Fiction logo

Missing Miracle Worker

A Race Against Time for a Cure

By suren arjuPublished 6 days ago 1 min read

My phone buzzed impatiently in my hand. Another missed call from Dr. Evans. It had been three hours since she'd left for a quick "equipment check" at the university lab before the conference. Three hours of rising panic gnawing at my gut. Dr. Evans wasn't one to miss deadlines, especially not this one.

Her research, a revolutionary new gene therapy with the potential to cure ALS, was the holy grail for our foundation. Years of tireless work, countless fundraising events, all leading to this very moment. A packed room of journalists, eager investors, and most importantly, hopeful patients, all waiting for Dr. Evans to unveil the key to unlocking a future free from ALS.

I smoothed out the crisp white tablecloth covering the refreshments table, a meager attempt to calm my nerves. Bottles of water sat next to a plate of untouched pastries. The room buzzed with a nervous energy, the weight of anticipation hanging heavy in the air.

Glancing at my watch again, my heart hammered against my ribs. I needed to act. Ignoring the internal debate about causing a scene, I marched towards the head nurse's station.

The sterile white walls of the hospital gleamed under the harsh fluorescent lights. Stainless steel gleamed even brighter, catching the reflection of my jittery movements. Unlike the museum's grand event hall, with its soaring ceilings and historical charm, this waiting room felt sterile and cold. It felt a world away from the bustling press conference I'd meticulously planned for Dr. Evans' groundbreaking announcement.

Mystery

About the Creator

suren arju

Hi there! I'm Suren, your startup guide. Entrepreneur, writer, dreamer - I share insights, tips & stories to fuel your startup journey. Ready to explore, learn & win together? Join me & let's redefine how we launch, learn & leap!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SAWritten by suren arju

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.