Fiction logo

My Dragon

A Tale of Finding Your True Self

By Stefanie SullivanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

There weren't always dragons in the valley. I remember a time when they were myths and stories I was told as a young girl. About the ruthlessness of the beasts, never get close enough to look one in the eye they said. Of course those were just stories, right? Wrong. I remember the day I first saw one as clear as if it was happening to me now. Running through a field of purple and orange lilacs, my long brown braid blowing in the wind behind me. I was only fifteen years old, not yet working in our small town. Smiling as the sun warmed my face. Until a shadow blocked the sun.

A massive, golden, graceful creature flying above me. It had to have been bigger than a baseball field I remember thinking to myself. As it flew above me, I was immobilized with shock, it began turning towards me. That's when I realized I should be running. But where could I hide from such a huge beast? It spotted me then and was heading straight toward me. I was frozen. My limbs felt like lead, my heart hurt it was pounding so hard, and yet it was beautiful. This terrifying creature with it's golden scales shining in the sun, had me captivated. Where had it come from? Why was no one screaming? Was I about to die? I had so many questions. But none were as important as the question I didn't think to ask. When this golden dragon landed in the flower field in front of me, I got lost, sucked in to the glassy expanse of an eye that could see in to the deepest parts of my soul. In the back of my mind I could hear my Aunt Tori, "Whatever you do, don't look a dragon in the eye." I started to panic and squeezed my eyes shut as tight as I could. Like that would make the dragon magically disappear. With the next words I heard, my life was never going to be the same.

"I finally found you," came a deep, seductive voice in my head. Gasping I opened my eyes to be sure. There was definitely a giant golden dragon staring straight in my eyes. But there was no way it had spoken in my head was there? Could dragons talk? And why would a dragon be looking for me? I was more confused and terrified than I'd ever been in my life. My legs finally had feeling in them again. I considered running but knew that was pointless seeing as a dragon ten times bigger than me was staring at me, like I was precious? Hang on a minute. I looked closer then. He was definitely looking at me as if I were the giant golden dragon in this scenario. Like I was the most gorgeous creature he'd ever seen. I had no idea what was happening but knew I needed to talk to my Aunt before anything else.

Stuttering I muttered in my head, "Uh hi, yeah hello, big golden dragon guy. Um I need to go home real fast and uh, do some stuff, um just wait here please?" I held my breath waiting to see if he'd even heard me rambling in my head or if I was just crazy.

"Anything for you," the dragon said again, as he bowed his head. I hesitated, a million thoughts running through my mind, but I couldn't think of that now, I needed my Aunt Tori. Turning away from the monstrous gold beast, who had mysteriously just talked in my head and bowed, I started running as fast as my legs would carry me. Through the fields of flowers and over the hills, I splashed through the stream surrounding our town and bolted towards my Aunt's modest home.

I hurtled myself through the door slamming it shut behind me while trying to catch my breath.

"What is the matter with you girl?" My Aunt hollered.

"I'm, so, sorry, Aunt Tori. I. Need. To. Talk. To. You. Now." I said breathlessly. My Aunt immediately calmed and came to gather me in a hug as tears started forming. I hated crying. There was no point, and yet seeing my Aunt's care for me in this moment just about had the waterworks turning on. She looked at me closer then and pulled me over to sit at our small kitchen table that was big enough for the two of us. The kitchen was modern due to Tori refurbishing the cabinets and saving every hard earned penny to purchase the new stove, dishwasher and microwave. All sleek and gray to match the black and gray theme she loved. Much of our house was the same. Different shades of grays and blacks, some white tiles in the bathrooms. She worked tirelessly keeping the house updated over the years.

I moved in with my Aunt when I was barely two. I don't remember my parents much but Tori always seemed to paint them in a wonderful picture. She always told me how much they loved me and what amazing people they were. She said we traveled a lot for their work with the FBI, even framed a photo for me when I turned eleven of them in their suits with FBI badges and guns on display. They had earned an award for hunting down a serial killer. I kept that picture on my night stand so I could remember how tough they were and that no matter what life throws my way I can conquer it. I needed that strength more than ever today.

As my Aunt squeezed my hand, I remembered that she had raised me to be level headed and work through problems openly with her and that was just what I intended to do. Taking a deep breath I explained the events of the morning to her. Once I finished, my Aunt Tori slowly stood and walked to the cabinet, filling a glass with cold water and downed the entire thing.

"Um Aunt Tori? Aren't you going to say anything." Slamming the glass on the granite counter top, I was sure she had cracked it, she turned to me with fire in her gaze.

"Don't ever, ever, look a dragon in the eye Sawyer!" She was pissed. "How hard was that to listen to?" I had only heard my Aunt yell once when I was very young and a stranger had shown up at the door. Her yelling now almost made me mad! And why wasn't she concerned that I'd seen a dragon at all?

"Why are you yelling? And why aren't you more concerned about the fact that a giant golden dragon is ALIVE and talking to me in my MIND? What is going on right now!" I exclaimed!

"Don't you dare yell at me young lady," Aunt Tori replied. "I have done my best to raise you and make sure you had everything you needed so you wouldn't go out looking for trouble and right before you turn sixteen what do you do but go out and find a dragon!" My jaw dropped.

"Find a dragon? What does that mean?" My Aunt sighed again as she rubbed her hands over her face. She was sighing a lot. Never a good sign.

"Let's move to the living room. We have a lot to discuss." She resigned.

"Okay, I don't understand what there is to discuss other than how are dragons real and why was it looking for me and what do I do about it now?"

I was frantic at this point. Something wasn't adding up. As I followed Tori to the living room a loud banging on the front door had us both jumping out of our skin. Tori pushed me towards the hallway.

"Hide here a moment and do not move." She looked at me seriously to make sure I understood. I nodded. My throat had constricted. Maybe I was going to pass out and wake up to find this had all been some crazy dream. I was hoping. My Aunt walked to the door and glanced at me one more time where I was peeking around the corner before she opened the door.

"What is the meaning of this? Do I know you?" She asked. Before I knew what was happening a strange man was pushing past Tori.

"Hey!" Tori hollered as she went for her hand gun.

"I wouldn't do that if I were you," the strange man said and I almost melted right through the floor. It was that same seductive voice I had heard in my head when I met the dragon. As I looked the man over, I realized he had the same sky blue eyes as the dragon and his hair was so blonde it had almost a golden hue.

"No way." I whispered from the hallway and covered my mouth with my hand. My Aunt came to her senses after hearing his voice.

"What gives you the right to come in to my home uninvited?"

"I'm here for Sawyer. I apologize for the harsh intrusion but she was taking too long to come back to me and I feared the worst had happened." Tori froze then.

"It's you," Tori replied so quietly I almost didn't hear her. "It's really you. Oliver?"

"Wait, what?" I had stepped out of the hallway and I'm sure my gaping mouth was super attractive. My Aunt and, Oliver I guess was his name, turned to look at me in unison.

"Ah Sawyer, I'm so glad you're okay," Oliver said in relief as I stared between my Aunt and him.

"Yeah of course I am. Not sure why you care so much. Anyway, how do you two know each other?" I asked in a do-not-lie to me tone of voice.

"Sawyer, this is Oliver. His mother and I grew up together in this very town. She moved away right before our sixteenth birthday and I didn't see her again until you came to live with me after your parents passed. She brought Oliver with her and told me..." She hesitated, which just made me more irritated.

"Told you what?" I said.

"Well she told me that her family had strange gifts." My Aunt Tori looked sideways at Oliver with that remark. "I didn't believe her at the time, told her she was insane and to get out of my house and get help." She turned toward Oliver this time. "I was so wrong Oliver, I'm so sorry. I should've helped her."

Oliver smiled so gently at my Aunt. As he was about to reply sirens sounded and were getting louder at a very rapid pace. Oliver and Tori immediately raised hand guns, I'm guessing he had one stashed also, and went to peek around the curtains in the living room.

"Stay hidden Sawyer." Oliver commanded.

"Now wait a minute, why do I always have to hide? And why are we hiding anyway? It's just the police, someone probably saw you barge in here Oliver." I stated condescendingly. Oliver turned and glared at me and I swear his pupils turned to slits.

"You will hide because you must stay safe. I'll explain more when we have time but for now all I can tell you is that is not the police and they are coming for you. Hide!" He bellowed the last word. I jolted backwards almost falling on my butt on the stairs and my Aunt rushed to me. She looked at me with a fear in her eyes I had never seen before.

"He's right Sawyer, please just listen and we will explain more once we get to a safe house."

"Okay." Nodding I turned and ran up the stairs to my bedroom immediately locking the door behind me. I slowly walked backwards from my door my pulse so loud I couldn't hear anything happening downstairs. The sirens were right outside the house now. My breathing was getting shallower and I was sweating straight through my tank top and shorts. Once the backs of my legs touched my bed, I slid to the floor and hugged my knees to my chest as I started taking gulps of air to calm myself down. Finally my pulse had slowed enough that I could hear muffled sounds of talking downstairs. As quietly as possible I stood and crept to my bedroom door. Pressing my ear to the cold dark wood I strained to hear what was being said but before I could make anything out a gunshot fired!

"What the hell!" I ripped my door open praying that Tori was alive and was grabbed by two of the tallest officers I've ever seen. They quickly secured my hands and as they pulled my into the hallway a third officer sprayed the foulest smelling perfume in my face I was sure I would puke. Before I could even cuss him out, everything started turning black. I started to fall, passing out as hands caught me from behind.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Stefanie Sullivan

I'm new to writing but have always wanted to tell my life story eventually so I can help other women who have maybe had the same experiences or trauma. I'll write fantasy when I need breaks. Hopefully you all like some!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • JP Solomon2 years ago

    Interesting start. I wonder if she herself is a dragon?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.