Fiction logo

Mirrored

A story

By Mother CombsPublished 22 days ago Updated 22 days ago 1 min read
11

I could hear Junie talking to herself in her room. As usual, she directed comments to her twin sister, Julie, who died three months before. It was heartbreaking to hear.

I decided today was the day to help her understand that Julie wasn’t returning—ever. I dreaded this conversation with my child, as she and her sister were very close. Being a single mom, though, I couldn’t wait until things became more serious.

So I went to her bedroom door and was fixing to knock when I heard my daughter addressing herself as Julie and herself. It was a little creepy. I almost held my hand before knocking on her door and walked away—almost. Instead, I knocked and entered the room.

What I witnessed next was beyond comprehension. Junie, standing before her mirror, turned to face me. To my horror, her reflection also stared back, meeting my gaze. Junie, seemingly oblivious, asked if I needed anything, while her reflection tilted its head in a chillingly unnatural manner.

I was freaked out and wanted to scream. Then the reflection asked me if everything was ok, and I fainted.

Since the incident, I’ve covered the mirrors in our house. I told Junie not to remove the blankets from them, either. I don’t know whether to make an appointment with a psychologist or a priest.

MicrofictionShort StoryPsychologicalHorrorfamily
11

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 19 days ago

    ROCK is here! 💪 Hand me the mirrors! Shivers in me spine!

  • Dana Crandell20 days ago

    I'm with Jason. Start with a rock.

  • JBaz20 days ago

    I suggest a rock first, then a priest, rabbi, monk and anyone else willing to assist.

  • Christy Munson22 days ago

    Creeeepy

  • The priest for sure, lol. That was so freaking creepy. I would have died 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk22 days ago

    Opt for the priest...lol

  • Ina Zeneli22 days ago

    That was so creepy 😱. Loved it !

  • Caroline Craven22 days ago

    Holy Moly! I think I'd be binning the mirrors let alone covering them. This was super creepy and I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.