Fiction logo

My Owner Feel Such A Fool

A Missed Place Wallet

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
8
My Owner Feel Such A Fool
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

January 11, 2024

My Owner lost me on her way out of the grocery store. She checked for me before she went out the door. She dropped me in her bag but a stranger found me near the door and took me to customer service.

Someone opened me up, they saw her driver's license, debit cards, library cards, medical cards, and coupons of some sort. They locked me in a drawer in the manager's office.

I heard people talking now and then. Mostly complaints about customers and other employees not doing their job properly.

I miss her, I hope Susie will come back for me.

*****

Susie got home and unlocked her apartment door. She put the groceries away. She was tired and needed to put her feet up. She lay on her bed and rested for a few minutes. She took her keys out of her pocket. She searched for her wallet. She checked her coat pockets. It was not there. Her favorite lotion was not even in her bag either.

Susie called her transportation. They took her name, address, and phone number and told her they would call if they found anything.

She called the card company and asked for new cards. She searched all weekend for her card. She was unhappy that she would have to get a new Driver’s license. She was too anxious to find out how to set an appointment for the DMV.

She prolonged the appointment at the DMV. It was too complex to search for how to make an appointment online. She had to create a government Online I.D. and fill out the online form. It took her an hour to do. Susie was hoping that the wallet would show up. She called the store. No one was answering the customer service line. It was a snowstorm week, and Susie did not go out in such weather.

After a week had passed, She went to the Police Station to report the Driver’s License stolen because the wallet had to be reported to the City Department.

She would have to pay $17.00 for a new driver's license ID. The police officer K told her after waiting 15 minutes no one else was in front of her in line.

“We only report it as stolen if your wallet was stolen at gunpoint or threatened you with a weapon. You have to see someone taking your wallet. I can only report it as lost.”

Susie wasted her time at the police station for nothing but Susie was a worry wort. She worried that her Driver's License could end up at a crime scene. Her worry was infested with all kinds of scenarios. She did not think of that if her father did not tell her about what could happen if she didn't report it to the police station. She also needed to have an Identification for going to the bank, etc.

Susie had to go get groceries the following week after the snowstorm because she was out of food.

*****

January 25, 2025

“Hello, I lost my wallet, I wonder if someone might have returned it.” I finally heard my owner Susie’s voice.

I got so excited. “I am here Susie!”

“Ma’am when did you lose your wallet and what is your name.” The store staff asked

Susie wrote down all the information that was asked of her.

I heard the door open and I was searched in the lost and found drawer.

Yahhh, I will finally be back with Susie.

The store clerk handed me to Susie.

“ Ma’am, check and see everything is in your wallet.”

“Yes everything is in here, thank you so much.”

It was like home feeling Susie’s hand going through my pockets.

She came back for me. I know she must have felt very foolish not to go back and check the store. Now She has to call the police station and DMV.

Poor Susie, losing me became a little drama horror for her.

Short StoryHorrorAdventure
8

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Great story Mariann… I lost my trusty wallet on my birthday when we went out to dinner… tore the place; car; bag etc apart… to no avail. Waited a while before replacing bank cards… found it 3 months later on my husband’s birthday… ‘magically’ still in the same handbag! I accidentally put it in a zip pocket I didn’t know existed 🥹. Stressful.

  • Very Creative entry. Good luck in the challenge Mariann

  • I saw your reply to Tiffany. So this story was true! So glad you managed to get your wallet back. Loved your story!

  • Horror of horrors. Just going through the process of cancelling & replacing lost cards is a nightmare. But the possibility someone dishonest might have found it & stolen her identity..., even Stephen King doesn't go there.

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    wonderfully written! Yay 4 the reunion!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.