Fiction logo

Mountain of Destiny

By: Edwin White Jr

By Edwin White JrPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Legend has it that “The Excalibur” has been protected by an ancient owl, a barn owl at that. It is said to be 30,000 years old. Thousands have sought after the sword for many ages. Many have challenged this myth with hopes to obtain the saber, but no one has returned. The Excalibur is located in the mysterious Mountain of Destiny, where the sun never shines, and the clouds never rain. The totality of darkness and weather conditions alone has scared off many to even dare challenge the legend. But could it really be that hard to defeat a barn owl? My name is Yogen which means “Child of Prophecy” I am from the Catawba Clan. The Elders of the tribe have constantly warned the villagers to stay away from the mountain, unless they too wanted to perish. Obtaining The Excalibur has been a dream of mine since I was a child. I was often teased and mocked for even thinking that it was attainable for me, but my faith never waivered. Time after time I watched the toughest of men go to the Mountain of Destiny. I’ve also watched their families grieve because they never made it back to the village. But still the sword was calling me, and it was my time to prove exactly who I was. I had to claim what was mine!

The Village

The night before I set out on my journey I was up all night tossing and turning. So I decided to go look upon the stars to relax my mind. When I finally went to bed and dozed off I had a consecutive streak of about 10 random dreams, but I only remember one with specifics. I remember vividly an owl came to me and said “Your destiny awaits”. This was strange, I had never dreamed about an owl before today. This owl had to be 5x the size of an average man! But nonetheless, this was confirmation that I was meant to bring The Excalibur back to the village, with respect and honor.

The day of the conquest my family was begging and pleading that I reconsider my idea of going on this journey. I guess the village heard about it and wanted to reason with me. I told them that my decision was final. The Elders shook their heads in disappointment when they heard this proclamation. My mother had prepared a ceremonial feast. To embrace and enjoy each other’s company in case I never returned. I ate this meal gracefully, as if it would be my last, then I began to embark on my journey.

“Where the sun never shines, and the clouds never rain”

The Mountain of Destiny had claimed the lives of thousands of men. “What made me so different?” “Did The Excalibur actually belong to me this entire time?” “Did I make the wrong decision by going on this quest?”. These questions would plague my mind for the remainder of the journey. Arriving to the mountain the scenery was pitch black, with crisp cold air. No one to communicate with and no signs of life. I remained observant as I started to climb towards the pinnacle. I climbed for about 4 hours until I came across a cave at the top of the mountain. At the entrance of the cave there was a sign that depicted a haiku, that read:

“MANY WANT THE SWORD THE PRICE OF LIFE YOU AFFORD TRAVELLING THIS COURSE”

Disregarding the sign I entered the cave. The further I walked the more I noticed the temperature went from below freezing, to being muggy, and warm. As if the moment could feel the pressure and tension as well. Along with me I brought my bow and arrow, a torch, and a napsack filled with 3 days worth of bread and water. The torch was my only source of light in this cave, it was given to me from my father. He said “Once the torch is lit, the flames will never diminish”. I shook my head in confirmation to agree, but had no idea what he meant.

“Entering this column of the cave was a beautiful display of colors”

Traveling deeper, I started to notice an aurora of lights in the distance. Slowly moving forward I began to ready myself for battle, not knowing what to expect. Entering this column of the cave was a beautiful display of colors reflecting on a small body of water. But I couldn’t be in awe for too long before I noticed “The Excalibur” forged in between the stalactites. I immediately started panicking and looked around for the owl of legend. And there he was, staring directly at me, not a movement, not a sound. I approached the owl with my bow and arrow, trying my best not to visibly tremble. Before I could say anything, he says “Your destiny awaits”.

Fable
2

About the Creator

Edwin White Jr

LIFE IS ART AND YOUR WORDS ARE THE COLOURS...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.