Fiction logo

"Malreck - The Scarlet Castle"

A new world, a new journey

By JirasuPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
1

In this day and age, what we are promised, is too good to be true. The kinds of advertisements and promises that make you laugh. You know they’re lying; that everything they say it will have will be nothing more but an expected disappointment. But the promises… the potential. It’s always so tantalizing; plays with your mind, and makes your brain wander to all the possibilities. I’ve done it one too many times, if I must admit. And I’m doing it again with this, unfortunately.

“Malreck - The Scarlet Castle”; an augmented reality world, where you can do whatever your heart desires. Set within the high fantasy world of Malreck, we as the player are tasked with expunging the world of all dark corruption. The leaders of each of the four lands must be removed from their posts. Whether that’s through conversation, coercion, or force. And through our actions and decisions, choose the outcome for all the land. Whether that means alone, or alongside other players, how we complete this task is up to us.

On paper, it sounds exactly what it’s being advertised as: a fantasy. The team behind it is completely unknown and under the radar. They dropped one trailer a few months ago, and that’s been the only public relations they have done. And while it has garnered attention and hype around the release, most of us are very skeptical about how involved this project is. The developers in that trailer say it will: “allow us to bridge the gap between this reality and another”. Now, if you ask me, it sounds like a whole bunch of crap. There have been plenty of other companies with more accolades than this one, and they all flopped spectacularly. But regardless, I will give this one a try as well. No reason not to; lest I lose my mind once again by the lies and deceit of those who wish to create something beautiful, only to fail when it matters most.

The winter morning air was crisp and even with all the windows in my room closed, I couldn’t help that a chill was what woke me up so early. The sun was just about to rise, and the alarm I had set on my phone hadn’t even gone off. To say I wasn’t excited to strap on my virtual reality headset and excitedly wait for the game to go live, would be a lie. That was partially the reason why I slept rather poorly the night before. My mind was racing with what this game could be. Again, even trying to keep my expectations tempered and staying as grounded as I could, media out there that plays and tantalizes with this idea is what keeps my mind reeling.

The headset was still fairly new. Only being used a handful of times in the past for a few tech demos here and there that always showed some level of potential, but never becoming anything more than that: a dream. I had no other real use for it. Always felt like a waste of money, considering how expensive it was. But then again, it dawns its own presence in the room; a conversation starter at the very least. So, at least it was good for something after all. But today was going to rectify that… hopefully. I grabbed the helmet off its charging stand and brought it over to my bed. I looked at the clock: 5:58 am. Two more minutes. My hands began to tremble and shake. I could feel my heart begging to beat faster.

“Please, just be everything I want it to be”.

All I want is to be able to surpass myself in this world. An escape from this reality. And into another one. The melancholy, mundane, and two-dimensional life of mine has marred some level of personal scrutiny. I did what was told of me; I always do. Putting in my best effort in academics, trying to stay social, landing some form of a successful job. These were things always told of me that needed to be completed. And while I do agree with this sentiment, it always felt like it wasn’t my own volition that kept me moving forward. But rather, appeasing those around me, instead of my own dreams and desires being the driving force to push me into the next stage of my own life. I felt… empty. People around me talk that they found what keeps them going. I have yet to; and it taunts and teases me at every opportunity it can in my head.

My alarm goes off, bringing me back down to my room with my headset still in my hands. I take a deep breath, plug everything in and put it on. Laying down on the bed, I flip the two switches on the side. The headset boots up and present the entry screen into the game. Luckily, I was able to pre-download the game a couple nights before for this moment. No more waiting. It was time to enter and see what this world has to offer.

My vision was black; the silence of my room had dissipated. It was replaced with commotion; people chatting, walking, and just engaging with the world around them. The cool, stale air of my room became warm, invigorating, and inviting. I could feel the strong rays of the sun against my skin. It was bright and hot, but it felt incredible. The transition from reality to virtual world was a success. I felt like I had died. And yet somehow… I lived.

I opened my eyes to the world of Malreck. Architecture that opted for a style much older than what I’m used to. It’s something out of an old high school history text book. The color palette was all bright colors. Creamy whites, beige, tan, and some gray’s here and there for accent colors. In front of me directly was a large stone arch that led itself into the first city. Almost everyone was heading in that direction; I might as well too. On the other side of the arch, there were streets lined with vendors, all selling a variety of weapons, armor, tools, equipment, and food. Anyone who was talking to the vendors were getting into heated haggling discussions; trying to squeeze the price of whatever it was they were buying as low as possible. Everyone was so…lively. If I didn’t know this world was virtual, I would’ve mistaken it for some bustling city that got left behind the times of technology. All the vendors here were NPC’s; just Ai that the world had created for us players to interact with. However, not everyone talking to them was a player. Some were also Ai to help create a sense of life and scale here in the city. Walking down one of the streets, I’m constantly pressing myself through the sea of people just to make it to the other side. Everyone is exited, jovial, and fascinated by what’s around them. And I’m in that camp as well. Every new corner I turn I see something new and interesting; immediately going to check it out, like a kid in a candy shop.

Minutes pass. Or hours, I honestly lost track a while ago and haven’t bothered to check the time. I scoured the first city, taking to merchants, players, guides, and tutorials. I’m completely overwhelmed by how much I’m taking in. And yet, I can’t help myself. It’s intoxicating. This is what I wanted. This is all those promises, hopes, dreams, and wishes brought to life; it’s all right here in front of me. A world that truly lives up to expectations. No. Malreck blows them out of the water and then some. Walking out the back entrance to the city and onto a hillside, I find myself with tears in my eyes. These stones along the walkway; I can touch them and feel how coarse and rough they are. I can lay down on this tall grass and feel the wind blow through it and by association, me. Of course, all these experiences can be felt if I just did them back in reality. And while that is very much true, the effect is rather lost on me. Just going through the motions of everyday life; we are all just so wrapped up in our little worlds it’s difficult to take time to look up and see life for what it truly has to offer. Here, those feelings have all but subsided. People are jovial; talking, laughing, dancing. The world seems so peaceful for the looming darkness that hangs over us. And yet, that doesn’t stop anyone from going about their business. Everyone here has a purpose. I have yet to find mine. The mask is off; I can go anywhere. I can do anything. The only person stopping me, is myself. This will certainly be an adventure worth remembering. I will purge this world of all corruption. I will leave my mark on Malreck. I will ascend to that Scarlet Castle in the sky. I will become whole again.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Jirasu

Scripts about the things I find interesting. Most are for videos on my YouTube channel.

Check it out, if you're interested:

hhttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiqQGl1HGmVKGMYD8DRaHZQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.