapt into the air and flew about fifty feet up and made a long shrill call. He flew in a circle above us and would make the sound intermittently. Another of his kind appeared out of the north and they both lit on a tree branch and cooed to each other. I must admit I was overjoyed to see another and their apparent familiarity. This would help to make Raisin’s escape back to the wild much easier.

We stood and watched the two bumping their heads together and chirping softly, when another landed next to them. This one was larger and a lighter shade of fur, perhaps an adult? I took pictures of the small beings as we found a clearing a few yards up the trail where we could have a snack and watch what we assumed was a family reunion.

My wife had thought to pack some raisins and Gabe grabbed them immediately and called for Raisins to come to him. The small animal flew to his shoulder and waited for the treat he had come to expect. Rather than swallow it down, he flew back to where the other two were waiting and watching as he shared the morsel with them.

“I don’t think feeding them anymore is a good idea Gabe. We want them to be cautious of people so no harm will come to them.” I told him as kindly as I could.

“But they’re hungry and we have food we can share.” His eyes pleading with me.

“I suppose one last treat before we go would be alright, but let’s not feed the other two, Okay?”

“Are they his mom and dad?”

“I don’t know, but the larger one might be an adult, perhaps his mom.”

The three of them flew down to where we were, Raisins on Gabe’s shoulder per normal and the other two on a bush ready to escape if required.

Again, I was encouraged by the caution of the other two animals as I anticipated it would not take long for Raisins to once again become a wild creature aware of the dangers around him and how to avoid risk, people were the biggest problem. What if he befriended another, how would he remain safe? I hoped he would redevelop the caution and wariness a wild animal should have.

“So how do we do this?” Asked my son anticipating an emotional moment between his son and Raisins. “Do we just walk away and hope he doesn’t follow us back?”

I was very pleased that others of his kind were nearby to help with the separation, As I had pondered for the past two days how this would play out.

“Time to say goodbye to Raisins” his mom told him. “They have places to go and things to do.”

Gabe and the small beast mumbled and chirped to each other as they had done frequently over the time they were together.

With tears in his eyes Gabe held the winged creature on his outstretched hand and said, “Goodbye Raisins, I’ll always remember you, Be careful!” and he raised his hand lifting the creature into the air, the other two also took to the wing and they flew in circles above us and drifted off to the east on a warm breeze and disappeared from our sight.

Gabe was a little tearful on the walk back to our house, but he had developed a strong sense of accomplishment too. He had done the right things for the animal since we found it in distress and Gabe’s time and attention had restored Raisins back to good health and releasing it to freedom was the final step in a job very well done and we all congratulated him on his remarkable achievement.

The media horde did come and make our lives challenging asking all the same questions and were not very polite about it. After the first day of this Gabe did not want to participate any longer and told a reporter from a US TV network that he was a jerk and left the room. Thereby many of the other reporters blamed the TV guy for shutting down any future interview opportunities.

Life got back to normal for all of us about two months after all the media hype was over. The scientific community still had work to do in quantifying the discovery in exquisite detail, Thom Bennett and Dr, Barker were vaulted to notoriety for their documentation of the creature.

There were the anticipated hunters and seekers who came in search of Raisins and his kind. So, for about six weeks there was increased human traffic in the forest behind our home. None of the creatures were reported caught or even observed ever again to my knowledge.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Doug Caldwell

I hope to learn from all of you members on this site and share in some tale-telling. I am looking forward to the different styles used to tell these stories. I look forward to reading yours.

Be Well

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Doug CaldwellWritten by Doug Caldwell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.