Fiction logo

Mrs. Neuyir

New Year, New Goals

By Robert CowleyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Some much needed rest

Mrs. Neuyir

By

Robert Cowley

I’m sitting in my office chair working steadily to meet my deadline as I also anxiously wait for my meeting with Mrs. Neuyir, my year-end review supervisor. Then I hear two quick knocks on the door and without delay it opens. As if I even had an option to decline entry.

“Ah, Mrs. Neuyir, I’m glad you could make it today, I’m glad I made it! (laughs nervously with a droplet of sweat running down the forehead)

Please, make yourself comfortable, have a seat. Would you like something to drink? Champagne perhaps?” I ask expectantly as I’m already pouring a glass for her.

And she replies in a Cruella DeVil type tone with a smile on her face and eyebrows raised “you know what? I would love some.”

“Great! here you are. Thanks again for joining me.” I say

“Well, it is my job to show up this time every year, but yes, you’re welcome. Now tell me Mr. Inguind, how were things this year? I remember last year you said some things needed to be changed and that you would set your mind to making that change, did you achieve your goal?” She inquired about me.

When she asked me that, a million and one different trains of thought ran through my mind as I debated within myself about what I wanted to say:

“Should I tell her what’s on my mind?”

“Should I tell her what I think she wants to hear?”

“If I tell her the truth she might be mad but if I don’t tell her the truth then she will know and that’ll also make her mad.”

“I’m exhausted and I can’t go the way I’m going like this next year, I’ll just overwork myself, but then she’ll think I’m just being lazy.”

“ugh…I need some rest.”

So I concluded within myself that even though I have a job to do, I need to take care of myself lest I exhaust my resources, and thus am no longer able to do the job at all, which benefits no one.

I reply to her question a second later “Yes, so last year was very busy and very successful, this year was also very busy and very successful even though I set unrealistic goals and only achieved ten percent of them just like everybody else in the world. I still achieved that ten percent which was my actual goal, and that’s why I would consider this year a win.” I smile, hoping she gets my humour.

“Can you give me details about the other ninety percent?” she entreated with a furrowed brow engraved on her forehead.

“Of course” I replied “was a complete right-off, gone, out the window!” happy to say it as I stated so with a Cosmo Kramer-like mannerism.

She says “I see…” with a confused look on her face as to why I was happy about that. She then sits up in her chair, cross-legged with her back straightened in a proper posture, as I’m in my chair on the edge of my seat leaning on my desk with my hands clasped together looking intently at her, anticipating what I think her next question will be (“what are your goals for next year?”) and she takes a drink of the choicest of Champagnes this world has to offer and sets the drink down.

Mrs. Neuyir then looks at me and asks “So, Mr. Inguind, what was your first name again?”

“It’s Chase.” I respond

“Yes, that’s right, so Chase, what is your goal for this coming year? The ‘ten percent’ I mean.”

I was thrilled when she asked that, because I’m tired and need to make my concern about resting known.

“My goal…my goal is to, and I’m just being upfront and honest with you, my goal is to rest more.” I say while I cringe inside expecting an undesired response from her as I know production is her top priority.

She pauses for a second, then replies “I think that’s a great goal to have in mind Mr. Inguind. I’ve seen your work and how much time and effort you devote and having seen people year in and year out burn themselves out because they aren’t wise enough to take time to take care of themselves, I therefore agree to that resolution and I hope others follow suit.”

After receiving my answer she gets up out of her chair and shakes my hand then proceeds to make her way to the door. I know she’s a business woman and doesn’t have a second to spare because the clock is always ticking so I make my answer brief and let her know how much I appreciate it.

I tell her “Thank you very much Mrs. Neuyir! And I promise to give you that ten percent, same as everybody else”

“I’m sure you will Mr. Chase Inguind, see you next year.” She says as she opens the door and leaves with a grin on her face. When she closed the door, that's when the clock struck twelve and I instantly felt relief.

“Time to get some rest.” I say with a peaceful look on my face.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Robert Cowley

A passionate writer of Poetry, always have been and want to expand my horizon by writing short stories.

“The depth of your will determines the heights you can reach”

R.J. Cowley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.