Fiction logo

Memory of the Heart

By J.A.Gomez

By Janine GomezPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Chapter 1
Heart on Fire

It's so hot I know I'm in hell. I think back to how the old folks used to tell us that if we sinned we were going to hell. Didn't they know we're already here? At the mercy of all the demonic masterminds of our nations. Lead by the craft of societal who's who's and what's what's into eternal damnation. All designed to distract. Mind numbing b.s. meant to lure our attention away from the real problems burning all around us. 



Well, when the masses decided to awaken from the synchronized slumber, it was too late to make any changes. The heads of our great nations had already declared war with each other over the ever dwindling natural resources. Water supplies were poisoned, crops were already contaminated with carcinogenic pesticides but they were sabotaged anyway. Bio warfare became a preferred attack.

Given the amount of deforestation over the years, the average Joe had nowhere to go. All the hidey holes were taken. The so called one percent had made sure to take all precautions necessary. They built and reinforced their manors to the nines. Making sure they could outlive the apocalypse. What a joke. What did they think their money was going to be worth against the hellfire that was raining down on the entire world? Pathetic.

You see, when you've lived your life on the fly, always needing to come up with clever new ways to survive, that's exactly how you survive. When you've never had an opportunity to be comfortable, you can be considered a professional at going without. 



Family was so long ago that the heirloom heart shaped locket around my neck doesn't hold pictures. Tucked away inside is a trusty old cyanide capsule. Not that I wanna die but, I just don't know why I'm still here. When my fingers caress the textured exterior, the course lines etched into the heart, reminding me. Each cut echoing the scars that ache in the dead of night. My tongue would fall out, rendered useless by evolution if not for the whispers of my prayers. Always ending with the quiet request to take me while I sleep so I'm not waking up to the constant temptation of the freedom contained in this cold symbol of eternal love.







Thi

his

This Heart is Hopeful

This Heart is Hopeful

This Heart is Hopeful



When I wake my eyes are dry. Salty and burning from dehydrating them all night. Like a slow drip from a leaky faucet, I doubt I even knew I was doing it. I wish I had, my clean water stash is starting to run low. The palm of my hand hurts where the frilly edge of the locket indented it. That old comforting thought creeps in. Master of my own destiny. I instinctively touch the familiar ripple and a sigh is released as I feel the ghost of a thumb stroke my cheek. I'm not sure how much longer I can resist.

No time for that right now. I need to set out to find some clean water. With only about a week's worth left in my canteens, I'm cutting it close. Gotta find some bath wipes also. My mind was just drifting along the top of a cool dipping pool, I could almost feel the water slide along my skin when my ears pricked. What was that? I could swear I heard the quiet sound of a muffled cough. A strange sensation came over me, I am being watched! Ok, how many? Is it one, muffling their own cough or is someone else doing the muffling? How many pairs of eyes can I feel? Don't panic, just act as if nothing has been revealed. Pack up quickly but calmly. Hand on my rusty machete that I found in that barn about eight months ago. I had carved out a hook in the hilt so I could hang it on the belt loop of my jeans.

I feel my pulse quicken. The thumping in my ears is deafening. Do I still have any fight left in me? I feel the metal locket brush against my chest as I swing around, machete in one hand and my other hand curled tight into a fist. Wait...my head's on a swivel now and I'm seriously questioning my instincts.

My skin immediately goosepimples as a rush of air passes my right arm and swipes the machete from my hand. I quickly bolt left and crash into what feels like a huge punching bag. As I land hard on my back, my head smashing the ground beneath me, I see a slight flicker. What am I looking at? I scramble backwards. As I get to my feet I feel a hard blade at my back. What is this? How is it possible that I cannot see what I'm up against? The flickering starts again and the giant sandbag emerges in front of me. "What are you two?"

"It's who not what. Human, nothing more. We came across this lab in the city. Had some crazy tech goin' on. Some of it still works. We took what we could, what looked useful. These panned out, eh Double Gees?"

"Ok, so the tech you found makes you invisible and gives you speed?"

"No, not the speed. That's all me. I used to run track. Turns out it's a useful talent."

" Are you gonna kill me?"

"Not unless you try to kill us."

"I'm not the killing type."

The blade was quickly removed from my back and I watched it circling in mid-air. "Look, I've been on my own for a long while now. Tools are useful."

I snatched the machete from the air as it came hurling toward me. Then the flicker and the second emerged. "Listen, we're on our way back from a supply run. Lucky for you, we picked this hole in the wall to make camp last night. Now it's time to go if we wanna reach the compound before dark. You're comin' with."

"Wait, what compound? I've been wandering these parts for months and I've never come across a compound."

"Well, I did say the tech we found was awesome. So, let's get going."

"Come or don't come. Moe, it's time to move." Double Gees' voice was gruff. Stern. Obviously the protector. Moe seemed sweet, sincere. Should I trust them? Better than spending the rest of my life alone. I mean, what's the worst that could happen? They kill me?

"Alright, let's move then. I need some fresh water supply though. Got a spot along the way? Otherwise, I know a good one."

"No need, we have plenty to get us back. You got enough for the day? No worries, if not we have some to spare." Moe talked as he walked. Clearly trusting me or completely fearless with Double Gees by his side. "Here," he tossed me a small clear object with colorful insides. "Just place it on the back of your neck. It sticks by itself. Give it a light tap. Yeah, that's it."

"How will you know where I am?" I asked as I clicked off the shield. "I mean, why would you trust me anyway?"

"Here, put this in your ear." As Moe put the earpiece in my hand, our palms touched together. It felt hot and filled me with an underlying suspicion that there was a transfer of information somehow. "I guess I just have a good feeling about you."

My eyes narrowed and Moe let out a chuckle cut off by Double Gees, "Enough play, get your shields up. Never know what you could come upon these days."

We turned on our shields and I heard Moe gasp, " Oh my, you shouldn't think of Double Gees that way. He's just trying to keep us safe." Did I say he needs to back off and stop being such an overbearing mother? "And no, you didn't need to say it. I told you already, amazing tech." Then the blunt "Hmph" that I knew came from Double Gees.

"I'm sorry, I didn't realize these earpieces worked like that. Also, I'm not used to companions anymore. My apologies, Double Gees."

"That's quite alright. I'm glad my muscles are nice to look at but, clean it up for the sake of the kid would ya?"

"I'm NOT a kid! And I think my eyeballs just broke the back of my skull. Don't be so conceited, Oman."

"Oman?"

"Yeah, Mana calls me Double Gees but my name is Oman."

"Mana?"

"Yeah, Gentle Giant calls me Moe because NOBODY calls me Mana! Well, how 'bout you? What's your name?"

"Artemis but, I used to go by Artie."

Chapter 3

An Unhardened Heart

The compound was not at all what I imagined. A few hundred people. Not the greatest of minds and there was a lot to do. We needed a proper greenhouse and raised gardens with irrigation. At least everyone there was he'll bent on survival so getting them to learn and work hard wasn't an issue. Water wasn't scarce here thanks to Javier. He had been an civil engineer before all hell broke loose. Over the years things really came together. Each person did seem to have an individual talent of sorts. Stringing them all together wasn't as hard as it should have been. It was easy to see that Moe had everyone connected by some invisible string that he could easily manipulate to whatever was needed.

I had much to teach over the years. Growing up on a farm gave me knowledge that today was worth more than any precious metal or gem. The people of the world can't survive by eating gold and diamonds. Sure, they're plenty useful. Elixirs and technology, spirituality and tools, all used as necessary components to fulfilling needs. It's the herbs and vegetation that nourish and repel, not the axe and adornments.

It didn't take long for Double Gees to win my affections. He may have been rock solid on the outside but he was super softee on the inside. All my walls came down. This truly was the Utopia of prophecies.

Chapter 4

A Heart Set Free

Moe was right all those years ago. I was lucky. Lucky to have stayed alive, lucky to have been sleeping in the same place as them and lucky I never had to swallow down that freedom pill. Being here today to see Mana leading the survivors. Implementing the knowledge that seemed to already be inate. A true enigma. One that I couldn't have been luckier to stumble across than if I had found a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow. The beauty of the soul emanating in the most amazing aura. The long golden brown curls that always flow free spilling down caramel colored skin.

"Don't cry. Please. What you have done here, infront of my eyes. You saved me!"

"I'm not crying out of sorrow. I see your light. I see you. Happy. My tears are full of joy. I feel your vibration. It is coming soon."

"Omar, where is Manauris?"

"I'm here, Mama. Right here."

"He's here, My Love. We're here with you."

"Moe, take this."

"Your locket."

"When I'm gone, do what we said. Leave the chip in the locket for Mo and give me to the wind. I want to be everywhere."

"Of course."

"My loves, you have all given me so much. I feel selfish to ask now for my freedom."

"It's ok to let go now."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.