Fiction logo

memories remain

safety first

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
rest your password

I joked with my colleague that I had read about the perfect computer password. "Use the word incorrect. Then you can put anything you like in and it will remind you what it is"

"Or reset your password "he replied.

"I will still forget" I replied quietly.

My problem was you were supposed to have a memorable password that nobody else could guess, 3 random words was one idea. Passwords were something that just didn't stick unless they were obvious words that I might actually recall easily. Most stationary shops sold little books especially to record passwords. unfortunately I would probably lose the book.

The information you could get from my computer was limited but the company was beyond paranoid about safety. Anytime we left our work space we had to log out, even if a quick bathroom break. I got so worried I didn't drink so I didn't have to go.

The bit about the use of incorrect for a password was a joke I had read but it was also tempting. My favourite bands and sports teams had been already used until I forgot which one i was using and the tech guys had to save me.

They helped me reset the password and then I had to try yet another one. If i tried any of my last 10 passwords the computer said no, if I swopped in some upper case and lower case it was still refused. If I tried names of people around me the computer said to short or not safe enough. It wanted ten letters or more, upper and lower case plus a symbol.

After swearing and cursing at the dammed machine yet again I considered using some of the vitriol and name calling for a password. Even that didn't work because apparently the computer didn't like swear words being used.

I couldn't ask straight out what others used and had to rely on jokes and watching people type. It meant I got a few strange looks when people caught me staring, especially when I was staring at their hands.

I eventually decided to download a screen that looked like I had logged off so I didn't have to go thirsty or sit their with my legs crossed. Over night was obviously hard but I could usually manage most Monday to Friday runs, the weekends were when my brain ejected passwords. It got so desperate that I wrote passwords on a piece of paper by the front door , then Monday morning I got a refresher.

Next I started to forget the piece of paper so was back to square one. So I had to bite the technical bullet and come up with a decent password, most importantly the password I would recall. I decided the next time I forgot the present one, made from my grandparents names, I would set up a proper one.

I got to work, shared the usual pleasantries and sat down. I sat down and managed to remeber my late relatives names as being my present code. Then it was time to think of a proper one, not already known, not swear words and already used words and phrases.

All I needed to do was find something memorable , with my memory that was never going to be easy. So after sitting down and logging in successfully I got on with work. As it got closer to lunch I had the dilemma of pretending to log off, logging off and forgetting the password or starving.

I then had the proverbial brain storm, the light bulb moment if this was a cartoon. I was sure the system would allow not only random words but also vague sentences.

So for the first time since I joined the company I did the dreaded job myself, I changed the password to something that the tech guys would know and my colleagues would know . So they could remind me without knowing it was my password. So from this day on my password is now "reset_your_password"

remeber remeber

SatireShort StoryHumor
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.