Fiction logo

Miguel & the Marker

the Artistic Awakening

By Kylecovey SmithPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Miguel & the Marker
Photo by Anna Kolosyuk on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. A sparkling object fell from the air. One day while riding his bike home from baseball practice, 12-year-old Miguel Taylor heard a strange whistling sound coming from the local woods. I wonder what's that? Miguel parked his bike to the side and ventured deep into the woods where the whistling grew louder by the second. He soon arrived at the source and found a small box glowing silver. The curious boy picked up the box and examined it. This is what was making that sound? I wonder what's inside it? Miguel unlocked the box and opened it to find a shiny silver marker. A marker? Ah man I was hoping it was diamonds or something. What I'm supposed to do with this, I gotta get home whoever wants this marker. I'll draw a big circle saying they can have it. Miguel drew a wide circle on the ground and dumped the marker next to it. He walked away, then suddenly the circle started to shine and Miguel noticed the light behind him. Whoa, okay I was not expecting that. The circle formed a spinning portal and Miguel picked up the marker and cautiously walked through the opening.

The boy soon found himself a strange but colorful world where everything and everyone was a drawing. Where am I? You’re in Sketchland kid. Miguel looked to his right and saw a superhero like drawing dressed in green and black walking towards him. You stay away from me! Easy dude I’m as harmless as a butterfly, I've never seen a drawing like you before. I’m not a drawing. Well, what are you then? I’m a human from this place called Earth. Hmm that’s a strange name? This can’t be real, you can't be real everything looks like it’s made of crayons, paint and markers. That’s because it is, and if this wasn’t real could I do this? The superhero drawing punched Miguel in the shoulder. Hey! What was that for?! You wanted proof that me and everything else was real didn’t you? Ahahahha. Real funny. Anyway, Spark Fusion is the name, but you can call me Spark. My name is Miguel. Glad to meet you Miguel; if you don’t mind me asking. How did you get to Sketchland? Oh, I found this weird marker that was in a whistling box, and it made a doorway when I drew a circle. Spark took a look at the marker and his jaw dropped. This is a Meteor Marker, and this can only be found in the Graphic Valley. I know a guy who can tell you everything you need to know about it and how it popped up in your world. But Spark I don’t know where to go. Hello that’s why I’m here and I know Sketchland from top to bottom. I will show you the way nature boy. Well lead on captain. From there the two newfound friends set off on their epic adventure.

So, Spark, do you mind if I ask a couple questions? Go ahead. How do we get to Graphic Valley? How does Sketchland exist? Final question can I really draw anything with this marker? We have to pass through Artacular Savannah and the River of Colors that leads into Graphic Valley. Sketchland is connected to your world; everything that has ever been drawn on paper, canvas, chalkboard, whiteboard even on the computer is what created Sketchland and that is how it exists. As for your last question, yes, anything you draw instantly becomes real. Speaking of which, do you mind making something to get us there faster? I'm kinda tired of walking. Oh, sure thing. Now let’s see Miguel started drawing numerous lines, rectangles, and circles until he formed a jeep. Say hello to the Paint Prowler. Not bad Miguel, I always wanted to ride in a jeep. Yeah, I figured we should travel in style. Well, what are we waiting for? Let's ride. The two hopped in the paint prowler and drove to Artacular Savannah. Wow this place is just like a doodled version of the African Savannah. Oh yeah pal you’ll find just about everything here in Sketchland.

AdventureFantasyHumorShort StorySeries
1

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.