Fiction logo

Missing

A short horror story

By Tris GrayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Missing
Photo by Wendy Scofield on Unsplash

A gust of wind suddenly rips through the world around me. Leaves fall from the trees, a plastic bag flips across the road, my hood comes flying off for the tenth time tonight. I pull it back on quickly, glancing around to double check that no one saw me.

I walk up to a tall rusted gate and pause for a moment before I push it gently. It groans loudly as it swings open, and I grimace, once again looking around. When I step through, the wind picks up again, and I shiver, pulling my jacket closer to my body. My eyes scan the area in front of me, looking for the mausoleum the note said would be right in the middle of the cemetery.

I see the small white building towering over the graves around it and take a deep breath. Why in the world would someone want to meet there? I sigh and start making my way toward it, taking care not to step on the many mounds of slightly raised earth.

I shove my hand into my pocket and grab the piece of paper I’ve read at least fifty times over the past two days. I unfold it again and glance over the familiar words. “I know where your sister is. Mausoleum. Middle of Creekside Cemetery. Midnight on Tuesday. Come Alone.” I swallow the twinge of fear making me want to turn around and go home. This could be my only chance to find Carly.

Before I found the note taped to my bike’s handlebars on Sunday afternoon, I had all but given up on ever finding answers about my sister’s disappearance. Maybe I shouldn’t be meeting some mysterious stranger in a graveyard in the middle of the night, but what choice do I have?

As I approach the mausoleum, I scan my surroundings again. The polished white marble is cold to the touch like I imagine my heart must be. The door opens easily, and I step into the inky black darkness. I blink a few times as my eyes slowly adjust, but I still can’t see anything. There’s nothing creepier than being in a pitch black tomb in the middle of the night, that’s for sure.

I pull my phone out of my back pocket and turn on its flashlight, finally illuminating the space around me. There’s a few cobwebs in the corners, and leaves are strewn about, probably blown in by the wind. I turn slowly in a circle, taking in more details. Two of the walls are blank, but a third is covered in names, dates, and pictures that are carved into the marble. I step closer and run my fingers over the etchings as I read the list of names and dates. There are so many; are they all in here?

I swallow and turn around to face the only wall I haven’t studied yet. My eyes widen as I take in the number of slots in the wall. Many of them are filled, but there are several left open for...future residents. I take a step closer, almost involuntarily. My heart is pounding in my chest; I wonder if the dead can hear it.

My feet continue moving toward the wall as if it has some kind of magnetic pull. I’m a few feet away when I hear a crunch under my feet and jump back, the spell broken. I slowly look down, and my stomach roils with nausea when I see what I stepped on. Bones are scattered in front of me. They’re small but definitely human.

I back away slowly, and shine my flashlight on the ground. I should leave, but I’m transfixed on the remains in front of me. A piece of paper next to the skull catches my eye, so I walk over and take it with trembling hands. The ink smudges slightly as I smooth out the wrinkles in the paper, but there’s no mistaking it. The handwriting is the same as on the note left on my bike.

My breath catches in my throat as I read the first line of words scrawled onto the page: “You found your sister.” I fall to my knees as a strangled sound comes from my throat. I stepped on her. I stepped on her!

“Carly who did this to you?” I whisper as a shadow begins to pass through the room. A hot tear slides down my cheek, and I read the note again. This time I read the second sentence, “I wonder who will find you.” I cry out, horrified as I stagger to my feet and stumble toward the exit. The darkness devours the rest of the room, and I pound on the cold door. The click of a lock echoes through me.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Tris Gray

Welcome to my musings, my daydreams, and sometimes, my nightmares.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.