Fiction logo

Marigold

A Summer's Love Story

By Kent BrindleyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
8
Marigold
Photo by Jacinto Diego on Unsplash

Her name was Rosemary Pike, the prettiest, kindest, gentlest girl in the entirety of the world...our sixth grade class. She was the woman who I loved before I even liked girls; and definitely before most of our classmates would have been interested in romance. She had been pretty since long before most of our other female classmates had blossomed. Furthermore, she had always been a kind, generous, and gentle soul from anyone whom had sought her attention since she had always been so pretty. I would let the other guys pursue the newly blossomed, and somewhat stuck-up, girls. My sights remained set on winning Rosemary's heart; not for conquest, but for keeps...

The final day of our sixth grade year finally hit and I couldn't take it anymore. I had long since approached my parents for words of wisdom on earning Rosemary's affections. It was time to put their advice to the first critical test...

11:00 hit on that final half-day of school before Summer vacation. The sun's heat crept in through a window of Mrs. Thorson's English Class. In that last half-hour of the last day of the school year, no one's mind would be on further learning. Even Mrs. Thorson had seemed to understand that and decreed her final English Class of the school year as "free-reading" time. However, I had other things on my mind besides the Young Adult classic novel in front of me as well...

I swiftly scribbled out a note and passed it down to Taylor, to pass to Dallas, to pass to Lizzie, to pass to its true recipient in the form of Rosemary.

Taylor accepted the note with a bit of disgust on her face. Then, she read the name for the recipient and unleashed an audible sigh of relief as she passed down the paper. The disruption had been enough for Mrs. Thorson to glance about the room for a moment. However, Dallas had been smart enough to conceal the note behind his book until the teacher returned to her half-asleep stupor. Dallas swiftly passed the note to Lizzie, who gazed back at the baseball star with hope in her eyes.

"Psst." Dallas answered, pointing to one seat passed Lizzie with one hand and jutting his head in the direction my desk. Lizzie finally mouthed her understanding and the note ended with Rosemary. The note's recipient saw her name and moved her hand just enough to open the note in front of her while keeping it concealed behind her book...

"Meet me in the old Marigold Field at the barn party tonight."

-Jacob-

Rosemary glanced across Lizzie, Dallas, and Taylor and the two of us locked eyes. It wasn't as though it was the first time we had seen each other; Rosemary was very open about her friendship with me and the two of had steady lunch dates at least once a week. However, this time, the glance that we shared felt different; like she shared my hope.

She abruptly faced front again to check on the teacher. Sure enough, with twenty minutes left in our 6th Grade year, Mrs. Thorson was passed out across her desk! We could forego the Barn Party and throw our farewell class shindig now and she might not be the wiser!

Luckily, Rosemary had something a little more discreet in mind for her first glimpse of class misbehavior. She slyly slid her pen out of her purse, wrote on our note, and returned it. I had not only passed my first written communication to Rosemary that had nothing to do with homework or comparing our weekends; I was getting written communication back. I unfolded the note as discreetly as my trembling hands would allow.

Sounds great! We'll make it sunset!

<3 Rosie.

"Rosie" was taking the initiative to set a time; and had thought it through enough to choose a time when the rest of our classmates would likely not miss two of their peers anymore!

There was little need to write what would come next. I glanced across the classroom and grinned knowingly. Rosemary nodded delicately and...was that a bashful smile on her face? Naw; I had to have imagined it. I was Jacob Miller and she was Rosemary Pike; what did she have to feel bashful about...?

By Thanos Pal on Unsplash

That night, the "Summer Harvest Party" celebrating the end of our school year was in full swing. Suddenly, the more popular students felt so relieved for Summer's arrival that they could come outside of their little cliques and visit with us "commoners." I would have enjoyed the attention from my peers; but it was nearing sunset and I no longer saw Rosemary around her group of popular friends. Finally, I managed to make my excuses and make my way around the barn whilst several couples were beginning to coax one another go into the structure and kick off a more private get-together. However, the person of my desires was not inside the barn...

By Madison Bersuch on Unsplash

I rounded the corner of the barn nearest the Marigold Field; the Marigold Field where my parents had scheduled their first rendezvous. I glanced off into the distance and there was Rosemary. She stood in the field, looking as lovely as ever, and actively searching for someone...

I took pause for only a moment at the sight of my female friend (and none-too-private crush) standing and waiting. She was waiting for me; and I was over the moon in my confidence in this endeavor.

I approached the field as nonchalantly as I could manage and picked a single, perfect, preselected Marigold for the perfect girl for me. I drew up to her and handed her the flower, along with my intentions...

"Rosemary Pike, we've known each other for a long time. I really feel that you're my best friend right now. We've trusted one another with our friendship; tonight, I feel ready to trust you with my heart..."

On that night, June 8, "Rosie" Pike became my first official girlfriend and lasting love. The following June 8, we shared our first slow dance under the stars following a private picnic in what was now our Marigold field. June 8 the year after THAT, we both finally said "I love you" to one another after a a pair of failed attempts on either of our parts. June 8 that following year, we shared our first kiss in that field. Following our graduation, June 8 became our wedding day in that field of Marigolds.

We two would always remember our Marigold field; and the single most-perfect Marigold that I had presented to the perfect girl for me as the icebreaker between the two of us...

By Marc A. Sporys on Unsplash

There's MORE from the Marigold Field...

Love
8

About the Creator

Kent Brindley

Smalltown guy from Southwest Michigan

Lifelong aspiring author here; complete with a few self-published works always looking for more.

https://www.instagram.com/kmoney_gv08/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.