Fiction logo

Mela Mela the Unlucky Rabbit

They were going to come back for her. There was no way that they wouldn't. After all, she was their daughter's favorite stuffed rabbit.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
3
Mela Mela the Unlucky Rabbit
Photo by E. Vitka on Unsplash

'They will come back for me.',I told myself as I laid there. But there was no way that they knew I was the cold pavement of the playground. I couldn't speak or move. No one was going to notice that I wasn't there. Not until it was time for bed and Minnie needed me.

But, that wasn't going to be for hours.

My poor Minnie. That poor thing may have noticed that I'm not around. And that she dropped me when her Mother called her to eat. I'm not entirely sure if she has just yet. Poor thing, if she has then she must be incredibly frightened. Probably trying to tell her parents that I'm not with either of them. That they needed to go back to the park to get me.

Though would they really listen to a three year old?

Who's to say that she's even noticed that I'm not with her? Who knows if she'll even care if I'm not with her?

No, no, no. I can't let myself feel that much despair. She is going to notice that I'm not there. Notice that I'm not with her and immediately demand that they go back for me. Her favorite bunny 'Caramela', or 'Mela Mela' as she calls me, isn't by her side at all.

'They will come back for me',I soothe myself as I stare at the sky. Noticing that the clouds from earlier were starting to grow more gray. Crowding together above me as all I could do is lay on the sidewalk. If I had the ability to frown, I definitely would have once a rain drop hit me.

Then more and more as the downpour started.

It wasn't much fun to lay there as the sky began pouring its heart out. A thing that I knew my poor little Minnie would love. Only if I were with her. She must be so worried right now.

Staring at the sky, I wondered how long this rain'll last. And I really wished that I could blink. Sure, the rain isn't hurting my eyes in the slightest bit. But it's making it so difficult to really see anything at all at the moment. I know that I couldn't be able to move to see them but, still. Water on my eyes just doesn't really feel all that great.

'They will come back for me.',I think to myself. Wondering just how much time has passed since they left. The rain hasn't stopped yet. But, even if it had. I wouldn't know how long it had been since they left the park. Or anything else.

Suddenly, I wish that I knew how to tell time at all. And that I listened to Minnie's Momma when she was teaching her about it. Instead of just staring at the T.V screen. Watching those videos about that clown and her couch. Wishing that I was with Minnie and watching it right now instead of this.

'...maybe, maybe they're really not coming back for me.',I think. A thought that really hurt after it came. Twisting at where my heart would be if I actually had one instead of stuffing. Another thought whispered,'Maybe I'm just stuck here until another kid comes and picks me up.'

'If another kid picks me up at all.',it hissed. After all, who's to say that I wouldn't be picked up by a stray dog. Or a stray cat? I think I would like to be picked up by another kid. If my time with Minnie's over then, then maybe I could do some good for another child? Be their shoulder to cry on if they need one?

Maybe..."Mela Mela?"

That voice! It was, it really just had to be Minnie! Please let it be her. I don't want to be hearing things. Please let my Minnie find me!

Just as I thought I had been hearing things, I felt tiny hands wrap around my soft middle. Hauling me up to their eye level. Big brown eyes staring into my button ones. A giant toothy grin on her face as she exclaimed,"Mela Mela! Here you are!"

"I was so scared, I thought someone took you from me!",Minnie admitted. Pulling me to her chest. My cheek resting against her rubber yellow raincoat as she turned to her Momma. Walking as she told me how sorry she was for leaving me behind. And that her Momma would put me in the dryer when we got home.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    This is so similar to another story I read. So uncanny. Interesting story though.

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    A very sweet and heartbreaking at times. Thank god for a happy ending!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.