Fiction logo

My Viral Masterpiece Has Thrown The World Into Chaos

Instilling upon my readers fear in the way of sheer terror

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I was wandering around my neighbourhood looking for inspiration, when I come across the creepiest abandoned house that I have ever seen.

I question whether I should go to explore and almost decide not too, when I realised that as a Poet, I need to take certain risks if I’m ever to find the inspiration for my next masterpiece.

Oh why not, I whisper to myself, as I turn up the weed filled driveway and approach the front door. The door is hanging by one hinge and propped open. It looks like a small gust of wind is all that would be necessary to blow the door down. I’m thankful I do not need to physically open it.

Stepping over the threshold I find myself in a dark dank hallway, which I follow, glancing into rooms on either side. At the end of the hallway is a set of stairs, rotted, broken and extremely dangerous but my curiosity is now on fire. I need to know what is at the top of those stairs. I can feel a presence that both excites and terrifies me.

Slowly placing one foot in front of the other, I creep up each stair, listening and anticipating as to what I’ll find at the top. The presence I feel is getting stronger, darker and I feel myself starting to shake in terror. But still I continue moving forward, somehow knowing the inspiration I am looking for, is at the top of this rotten dilapidated staircase.

Edging ever closer, I’m overwhelmed with darkening thoughts and feelings. They are persistently more frightening with every step I take and I sigh with relief when I emerge at the top, into a attic of some sort. There is no physical presence as such and I am confused at why I am feeling so petrified.

No physical presence, however in the middle of the attic floor lays a large book that actually looks like it is alive. Impossible I tell myself but as I step closer, the book flips open without any help from me.

I kneel down and begin reading from the open page, realising the book in front of me is an ancient spell-book. The open page is an old fear spell, which explains why I am feeling absolutely terrified. It is the fear spell that was drawing me to this very spot and ensured that I felt the essence of the spell, from the moment I walked through the front door.

I smile through my fear, knowing I have found the very inspiration I was looking for. My next poem is going to be a masterpiece and once I post it online, I anticipate this piece going viral. Scared and excited all in one, I carefully pick up the large spell-book, heading down the stairs and out the front door.

I cannot walk quickly enough as I hurry home, run up to my writing office and sit down to write my next piece. Pencil scribbling across the paper for the next three hours, until I finally lift the lead from the bottom of the page and place it down on my desk.

As I silently read the end result, I am fully aware that it does not need any editing and it is the most perfectly exhilarating poem I’ve ever put my name too. Excitedly I power up my laptop and take no time at all to publish my masterpiece online.

With immediate effect, I begin to see the read values increase dramatically as my prediction comes true. My poem is going viral and I could not be happier. Success at last.

I spend some time turning the pages of that ancient spell-book and realise that I hold the secret in my hands. This spell-book will give me enough inspiration to allow me to finally publish my first poetry book. Oh life is going to be good moving forward.

My work day is now done and I can finish the day knowing my poem will continue to be a hit, without me needing to put in any marketing effort. So with that in mind, I decide to take a short nap and I’ll check on things once I awaken.

It doesn’t take me long to doze off once I lay my head down and it was two hours later that I woke, feeling happy and refreshed. I decide not to check online to see how many reads I have achieved. The anticipation of that task is enough for me to hold off for awhile.

Instead I wander into the lounge room to watch the news on my local TV channel. Smiling happily, I turn the news on to see that everything seems to be in chaos. What in the world is going on?

The news anchor looks frazzled, her hair is standing on end and she is showing footage of different cities around the world. Chaos, total chaos is reigning. The world seems to have fallen apart in the two hours I’ve been sleeping.

Video footage continues to flash across the screen. Fires deliberately lit by the medical profession, as they alight their hospitals in flame.

Libraries are being attacked with books thrown out of windows and torn apart.

People are digging up the dead in cemeteries.

I am shocked. What is happening?

More video footage. Pets are turning on their owners, through no fault of their own, as their owners seem to be insane. They are dressing their animals in ridiculous costumes. I do not blame the animals for standing up for themselves.

Mothers are giving away their children, although nobody else seems to want them either.

Office workers are dressing as S&M Dominatrix, who are attempting to bring their bosses into submission.

Oh no, prison wardens are letting the murders out of jail and of course, they have gone on a killing spree.

The government officials are sitting in parliament’s boardroom furiously knitting full body suits, as they fear the sun is going to disappear forever.

Hang on………fear! The entire world is acting in a state of fear.

I dash up to my writing office where I’d left the spell-book and open it to the page of the spell I had used for inspiration. Oh dear, my viral poem has taken on a life of its own.

For every person that has read my masterpiece, the fear spell has taken hold, feeding on their fears until they are living in sheer terror. The terror that is causing absolute chaos in the world.

My poem is the cause of such insanity and I have no idea on how I can make things right. Oh dear, what have I done?

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    You are on a roll , love it. I am so excited for the poet. The things that curse we find in the attic bring such excitement. ♥️

  • Wowww this was amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.