Fiction logo

Meet-Cute Anecdotes

Three very short stories about first meetings and romantic beginnings.

By Marie SinadjanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Meet-Cute Anecdotes
Photo by Jonathan J. Castellon on Unsplash

Inexplicable

It was almost the worst day of my life.

My alarm didn't go off for some inexplicable reason, so I woke up late. There was a traffic jam for some inexplicable reason, so I missed my pilates class. The barista got my order wrong for some inexplicable reason, so I was stuck with a hot drink instead of a frappe. The café was crowded for some inexplicable reason, so I was forced to take the only free table outside, where it was inexplicably warm. My ex left me for some inexplicable reason, so I was alone on a table for two.

But then he walked by, and for some inexplicable reason, my eyes were drawn. He looked awkward and shy, but he was a beautiful man, one of those types who didn't realize how attractive he actually was.

Of course, I was suddenly self-conscious. Men had that effect on me; the gorgeous ones more so. And although I knew he didn't even spare me a glance, I rummaged through my bag for a quick retouch.

I'd barely finished when I looked up to see him standing in front of me.

"Hi," he greeted, very shyly. But his voice was a dreamy baritone. "May I share?"

I was staring at him dumbly, panicking because he actually said four words to me, so he gestured to the empty seat across the table. It still took me a few seconds to realize what he meant, and when I finally understood, I nodded a little too enthusiastically.

He smiled a disarming smile, and for some inexplicable reason, my day turned a whole lot brighter. "Sorry, I didn't realize the place was already full."

"It happens," I managed, and I definitely didn't mind, inexplicable as it was.

Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

Backstage

The rule had been in place from day one: No dating until the end of the production.

He first saw her during the auditions, lining up very quietly behind him, totally unformidable. But when it was her turn to sing her 16-bar piece, it was like magic. She transformed, right in front of everyone's eyes. She suddenly was a different character altogether, and he was enchanted. Most especially when she sat back down beside him, smiling shyly, as if her stint embarrassed her.

So at rehearsals, he took her in little by little. How she always arrived half an hour early. Her trademark ponytail. The way she looked into his eyes, unabashed, as she delivered her lines.

Well, it wasn't against the rules to fall in love.

Photo by Gabriel Valdez on Unsplash

Standing in Line

She stood quietly in the solo rider lane, looking like she was about to faint. So when I was sure nobody was watching me, I slipped under the bars to line up behind her instead.

"Gum?" I offered, holding out my last piece.

She glanced at me for a second, forcing a smile in polite refusal. I never thought anyone who looked so scared could look so cute.

I shrugged and tucked the gum back in my pocket, trying to keep it casual. Then I heard screaming. So did she, her head snapping to the source of the noise, eyes widening ever so slightly.

"That's going to be me in a few seconds," I said with a laugh, again attempting to start a conversation.

This time, it wasn't in vain. "Yeah, me too." I shouldn't be able to hear her through the wind and the roaring engines and the nonstop shrieking, but I could, crystal clear.

Hey, maybe I was scared, too.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Marie Sinadjan

Filipino spec fic author and book reviewer based in the UK. https://linktr.ee/mariesinadjan • www.mariesinadjan.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.