Fiction logo

Meet again in winter.

The wind outside the window is raging, and the cold winter wind is tearing at your face, and every time there is such a season, there is always an inexplicable touch inside.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

The wind outside the window is raging, and the cold winter wind is tearing at your face, and every time there is such a season, there is always an inexplicable touch inside.

I couldn't help but pull my coat tighter and rush to the school cafeteria surrounded by cold air.

The road was sparsely populated with pedestrians, all in a hurry, and the golden ginkgo trees occasionally had dead leaves floating down.

The winter in the north is cold and dry, so people stay in the warm dormitory do not want to go out, three meals will become a big problem, our dormitory after some agreement, decided that each person take turns to buy a meal, today it happens to be my turn.

I was thinking about having ramen noodles when I tripped over the steps in front of the cafeteria door without paying attention.

A pair of strong hands pulled me, and I turned around and crashed into a warm chest, and a nice fragrance lingered in my nose, like a fragrance of daisies.

"Are you okay?"

I blushed and took a few panicked steps back. I tilted my head up and saw his brilliant smile, hesitating for a few seconds, and the breath exhaled from his nose was clearly visible, as well as his face, which was slightly red from the winter freeze, perhaps because of the shock I had just experienced, my heart thumped.

"Thanks, thanks." I hastily lowered my head.

"It's okay, be more careful in the future, oh."

I nodded my head in a panic, gave a soft mmm, and without looking back turned around and ran into the restaurant.

"Ah, it's so cold today, I have to go get hot water later, accompany me."

"Who cares, go by yourself, I have to go back to eat, but I can help you take the rice back, no need to thank me."

I got in line behind these two boys, they were talking and laughing and joking from time to time, but I was still immersed in that image just now, it was as if his voice was still in my ears, I touched my burning face with the back of my hand, looked up and found that I was in the wrong line.

"Oops!" I shouted in my mind and walked around seven times to the ramen window.

"Auntie, four ramen noodles, two with spice, and pack it away."

"Do you want something else?" Auntie smiled kindly, I often come here to buy food, the auntie knows me.

"No, thank you, auntie."

While auntie was busy, I habitually reached into the pocket of my coat, but I only found a tissue.

No way! I didn't bring my meal card, did I?

I went through all my pockets, and my thought was confirmed: I really didn't bring my meal card.

Why was I so unlucky today? I had no choice but to call my roommate for help.

"Girl, your noodles are ready."

"That auntie, can you wait for a minute ......"

"Use my meal card." A familiar voice rang out from behind me, and my heart trembled.

I looked back and it was really him. My face, which had just cooled down, burned up again.

I accepted the meal card with embarrassment and mumbled in a small voice: "Thank you ......" After swiping the card, I waited for him on the sidelines.

How did the unlucky thing happen to be seen by him? I almost fell down again, and forgot my meal card.

When I saw him coming this way, I immediately raised my head: "Thank you for lending me your meal card, add a friend and I'll transfer the money to you."

"That's okay." He looked at the four noodles I was carrying and spoke, "You can't hold this much rice, I'll send you back to the dorm."

"Ah no no, I can take it alone."

He laughed softly and extended his hand to me.

I divinely handed it to him, and with my head in a daze and a deer in the headlights, I followed him out.

The cold winter wind will always give a sense of sluggishness, but a little warmth will be enough to make people feel warm.

I walked on his right side, feeling the cold wind was blocked by him.

"Which major are you?" I asked him in a whisper.

"Freshman year, economics major."

"Strange, I'm also a freshman economics major, how come I've never seen you before?" We both walked very slowly, like we were taking a walk.

The moon was dazzling that night, moonlight spilling over the campus paths, looking extra gentle, and he smiled with arched eyebrows, showing shallow pear swirls.

"You're a little confused, even if you've seen me, you'll forget me."

The two of us walked to the dormitory building with a smile.

We stood under the dormitory building, occasionally other people passed by, and he handed me the noodles.

"Go on up, don't freeze."

"You haven't added me as a friend yet."

He laughed softly out loud.

"Just to return your money!" I hurriedly explained.

After taking out my phone and doing some manipulation, I added his friend.

"Then I'll go first, you should go back too." After saying that I slipped into the dormitory building, not daring to look back at him again.

Pushing open the dormitory door, the roommates began to shout.

"If you don't come back we'll starve to death!"

"If it wasn't for the three of us sharing that little cookie, we'd really be starving to death!"

"Do you want to starve us to death and then eat four portions of rice alone!"

I smiled with my face and handed them the rice.

I went back to my place, but I didn't care to eat. I opened my phone, thinking of transferring money to him, and saw a message from him.

A group photo from high school when I received my scholarship.

On it was me with a rosy smile, and him next to me in the science class with a slight shyness.

And one more sentence.

"Don't you ever forget about me again."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.