Fiction logo

Molly and the Cake

Another kitchen

By K.C. KeatsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Molly and the Cake
Photo by David Holifield on Unsplash

Flour was floating in the air as it slowly drifted to the counter as Molly ran around frantically accidentally hitting the flour bag and sending it flying while she tried to locate the supplies she needed for her baking. "Why do I even bother", she said to herself as she slipped on the flour on the floor. Both legs came flying out from underneath her and she landed hard on her back and hit her head on the floor knocking her out. Rick came flying through the double doors and noticed Molly lying on the floor, "Call 911, and hurry', he said as he knelt down beside her.

Molly woke woke up to the smell of fresh bread bread just being removed from the oven and when she opened her eyes she was in this enormous kitchen, "Hey you there, are you sleeping on the job again. The master better not find out or you will be punished", a voice said. Molly looked around but couldn't see anyone, "Who said that? Where are you?" she asked looking around. "I'm over here you silly girl", she said and when Molly looked around the corner of the counter she seen a little old lady working away at her next task. Molly walked up to her and she must of only been about four feet tall, stubby little arm and legs and very gruff looking. "Where am I and who are you?" she asked as the little old woman turned to look at her with a puzzled look.

"You're not Druzel! Where is she?" she said and Molly just looked at her even more confused. "No, my name is Molly and I don't know where I am. The last thing I remember was trying to find the ingredients for a customers cake that I was about to make and I slipped and wake up here," she said as tears began to form in the corners of her eyes as she plopped down in a chair next to her. The little old lady came over to her a placed her stubby little hand on her shoulder, "Don't cry my child. My name is Margel and I'm a dwarf."

"A dwarf!" Molly said as she turned to look at her. "Yes my child and I fear that you are not in your world anymore. Unfortunately you arrived in the master trolls home and he don't take to kindly to strangers, especially human ones." Margel said and the look on Molly's face changed from the one of wonder to one of fear. "What am I suppose to do? I don't know my way around here and I don't even know where I'm at." she said as she began to look around. "Do not worry to much my child, the master doesn't come into the kitchen unless we are late for his meal so you should be all right here till we can figure something out. But until then you can help me out around here," Margel said and this brought some relief to Molly as a small smile appeared.

"What would you like me to do?" Molly asked. "The master likes chocolate cake for dessert, would you be able to do that?" Margel asked. "Yes, that shouldn't be a problem. That is after all what I was doing when I hit my head. You just got to tell me where all the ingredients are." Margel replied and soon the kitchen was filled with marvelous aromas as the two women worked away. Molly was putting the final touches on the cake when Margel came over and handed her some powder. "Here my child, mix this powder into the batter, there's no taste on it and it should put him to sleep for a couple hours so you should be able to get out of here," she said. "But I don't know where to go. I do not know even where I am, let alone try to escape into a world that I have never seen before. Can you go with me?" Molly asked. The little old lady then took Molly by the hand and look up at her, "but of course I will go with you child, many a year I have been here and to see my family one more time is all I ask," she said. Molly looked at her with a big smile and embraced her in a hug.

Once the cake finished baking, Molly had just finished with the decorations when the servant came running in saying the master was demanding his dessert and he wanted his chocolate cake. Margel handed the cake to him and he took off as fast as he came, heading back to the dining room with his prize. "We just got to wait for a little while for the sleeping powder to kick in and then we will make our run for it," she said.

After a little while had passed Margel was going to check on the master when Druzel came into the kitchen. "That is the weirdest thing, I went to explain to the master why I was late and he was fast asleep with his face in his chocolate cake. It was so funny," she said. "Where have you been my child? You were suppose to be here hours ago. Never mind, were leaving now and never coming back," she said as she grabbed her daughter by the arm and Molly followed behind them. "Who are you?" Druzel asked when she noticed Molly. "Never mind that now," Margel said. "I'll tell you all about it once we get out of here. As they walked by the dining hall Molly could see the troll as he slumbered away in his chocolate cake and she giggled to herself.

After they were a good distance from the trolls castle Margel stopped and explained everything to Druzel and she turned to look at Molly. "Thank you for getting us out of there, if you never showed up we would of never thought about putting the sleeping powder in the cake". "It was nothing, I don't even know how I got here," Molly replied as let out a yawn and sat next to a tree. "I'm feeling very tired all of a sudden, you go on ahead and I'll catch up with you," she said as her eyes slowly closed.

When Molly opened her eyes again she was surrounded by strange machines and realized she was lying in a hospital bed. "Where am I, where is Margel and Druzel?" she asked and the nurse looked at her with a strange look. "You have been in a coma for the past week, I just came in to check your vitals, I will let the doctor know that you are awake."

Adventure
Like

About the Creator

K.C. Keats

K.C. is from a small community on the east coast of Newfoundland, Canada, and has been writing for over twenty years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.