Fiction logo

My Love Letter To You

short story

By Kristina BrulePublished 2 months ago 4 min read
2

Sometimes I think back on my first love. The one that started it and ended it all. You know I should have seen it coming, the love, pain and regret. Even through all the hurt, I will still love you till the end. This letter is to you. I remember how it all started, how you came about. Here goes nothing.

I was walking down the street one late afternoon, running late for work, per usual. I grabbed my phone from my pocket to check the time and as I did so I walked right into someone. “Oh my! I’m so sorry!” I yelled louder than I had meant to. When I looked up I saw the most gorgeous women ever.

“It’s okay, I’m sorry as well I was on my phone.” When she spoke my heart beat so fast it felt like it would run away if I let it and when she looked up I could feel my face reden as I have never seen someone so beautiful. I didn’t realize I was staring at first, until she had cleared her throat and glanced away.

“Oh shoot your stuff!” papers started to scatter over the sidewalk from a folder laying in front of this woman. “ Let me help you.” I picked up a few before she had responded.

“Oh no it's ok i got it, thank you.” she said faster than my brain could process, she picked up the papers and walked away fastly. One paper was still left on the ground, a business proposal plan. Attached was a business card.

I thought to myself “ I can’t let her forget this.” Looking at the name and number on the card I decided to call her. This was my chance to see this amazing woman one more time.

“Hello?” the voice sung out from the other end of the phone.

“Hi this is the guy that just ran into you, you forgot your proposal and card, can I run it over to you? It seems important.”

“Can you meet me on main street? At the coffee shop?” the voice asked.

“I’ll be right there.” I hung up without another word and ran the two blocks down hoping maybe this won't be the last time I run into her. Stopping before entering to wipe the sweat off my face and take a few deep breaths I walk in and see her there, papers neatly laid out and a coffee off to the side. She fixes her hair in the reflection of her phone, even something as mundane as this makes my heart beat faster. Walking up I hand her the paper. “My Lady, your paper.” I bow. Why? I don’t know.

“Thank you, my lord.” She smiles and curtsies.

That's the story of how I met your mother, the one that brought me you. The true love of my life. I thought she was the one I would love till the end of time, but you, you are the one I will never stop loving. No matter what. Even after what had happened last time we saw each other in the desert.

“Dad, we’re going on a class trip to Egypt and I want you to come with me.”

“What? you want me to come with?” I had said while sitting down my drink, thankfully I hadn’t spit any out.

“Yeah they said we need some chaperones and I’d prefer you over some of the other parents. So will you? It’s three months away so plenty of time to prepare. It’ll be for a week. Like a small vacation.”

“ I would rather be there so I can make sure you’re ok, let me talk to my job and I’ll see what I can do.”

Three months later we were on a plane to Egypt. There was only one other chaperone plus the teacher plus a lot of teenagers. This is my nightmare, I remember thinking. But as long as we were together I was ok. I remember the look on your face, the smile, I had never seen you smile so big before. You said you were glad to be with me for this and I had only one wish. That it had lasted longer. All the pictures and videos we took that week are still saved in my phone. I will never let these memories die. I just wish it was you holding these memories and not me. I miss you, I really do. I regret the fight we had gotten into before the accident. I just wish you had listened when I told you not to get in that car. That week we left with one person less. All because she asked to stay longer and we did not agree. I wish I still had my baby girl. Instead I have pictures and videos. I write this letter because today is your birthday and valentines day. I miss you. I know we usually go out to eat to celebrate your mother on this day, I wish I wasn’t alone this year. I love you.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Kristina Brule

I have loved writing since I can remember. I used to write songs and poems all the time growing up. I have two poetry books and one fiction book published. Every little thing I write has pecies inside of me that show who I am

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.