Fiction logo

Malik Needs Help

An Undead Uprising Backstory

By Chloe LongstreetPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
20

“Whoa!”

Malik pulled gently on the reins of his horse, encouraging the animal to slow down. He hadn’t seen Trisha for almost a century and he needed time to put his thoughts together.

The last time he saw her, they argued.

“Why would you want to go there of all places?” he asked.

“The New World offers me a chance to have a new start. Ever since your side won the war, I haven’t felt like I belong here anymore.”

“Of course you belong here. You’re one of us. Besides, what about your life mission to protect the world from rogue vampires?”

“You control them now and you promised to keep everyone in check. Once I get settled, we can figure out a way to communicate if you need my help.”

“Trisha, promise me this isn’t because of Catherine and the kids.”

Trisha crossed her arms and glared at him.

“I will never approve of your decision to turn innocent children who will spend the rest of eternity trapped in bodies that don’t fit who they are inside. It’s hard enough reconciling the differences in an adult’s body. It’s wrong and you will realize what a horrible mistake you’ve made eventually.”

“You know that’s all I ever wanted,” he mumbled.

“I know.” She stepped towards him and awkwardly put her hand on his shoulder. “And I spent the better part of a century explaining why it was a bad idea. But it’s too late now. You left, you met Catherine, and you made your family.”

“You know I always wanted it to be you.”

Trisha yanked her hand back.

“That was never going to happen. And it’s not why I’m leaving. There’s a lot of opportunity in the New World and I want to be there right now. Not here.”

“Fine. Go then. But remember, you can’t go chasing rogue vampires without talking to me first. Those were the terms of the agreement.”

She sighed. “You just can’t let me go, can you, Malik?”

Maybe she was right. After all, here he was visiting her home. He wondered how she would react to his request for help. He wasn’t exactly full of cheerful news.

The road curved to the left and the forest surrounding Malik ended abruptly. He found himself at the edge of a small but beautiful farm. The small pond beside the house was still frozen even though the trees were starting to show early spring buds. The house glowed with the gentle light of lanterns flickering in the early evening breeze. Humans bustled to and fro, finalizing the preparations for his visit, most likely.

I hate to admit it, but she was right to come here all those years ago.

Malik turned down the drive towards the barn. He was just about to pass the entrance to the house when Trisha called out to him.

“Malik! Don’t bother. Smithy Jr. here takes care of the horses.”

He tried not to jump when the squat man materialized from the shadows next to him as Trisha waved him towards the front door.

“Come inside. Dinner is almost ready. It’s been far too long.”

Malik handed the reins of the horse to the man, grabbed his satchel, and went inside the warm home. To his right, just inside the entrance, a sturdy, plump, yet somehow enchanting woman waited to take his things. He handed over his coat and hat.

“And the satchel, sir?”

“No thank you. I prefer to keep it close.”

Trisha motioned down the hall to her left.

“Are you hungry? I have dinner waiting in the last room on the right.”

Malik nodded, knowing he wouldn’t have any interest in the sort of refreshments Trisha served. He wasn’t ready for that argument just yet, however, so he slowed to look at the portraits along the way.

First in line came Trisha’s father, Vlad the Impaler followed by her mother, Justina. Trisha looked fondly at the two portraits.

“He was a vicious rascal, but he was my father. The first vampire to become famous. He taught me everything I knew.”

“And he almost got you killed.”

“Like you never did.”

Malik ignored that and moved on to her portrait.

“This one is old. I’m surprised you haven’t had a new one commissioned. What if someone visits and questions your age?”

Trisha waved off his concerns.

“I just say it’s an ancestor who I take after.”

“Yeah,” he scoffed. “She’s like your ancient twin.”

Next came the three vampires who came before Malik in Trisha’s line. The ones he ensured were killed in The Great Vampire War. Trisha needed them too much and he needed her dependence. After that, there was a blank space where his portrait should be.

“I guess I’m the one who screwed it all up?”

“I leave the space. Maybe someday you’ll decide to come back to the right side. If you don’t succumb to bloodlust.”

The look she flashed his way made his gut twist a little.

“Are you still so angry after all this time? I’ve been off food for almost two centuries now, Trish. If I was going to succumb, I would have by now.”

“You almost did! And it got everyone I love killed!” She waved her arms up and down the hall of portraits.

Malik wondered for the first time if she would reject his plans.

She can’t. I already proved I’m stronger. She has to accept this.

As he continued down the hall, he passed several more portraits of vampires who came after him. They all were dedicated to her cause, and he had killed them all. He passed by them quickly, as each one held memories he didn’t want to face.

At the very end of the hall was a portrait he didn’t expect.

“Catherine.” He spoke the name softly, but Trisha obviously expected him to react.

“Despite everything, she was one of us. And you spoiled her. She still belongs here.”

Trisha never wanted to take Catherine in. She was too young and Trisha had strict rules about children. When Malik found Catherine begging for food scraps in an alley, covered in soot and grime, he couldn’t fight the urge to care for her. He waited to turn her, but she started begging him after she turned 16 and eventually he couldn’t say no anymore.

“How is your young wife, anyway?”

Malik kept his gaze on the painting. He ran his finger along the lines of her cheek, her neck, her shoulder. He forgot how innocent she looked back then.

“She’s only young and beautiful on the outside now.”

“Well, they say raising children for eternity will age a person.”

Malik turned to her wearily.

“Yes. And I now say they’re right.”

“Have you learned your lesson?”

“I did. She’s changed, Trish. That’s part of the reason why I’m here. I need your help. You aren’t going to like it.”

He turned on his charm, looking at Trisha with the look she never said no to. The look that made her knees wobble according to her.

“But no one can do it but you.”

Trisha sneered.

“That’s not going to work on me anymore.”

Malik tried to hide his shock.

Trisha sighed. “Let’s just get on with this.”

She waved towards the entrance to the dining room.

“I suppose you’re not going to eat anything I’m serving. Is there blood in the satchel?”

Malik nodded.

“Good. Don’t touch my servants. If you do, any deal we make here tonight is off.”

Trisha turned on her heel and marched towards the dining room. As she turned the corner, Malik stole one last glance at the portrait of Catherine, and then quickly followed.

---------------

Thanks for reading my story! If you enjoyed it, hearts and tips are always welcomed with great appreciation. I also have a Patreon where I offer exclusive content, early access to new stories that aren't submitted to contests, and more! Check it out here.

You can also follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get notifications when my work is released to the general public.

P.S. I also write about marketing for authors and small businesses on Medium.

- Trisha and Malik are characters in my upcoming novel, Undead Uprising. You can read more about their history here.

--You can also read some backstory of another character in the book here.

Short Story
20

About the Creator

Chloe Longstreet

Chloe uses Vocal to publish short stories that provide sneak peeks into the background of her books and characters. Follow along here and you will know more than the average reader about her books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.