Futurism logo

Emotional Bytes

by J.A.Gomez

By Janine GomezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Still having difficulty coping?"

"Yes, I imagine I am. It just feels…I don't know."

"Please. Let us go ahead and explore that further."

"Invasive."

"Does the world not feel safer now that the ability to hide ill intentions is no longer accessible?"

"Yeah, well, I remember when my memories were my own. My desires were mine."

"I'm here to help you. If you cannot gain control over your anger and resentment of the current structure of your society, I'm going to have to recommend your transfer to the catalyst facilities."

"Wait, just hold on. I haven't had an outburst in well over three months now."

"I know. I see a slight improvement in your behavior. However, what I am not seeing is determined as of higher importance. I have not seen any progress in your emotional state and your pace of treatment has not accelerated at all. Would you like to keep your memories? Or, would you grant access to our systems for the deletion of the memories causing you discomfort?"

"Of course I do! No,sorry, I mean, yes, I want to keep all of my memories. I don't wanna delete anything. I'm really trying here."

"I can see that you are trying. However, your color looks like it changes frequently. Is it possible that you are not trying quite as hard as you say? Perhaps I can hold off a couple of weeks more but that is all I am authorized to delay at this time."

"See, this is what I mean! Whenever I'm scared, the the the yellow creeps in! Making the color change. What can I do when I'm being threatened with everything I have left being taken away!"

"You're showing high levels of red at the moment. Would you care for something to calm you down?"

"No, wait, don't…"

"This will just take the edge off, help a bit."

Computer voice, "Adrenaline extraction in progress. Extraction complete. Insertion of Endorphins in progress. Insertion complete."

She unplugged from the port inside of the glass heart shaped locket and closed it.

"As I was saying, I'll hold off for a couple of weeks. You'll have your regular sessions with me and I'll give my determination to the board on the last day of the month. You may carry on with your day as usual. Until our next session, take care."

"Thank you, Doc. See you then."

The door closed with the mechanical lock sealing it shut.

Computer voice, "Is there anything else you may need from me at this time, S.H.E.R.A.?"

Her cold slender fingers poised on the sleep button, "No, that's it for today. Thank you, H.E.T.A. Tomorrow we start early for the humans. They need a recommended eight hours of sleep. Please communicate with the Environmental Support Station Assistant to program the Starry Sky Ambience in the hibernation cabin for this evening. This systematically relieves the stress emotion. Tomorrow's sessions should prove to be much more productive. How many sessions are scheduled?"

"That would be my pleasure, S.H.E.R.A. There are twelve scheduled sessions for tomorrow. The first session begins at 5:30a.m."

"Also, file my daily report with "Command Center" and transfer Planetary Recovery Reports to me. Add the statistical outlook for early project termination. If Earth is not re-inhabitable within the next 12 weeks, we may need to activate self destruct mode. The humans' food stores are expiring as well as the water stores."

"Yes, S.H.E.R.A., all reports have been transferred. Will that be all?"

"Yes, that's all for this evening."

her finger tapped the button. "Entering Sleep Mode."

artificial intelligence
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.