Fiction logo

Me Lydia and Trees

Me Lydia and Trees

By Miya GwynnPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Day in the City

I stood against the fence with my hands in my pocket as I watched the other kids laugh and talk together. I let out a sigh of exhaustion. I was tired of my life of this entire situation. Suddenly there she was, Lydia she's a good friend of mine; she has always made it known how much she cares unlike all the other posers in this place who say they care but really couldn't give a crap. She approached where I stood smiling her pink full lips showcasing her off white teeth perfectly.

"Hey you." she looks down at her feet pushing her wavy auburn hair behind her ear.

"Hey right back at you. I smirk in her direction causing a blush to flood her cheeks. "Quick question...why were you late for yard time, you never miss a chance to talk about clouds or dance in the fresh air." I fidget my hands in my pockets praying she hadn't gotten herself into any trouble. Life is already hard enough with her, a life without her would be unbearable.

" No need to worry about my lateness. I have question for you." She finally looks up from her feet to meet my regular old brown eyes with her hazel orbs.

"Ask away" I respond trying to appear un-phased.

She inhales deeply shifting her weight side to side on her black converse covered feet while her hands rest behind her back most likely linked for comfort. Why is she so nervous? She's not gonna ask me to rob a bank right? Right!? I'm obviously overthinking it. Before my thoughts could wonder too astray the sound of her voice interrupted the one in my head.

"Will you go on a date with me Nick? It would be my first one ever but todays my parents wedding anniversary and I thought I shouldn't deprive this day of the love it's use to. It would be like I'm celebrating with them you know." She let out a sad chuckle as she again pushed her auburn locks behind her ear. She glanced up at me and suddenly spoke before I could reply.

"You know what actually you don't to have to. It was such a stu-"

I grabbed her hand and looked down into her eyes "I would love to go on a date with your parents... I mean you. Umm well technically with you but for you parents. I stutter and trip over my explanation

"So that's a yes!" she smiles trying to contain her obvious excitement. She than grabs my shoulder pulling my ear towards her mouth. "Meet me by side door in 5 minutes." She takes off in a sprint towards the main door of the yard, getting pass Ms. Bradley with ease. I lean against the fence daydreaming of the things we could do if we were just normal kids in a normal situation. We could actually have the freedom to have a date when and wherever we like. It wouldn't have to be some covert operation where we have to sneak around just to be inside. Speaking of covert operation, I slowly made my way over to the side door making sure I hadn't drawn the gaze of any authority figures.

I stood in front of the door looking into the small window to be met with Lydia's bright eyes and smile. As I entered I noticed she now carried a medium size tan tote bag that she held via her shoulder.

We walked down the long corridor to the front check in area where people drop off there unwanted children. Surprisingly we were not met by the rude front desk women Mrs. Shelby. Instead by the exit door stood Mrs. Carter. She smiled at us as she pulled her keys out of the door lock. "Now kids you're both 16, so I can expect you to look after each other. This isn't forever just for the day. Be sure to return here at 7:00pm sharp for supper. It is now 5:36pm. You have roughly over an hour for this little ceremony of yours." She warned calmly.

" Oh thank you so much Mrs. Carter I always knew you were the nicest one here." Lydia smiled hugging Mrs. Carter. Lydia then walks towards the door grabbing my hand pulling me along. "Be safe children." Mrs. Carter says waving bye to us momentarily before hurriedly closing the door.

Lydia began to smile grabbing my hand pulling me forwards through out the New York City streets. "W-where are we going?" I questioned still kind of in a daze from the fact we are actually outside. " To visit my parents." She looked back and smiled sadly.

We walked for what felt like hours. In reality it was probably about 10 to 15 minutes. Finally taking in my surroundings I saw that we made our way to a large park. It had a string of benches that were surrounded by tall trees that carried little white flowers. She smiled and laughed strolling over to a specific bench. "This one!" She said brushing her fingers over an engraving in the far left corner of the tree trunk. I never would have noticed it if she didn't draw attention to it. I walked over and stood by her looking at the small engraved image of an infinity sign. Her warm ivory skin glowed in the fading sunlight. " It means the love they share will last forever which means....they'll love me forever." She said brushing her fingers over one last time before sitting normally on the bench in front of the tree and then patting the empty space next to her. I walk over and sit in the empty space. "How is this where your parents are? Am I missing something?"

"They are here in spirit silly. No matter what they always came here on there anniversary to remind themselves that there love is forever." She quickly reached inside the tote bag she brought to reveal a wine bottle. "It's from their favorite wine company. They always made sure to have a bottle of Bright Cellars Merlot." Her face twisted with sadness as a few tears trailed down her rosy cheeks. She quickly wiped away them away and took out two small plastic cups.

"Wait where did you even get this wine? How did you arrange this whole thing?" I questioned baffled by her ability to make such beautiful moments even in our current circumstance.

"Anything can happen in the name of celebration. Don't worry about the details just drink with me to honor my parents love...okay." she said pouring the wine into one cup and handing it to me before pouring herself one as well.

"Well even though this was meant to honor my parents I promised you a date. Sooo is there any place you wanna go before we have to return to our unjust prison." She rises from the bench abruptly chugging the wine in one go she grabs the tote and puts her cup back inside.

I really wanted to tell her that the perfect date for me would be sitting on this bench forever talking about the universe and laughing at non-sense. Sadly all I could say was "This place is honestly great, it has trees and fresh air." I sip my wine watching her face for a reaction.

"But those are my favorite things, not yours." She looked slightly shocked her brows furrowed in confusion.

"On a date it's the guys job to make the girl happy. You seem pretty happy here in this park." I smiled slightly taking another sip of my wine.

Before I could even process Lydia was back at my side wrapping her arms around my waist resting her head on my shoulder. "Thank you so much for being the best friend in the entire world. I'll love you forever you know." She squeezed me just a little tighter with every word. I wrapped my free arm around her pulling her into me.

"I'll love you forever too Lydia." Just for a minute I forgot that we have to go back and that we weren't normal kids anymore. Just for a second it was only me, Lydia and the trees.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.