Fiction logo

Making Camp

Thank you for reading!

By Ash TaylorPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Microfiction Magic Challenge
20
Making Camp
Photo by Denny Müller on Unsplash

It had been a homestead, once. Now only the skeleton of the house remains, choked by weeds. It's as good a place to sleep as any, I suppose – hard to find someplace safe these days. There's too much danger in the world now. Too many dogs around.

Tonight I am not alone. Her empty eye sockets stare reproachfully at me as I pull apart the children's table to make a fire. “What?” I ask. “I’m only trying to survive.”

I hear them in the distance, baying like the animals they have become.

She gives me no reply.

Short StorySci FiHorrorAdventure
20

About the Creator

Ash Taylor

Lover of fantasy and all things whimsical. Currently studying Writing and Publishing at UNE in Armidale, Australia. Living on Anaiwan land.

he/him

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 10 months ago

    Wow, this is chilling but very creative. congrats on runner-up

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Ash, this is a really impactful story! You really packed it full of tense, morbid imagery. I'm impressed with your ability to create such an eery and tension-filled scene in such a small word count! Beautiful work! Also, it looks like congratulations are in order! Well done on your placement on the challenge Ash!! 🎉

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Great work. Congratulations. ☺️💙👍

  • Grz Colm12 months ago

    I must have missed this announcement Ash! Great news. Congrats on your placement. ☺️🎉

  • B.A. Durham12 months ago

    I love the detail about pulling apart a child's table to make a fire. Great imagery here. Congrats to you!

  • Matthew Fromm12 months ago

    This was good and gave me a sense of worldly depth in such a short time. Quick question, was this "It's a good a place to sleep as any" supposed to be "It's as good a place to sleep as any"?

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    Congrats on your win! 🥂 I hearted this when you published it, but didn’t comment. So let me say now I love how mysterious this is. You used the constraints of microfiction impeccably. I can see this scene so vividly in my mind, and feel the desperation and despair… yet, I’m left with questions. As a reader I get to fill in the blanks, and that’s so enjoyable. 🩷

  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    Yikes! You have been busy, now I get your fb vocal post! I love the dystopian feel here in your micro-fiction piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.