Fiction logo

Mountain Climbing

Life always gives us some new and interesting challenges, and if we can overcome them, we will gain happiness, experience, and inspiration. Today, I will introduce to you the war letter I received.

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mountain Climbing
Photo by laura martin on Unsplash

Life always gives us some new and interesting challenges, and if we can overcome them, we will gain happiness, experience, and inspiration. Today, I will introduce to you the war letter I received.

Behind my house, there are several lofty and dangerous mountains, rolling, and I can't count the total number of them. One day, I had a sudden thought: what is behind this mountain? Is it a big lush forest? Or a big city with a lot of traffic? Everything is waiting for me to explore in detail. So, I met my friends and went to the foot of the mountain, and prepared to start hiking.

We first came to the potholes of the trail, the S-shaped sheep path leads to the halfway point of the mountain, and the next road will have to be completed by itself. At first, it was a smooth walk, listening to the crisp, loud bird calls as we went, looking at the beautiful vibrant wildflowers, the golden sunflowers planted on both sides of the trail, and the lilacs with their enchanting fragrance. As we walked further, we saw a few big rowan trees and a few tall poplar trees. When we turned around, we saw a sign that said, "No fires on the mountain during the Qingming Festival." Although we did not bring fire, seeing this sign, the heart has been half cold. One of the partners said, "Let's sneak in, no one knows anyway." "No, there are too many of us, it's easy to be discovered." Another partner retorted. "Then we'll just have to climb up again," I said. We had no other better way, we had to do as I said. We shifted direction, not to the north, and headed east. I did not expect to run out of the road, climbing the mountain several times harder, progress was very slow, climbing for a quarter of an hour, only a few trees away. I was on my hands and knees, stepping on rocks and grabbing roots, and it was hard to climb a quarter of the mountain. By this time, the partners were all short of breath, and even lay on the ground and did not want to move. I encouraged everyone, climbing up to explore the end. But everyone did not move, I had to say to them: "to the top of the mountain, I will give you all the snacks!" Once the partners heard, tired again can not resist the temptation of food, and began to climb again. Although everyone was sweating and panting, still gritted their teeth and insisted on climbing to the halfway point. At this moment, the partners all sat down on the ground, and could not help but yawn. At this time, I found a partner lying asleep on the ground, how to call also did not respond, so take a small piece of grass to scratch his nose, and after a while, he came to his senses. Other partners also shouted, "I want to go home!" "I don't want to stay here anymore! Get ready to go down the mountain!". I was torn: up the mountain, it is thorny, can not climb; down the mountain, but also some regret. In the end, it is up or down the mountain? Suddenly, a small friend shouted: "You are willing to go down the mountain so easily? Just a few steps from the top, just hold on for a while! There was an old man in his sixties on crutches but still climbed Mount Everest. There is a difference of many kilometers between this mountain and that mountain, are you even worse than an old man? Everyone is frozen, is it a warrior, or a coward? I also thought to myself: no one is born to stand on the peak, not from the valley to the peak. Suddenly, the whole group turned back and walked towards the peak. With firm feet and persistent eyes, we continued to climb towards the top of the mountain. With rhythmic chanting of slogans and on our hands and knees, we finally reached the top of the mountain. Standing at the top, we enjoyed the cool breeze blowing in the distance, had a bird's eye view of the whole Xuan Gang, and of course, saw the secret behind the mountain. There was surprisingly a huge coal wash there, creeping like a black ocean at the foot of the mountain. And of course, there were houses of all sizes at the bottom of the mountain, curving roads, red and white schools ....... I was thinking: fortunately, I didn't stop halfway, or I would have lost with this beauty.

The dawn dares to challenge the night to usher in the beautiful sunset; early spring dares to challenge the cold winter to win the beauty of vitality; life also only dares to challenge fate, in exchange for the joy of success.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.