Fiction logo

My Charming Vegan

Unanswered Prayers

By Lori ArmstrongPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

It was the winter of 2007 and another cold, damp day in March. I had been separated from my husband for over a year now, and I began to fall into the same old habits. My monotonous pattern was one that occurred every Friday evening. It actually excited me…a trip to Hollywood Video, a bowl of popcorn (heavily salted, of course) and my Boxer, Bandit, on my lap perfectly completed my peaceful and cozy evening.

An old friend dared try and disrupt my comfort zone. She phoned me to speak of nonsense, which involved me going on a blind date with her attorney pal on this Friday night. I was not interested, but rather annoyed with all of her feeble attempts, so I proposed I would have one drink if she joined us. I know I sound somewhat vain, when I say that I felt as if I was doing her a favor. I sat back down in the recliner, attempting to ease my frazzled nerves.

I am not ready to date anyone, I whispered to myself. I am calling her back and telling her I do not feel well.

The conversation didn’t go well and I was relieved my rejection call was over.

I am over 40 years old and dating is just a waste of time, I thought to myself.

My precious son and daughter overheard the conversation and asked me, “What was that about?”

I told them the truth, as every mother should - “It was nothing.”

We all know, as parents, it never ends at nothing or never mind, so I quickly diverted their attention to movie night ideas.

“What movie should we get tonight?”

My diversion was so smooth and quick, they didn’t know what hit them. Brittany requested Disturbia and Louie agreed, requesting red vines as he usually did. I put my long, warm, wool coat on and headed for my car.

“Be right back,” as I headed for the video store.

I traveled the usual route to the video store, seeming to have despicable timing and breeze through every green light. I thought this may be a sign. I knew I didn’t need a green light from anyone in order to start dating again.

I pulled into my usual parking place and headed for the New Release Section where the movies were arranged in alphabetical order. I scanned past movies that started with A, then through D and located Disturbia. As I approached the “H” movies, my eyes fell upon a dashingly handsome man with sparkling hazel eyes. I quickly looked away when I noticed he was gazing my way, too.

I was puzzled with my attraction to this man. I did not know him, nor was I interested in dating. I had a pattern in my life and I liked my boring life. I just turned down a blind date this evening. What is happening?

I tested my theory again, telling myself I would walk past him again and see if he looked my way a second time. Here goes nothing, I whispered. I added a swagger to my walk this time, pretending not to notice him. I felt quite foolish inside, much like a naïve schoolgirl.

Just then I heard, “There are too many movies to choose from.”

I treated him to a coy smile but was embarrassed by my behavior to look him in the eye - but I couldn’t help myself.

“Yeah, I come here every Friday night. My daughter is hooked on the House TV Series.”

I hesitated, nearly tripping over my own feet and decided to walk near him.

“I didn’t know they rented TV series here, too.”

I showed him the aisle where all the TV Series were located as we continued our sparkling conversation for another two hours.

He shared with me his news, which was rather exciting to him, but these words were foreign to me. He told me he was a vegan.

“Oh, is that like being a vegetarian?”

My response carried a curious tone. It was silent for a moment, which seemed more like an eternity. My ignorant comment continued to echo in my carnivore brain.

“Well, not exactly”, he said, “Vegans do not eat anything dairy, as well as no meat.”

I should have shut my mouth when I had the chance, but the Leo in me kept spitting out these ignorant words as quickly as they popped into my head.

“You mean, no eggs or milk or cheese? How do you eat pizza or an omelet?”

I should have walked away when I had the chance and I was surprised I still had his attention.

“I don’t eat them, but there are substitutes out there that are much healthier for you.”

Being curious by nature, I asked him where he bought his dairy substitutes. By this time I was probably making him feel like he was from another planet, but my questions kept coming. We exchanged phone numbers, couldn’t hit a green light on the way home to save my life and we met the following evening at a local coffee house.

Our first few dates consisted of my vegan love sharing his video documentaries with me on salmonella poisoning, as I consumed a Chicken Caesar Salad. Needless to say, I poked around the chicken pieces when he peeked over my shoulder.

I had been a carnivore since I was a little girl. Back when the grocery chain stores didn’t offer various grades of meat, I inhaled mom’s beef tacos as the grease running down my arm became a common occurrence. My family didn’t know it any different.

We officially became an item, and I pretended I was vegan for a few years but my luck soon ran out. I would drive through the local fast food establishments, devour my food and leave the evidence inside my car until late at night, only to retrieve my bags after he had left. Of course, sometimes I would forget, he would enter my car, discovering either nacho containers or taco wrappers. I felt like a foolish, sneaky little girl, being scolded all over again.

A few years had passed and it took more than a few vegan documentaries to change my carnivore ways. He even supplied me with informative books, filled with the positive effects of a vegan diet and I even agreed with the multiple positive reasons to make the change. My vegan love wanted me to convert to veganism badly and I knew I needed to make a better effort. It was not as if, I was being dragged to the gates of hell and forced to eat the rubbish from the garbage. Becoming a vegan, or even a vegetarian, just made sense.

After a few years I decided to set aside meat for the sake of compassion, spirituality, improved health, longevity and the general good for the environment. This life changing adventure made me reboot my expectations, making a small difference in our world. It felt good.

It is now fourteen years later and my lovely vegan and I are still going strong.

Love
1

About the Creator

Lori Armstrong

Lori is an award winning author who writes multi-genre books. She has written and edited several books that are available on Amazon along with ghostwriting for clients worldwide.

She is also a published journalist for the news.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.