Fiction logo

My Worst Nightmare

The worst of all days

By Sarah DanaherPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
My Worst Nightmare
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

The alarm was blaring right in my ear. Snooze was my best response to the irritation. No one wants to go to work, especially for overtime. I hit the snooze but had to wake up at some time. I looked at the clock and should have left by now. I jumped out of bed to get ready and headed the long way to work. I had to not fully woken up, but I could still pay attention to the road, and leaving late made me want to speed through some areas. I always try to keep a lookout for cops. At work, things seemed off, but I could not identify the difference. I clocked in on time.

I went to my workstation to sign on to my computer, and the screen replied reset your password. I already reset the password previously this week. I then went with the similar one I usually used and wrote it down. The system finally let me sign into the internal system, but the same message was announced. Those two passwords were never reset at the same time. Something was off today, and I could only try to stay calm. This password could not be repeated and took some time since my last few kept the new one from working. The day was not improving, but a reasonable attempt made the computer setup go more smoothly. It was already a rough morning to get through this awful day. I already hate changing passwords, and now everything else is going horribly. My drab little work area had been filled with dust, and I had been on allergy medication for years. Still, the job gets worse with each new clueless edict from on high. I am just a tiny peon with no idea how to do my job without them. Break times were the greatest, and all I had to do was sit in the lunch room and not stare at an annoying computer screen. Yet, break time only lasts so short, while work seems to last forever.

My coworker seemed to call off, so I was alone during break and doing my job. I had time to think but tried to stay calm with the many irritations. Of course, I had to return to work and hopefully have a better day. I get back to my desk with my few decorations for the seasons. Now in the cold season, I just stare at my stuffed snowman. The day does not get shorter. I then went back to my computer. I went to sign into the main screen when it asked me to change my password. I had just done that earlier and was getting angry. I had to add a different one and have yet to memorize the last ones. It was another change that could not be repeated in the system. I spent most of my morning trying to develop a new one. This day seemed to be strange. Something needed to be fixed all day. I could not place it anyway, but I just wanted to get through the day and go home. Despite the setbacks and trying quite a few passwords, one finally stuck. I have been delayed all day trying to change these annoying passwords. Now I had to get to my actual work. Each hour passed so slowly, and yet the work was never done. Just when I was getting something done, another break was coming.

The system just kept giving the same message, reset your password. Though nothing seemed right, I wanted to finish the day better. The same old space and the same old reports just blended each day. I went to my second break, ready for some time to relax from the already stressful day. Though time slowed down between intervals, I attribute it to the endless hours of overtime on my brain. Now the break room seemed more empty than the first break, and something was off when my cheap company served us a nice lunch. They never do this, and the day had already been strange enough. I enjoyed the lunch but still needed help figuring out what was off this time. I had to watch my time to clock in on time since I get the point if I am late. It was better and hopefully a good end to my endless day. I arrived back at my desk to sign into my computer and the same message, reset your password was on the screen. I was ready to lose my mind due to the previous statements given today. This password was easier since I could repeat and use the same password.

I was hoping the second would remain the same, but it needed to be changed, too, and I could not repeat another password. I have already used my new ideas for a long time, and I hate changing passwords.

Finally, one stuck, and I started on my reports. Each one took more time. I could not stop the thought or the feeling that something was off today. I focused on ending the day easier despite constantly resetting my passwords.

It was longer than I ever remember, and time was even slower to end the day. I remember doing less work during the day. Still, I pushed through it and finally saw it was time to clock out and be off for a long weekend. Each minute was never-ending, and I was about to eventually leave my workstation. Then, I heard in the back of my mind an annoying sound. It sounded like an alarm. It seemed to continue to go off, then I opened my eyes and realized I was still in my bed.

My mind went to work, but I quickly looked at my cell phone, and work had already started. It finally made sense that I was never at work and now very late, even if I made an honest attempt. I called in with a message apologizing for missing it. Since half the day was finished, I just went back to bed and hopefully to a better dream. I never want to reset my password in this horrible nightmare again. Oh, how the mind can lead to many weird places. I had perfect attendance before this, but all the stress has been overwhelming. I wish they gave us a mental health day to rest up since the constant overtime for years. Well, not much I could do, and going back to bed to rest up instead of getting a lecture on sleeping in from my boss. I just closed my eyes and enjoyed the rest of the day.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Harvey Lainabout a year ago

    Excellent luv

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.