Fiction logo

Maine getaway

What Happens In Maine Stays In Maine

By Roseanne F CassarPublished about a year ago 14 min read
Like

Maine Getaway

We drove up the snowy, winding road towards the cozy A-frame cabin. With such high anxiety and anticipation both my husband and I couldn’t wait for the fun to begin. Finally, reaching the driveway of our cabin. Wow…we couldn’t believe how big the cabin is in size. The advertisement picture of this place does no justice when you see it in person. I can’t wait to see the inside. Getting out of the car felt great, stretching my legs from a long drive now the challenging part, getting our luggage from the car and into the cabin. Yes, we brought a lot of things. At last, we made it to the front door. My husband has the key to unlock the door that is hiding the true beauty of what is inside. Yes, the magic key worked, the door opened, and our eyeballs popped out. Both of us yelled out. “Holy Cow! Look at this place. It was magnificent.”

We walked through every room with such awe. My husband found a Jacuzzi; looked at me with a big smile and already had dirty thoughts; I saw the horns poking through his scalp. I told my husband to stop thinking and get started with the unpacking.

The unpacking didn’t take that long; once I finished my share, I went to the kitchen area to look at the brochure, there were lots of things we couples could do. But we couldn’t do everything because we were staying in the cabin for the weekend, so I decided to pick what I thought would be great for us. As his new wife, I allowed him to take look at the brochure to give the ok on the things I thought would be fun. Well…he gave his approval on some of the things, but he had other things in mind; on how a newly married couple should be spending their time on.

It was already late in the afternoon, the day is practically gone; so, we instead inquired on where we should go to eat. I took the liberty of calling the main lodge to ask. I spoke to the receptionist and asked some questions. Oh, she’s very polite and helpful. She gave detailed information on this restaurant. The restaurant is called Creek River. Creek River was rated five stars with great reviews on all their dishes. The sad thing is the restaurant is forty minutes away from the cabin. I’m like, feeling we’ve been in the car forever, just travelling to get here.

Once off the phone with the receptionist, I quickly called the restaurant, keeping my fingers crossed for a reservation. A host answered. “Hello, thank you for calling Creek River. How can I help you?” I answered. “Hello. I would like reservations for a party of two please.” The host replied. “I need your name? Please.” I replied. “My name is Mrs. Karolyn Roberts.” The host replied. “Mrs. Roberts, you don’t need reservations. Your table is already reserved; the main lodge already made the arrangements ahead of time.” I replied. “Oh, I didn’t know. Thank you.” The host replied. “Oh, by the way Mrs. Roberts. Do you have a time preference?” I answered. “Is four O’ clock, ok? The host replied. “I’m sorry Mrs. Roberts but we are backed up on clean tables right now. This place has been hopping. Can you make it for five O’ clock instead? We should have a table for you ready by then.” I answered. “Ok. That is fine. We will be there by five. Thank you.” The host on the phone replied. “Sounds good. See you soon.”

The host turned around, smiled, and gave a thumbs up to the party of thirty people who were already there waiting for the newlyweds to come join them for a second reception dinner. These people are friends and family connected to the newlyweds who were unable to make it to their wedding. This is an attempt to make it up to them. Karolyn’s three best friends were completing the decorations. Setting the tables exactly right, using table name tags, putting take home favors on the table too. One of Scott’s friends decided to help by setting up the dessert table with the coffee, tea, cookies, and a pre-ordered wedding cake they all picked out in the last three days before today. This is going to be an unforgettable night for all of them. Another special day for the wedding couple but also for everyone else too because they will all be together this weekend with them before everyone has to part ways and go back to reality. Excitement bursting everywhere. Children couldn’t wait for the music to start playing. They’re already on the dance floor getting their boogie on.

The newlyweds arrived at the restaurant around twenty to five in the evening. Everyone saw them pull into the parking lot. Scott and Karolyn got out of the car eager and hungry. They walked through the doors of the restaurant and noticed that the lights are off. They looked at each other funny. They turned around and about to leave; until the lights went on and everybody shouted SURPRISE!

Both Scott and Karolyn were in shock. Their dinner reservation turned into another wedding reception dinner. This time they did not have to do any of the planning on this one. They were surprised.

Everybody had a blast. They danced all night. All three of Karolyn’s besties made a toast to congratulate the newlyweds. But the night couldn’t go on because everyone had to get up at six in the morning to get on the snowy slopes. The dinner party finally ended. The young happy couple went back to their spacious cabin, they popped opened a bottle of wine and had their own private party without any guests.

The next morning over some hot coffee. The newlyweds were ready to hit the slopes with their friends. Karolyn is always a nervous wreck. She rather sits in a warm lounge watching all the others ski. She is not a good skier. She does practice by using the bunny slopes with the kids, its less stressful and nerve wracking. But she does it to make everyone happy.

While everyone is enjoying themselves skiing. Something very loud happened over by one of the mountains not far from where they ski down from. It sounded like a bang or something. You can see snow falling from one of the mountain tops. Snow coming down super-fast. Word got out to the rest of the people who are skiing; that there was a small explosion from a nearby mountain causing a large avalanche. The avalanche buried four people. The staff at once sent out a rescue crew and search dogs to find them in the snow.

Five hours later, the dogs sniffed out the buried people. Karolyn stayed in the lounge area waiting on news with all the others because Scott and one of her best friends are missing. Everyone is praying for Scott and Evelyn to be found. Karolyn always knew something like this would happen, but did it have to be today. Karolyn drinking glass after glass of wine because of her nerves and the situation.

An hour and a half later, all four people were taken to the nearest hospital by helicopter for frost bite and hypothermia. Once Karolyn and friends heard the news; they all rushed to the hospital to see Scott and Evelyn.

After their arrival, they were all waiting to hear from the doctor. Five minutes later, the doctor for Scott arrived to talk with Karolyn. Karolyn started to hold her breath. Dr. Jones asked for Karolyn. “Mrs. Roberts?” Karolyn responded. “Yes, I’m Mrs. Roberts. What is going on with Scott. My husband.” Dr. Jones replied. “Right now, your husband is in stable condition. His heart rate is good. He will need to be in the hospital just to be watched for a week or so.” Karolyn replied. "Ok. Thank you, God. This is good news.” Dr. Jones started to walk away, and Karolyn started to breath more easily with hearing the good news on Scott.

Ten minutes later, another doctor comes by looking for Evelyn’s family. He introduced himself as Dr. Smith. Dr. Smith spoke to Evelyn’s husband Bill. “Mr. Milton, I have an update on your wife Evelyn. She is in a low case form of critical because your wife was in the snow and freezing air longer than the others. Being that said. Her heart rate is slightly erratically not in a normal range. But not to fear, she can turn around for the good in a matter of a week in a half to maybe two weeks. If there are any changes, I will contact you at once.” Bill replied. “Ok. Thank you, Doctor.”

The group waited for Dr. Smith to walk away. Bill tried hard to conceal his emotions about his wife. The group decided to make their way upstairs to visit both Scott and Evelyn. Bill went over to the receptionist to ask what room his wife is in. The receptionist answered. “Mrs. Milton is in room 304.” Bill asked another question. “Can it be possible to put my wife in the same room with Mr. Roberts?” The receptionist answered. “I will see what I can do sir. I will find out.” Bill replied. “Thank you.” The receptionist replied. “You’re welcome, sir.”

As for now, the group of friends will take turns to visit Scott and Evelyn because they were placed in two different rooms. As the day grew long, Karolyn is coping with Scott’s news better than her bestie. Bill is a complete mess. He is not able to think straight. He doesn’t know what to tell his children when he decides to call his mother.

Meanwhile, everyone decided to end this joyful ski event and go home. Karolyn walked through the doors of her cabin without Scott this time but knowing that in a weeks’ time he will be home soon. She realized she needs to contact the main lodge about the accident and how she can be reimbursed any money or get a discount for a longer stay. The same thing Bill needs to do.

Three days have passed, and Karolyn stayed in the cabin taking in all the beautiful views that Maine has to offer. Sitting out on the balcony with a cup of coffee, breathing in the cold, crisp air; waiting for the phone to ring. Unexpectedly, the phone rings. Karolyn dashes for the phone, almost knocking over the vase. She answered in a tizzy voice. “Heelloo.” “Yes, hello. Mrs. Roberts, it’s Dr. Jones. Your husbands doctor.” Karolyn croaked with glee. “Yes, Hi Dr. Jones. How is Scott doing?” Dr. Jones answered happily. “Scott is doing much…much better. There is still a little bit of frost bite on his hands, toes, feet and other parts of his body. He needs to stay in the hospital for another two or three days; give or take.” Karolyn’s response. “Oh! Wow! That is wonderful. I am so happy to hear such wonderful news.” Karolyn continued. “Dr. Jones, do you know anything on Evelyn?” Dr. Jones replied. “I’m sorry Mrs. Roberts, I don’t. You can ask her doctor. I think it’s Dr. Smith. Give the hospital a call. Is there anything that I can do for you?” Karolyn replied. “No, Dr. Jones. You have given me great news to start my day. Thank you. Bye.” Dr. Jones answered. “My pleasure. Bye now.

Later, that day, the phone rang again and this time it’s Bill. Karolyn answered. “Hello.” Bill replied. “Hello Karolyn. It’s Bill. Can you talk or did I catch you at an inconvenient time?” Karolyn replied. “Well…I’m about to walk out the door. I’m headed to the hospital to see Scott. How about you?” Bill answered. “Yes, I plan on doing the same thing, but I wanted to make this call to give you an update on Evelyn. The doctor told me that Evelyn has improved with her hypothermia, her heart is slowly regaining normalcy, but improved little with the frost bite. She will be in the hospital for another two weeks or so.” Karolyn Chimed. “Ok. Sounds like she is on the right track with recovery. I can’t wait to see her. Bill, hang up and meet me at the hospital. We will talk some more. Ok.” Bill’s answer. “Yes, ok. I will see you there.”

Forty minutes later, Karolyn arrives first. She quickly goes in to see Scott. He is up, alert and doesn’t stop talking. Karolyn stepped into the room; she saw the nurse who is helping him sit up in bed. Scott set eyes on her, and he just beamed with light. He gave her his winning smile like nothing at all has happened.

Karolyn smiled at her beloved husband. “Ha! I see you are up. How do you feel sweetheart?” Scott answered. “I feel good. I wish I could get on my feet and walk but my feet are not better yet to carry my weight. So, I would like to get out of bed if you can find a nurse to help with a wheelchair for now.” Karolyn replied. “Of course, my love.”

Five minutes later, the nurse comes with a wheelchair and helped Scott in it. Karolyn thanked the nurse and started to wheel Scott into the hallway. Karolyn started by saying. “Honey, did the doctor tell you; you will be in the hospital for another two or three days and then you can come home?” Scott answered. “Yes, he did. Karolyn let’s go see Evelyn. Do you know her room number? Bill was here a little while ago before you got here and asked us to stop by. Karolyn’s answer. “Yes, I do. Hold on honey.”

They went down the hall to see Evelyn. They found Bill in the room, sitting close to his wife holding her hand gently. As they entered the room; Bill saw them and gave a big smile. Bill responded. “Hello! Thank you for stopping by.” As Bill made his announcement, Evelyn opened her eyes and saw them. She gave them a big smile too. Karolyn couldn’t hold back the tears any longer. Tears were streaming down her cheeks. Karolyn asked. “How are you feeling?” Evelyn answered. “I feel just awful. I found out that I’m healing very slowly. The reason is, I have diabetes. But I get to look on the bright side of things because I also found out that I’m pregnant too.” Karolyn’s mouth dropped. “Holy Cow! Pregnant! What a blessing. Congratulations.” Evelyn added. “Karolyn and Scott. Bill and I wanted you both to know first before the others. We also want the both of you to be Godparents to our baby.” Both Scott and Karolyn looked at each other with excitement.” Both answered. “Yes, we would love to! Bill added. “There may be another party. But don’t worry, it won’t be on the ski lodge. We are having it right here in this room.” Everybody started to laugh. Trying to make a scary situation on a more joyous and lighter side to things. The Roberts had to say their goodbyes because they can see how tired Evelyn is getting and didn’t want to be in the way. Scott told Bill. “Come get us when everybody comes?” Bill responded. “Ok. I will. Later gators.” The Roberts laughed and spoke. “Later.”

Later came and went; they all had an enjoyable time seeing each other again. Celebrating the wonderful news on Evelyn and Bill’s baby news. Karolyn decided it’s time for her to go back to the cabin. The uneasiness feeling of this weekend getaway disaster is ending. Oh, Scott will finally come home, and her best friend will still be in the hospital. The final call came. Dr. Jones called and spoke to Karolyn. Dr. Jones said. “Scott is good to go home now.” Karolyn replied. “Oh! Yeah! Ok. I will be right there to sign the discharge papers. Thank you. Bye.” Karolyn hung up too quickly to hear the doctor say goodbye.

On her way to pick Scott up from the hospital. There sit in the road a moose. Karolyn said out loud. “What now! Moose, you must be kidding me right now.” She prayed hard for the animal to move. God must have heard her because within seconds, the animal moved out of the way. So, Karolyn continued her drive.

Karolyn arrived at the hospital, met up with Scott in the room, they waited patiently for the discharge papers and excitedly left the hospital. Once they arrived back at the cabin; they both realized they forgot to say goodbye to Bill and Evelyn. Once settled in, Karolyn started to feel guilty; then decided to make a quick phone call but to her surprise the answering machine picked up so she left a brief message and left her goodbyes there.

family
Like

About the Creator

Roseanne F Cassar

Hi,

My name is Roseanne. Outside of my natural born profession; I consider myself to be a Writer. I realized while attending the College of Staten Island, what my second passion in life is; "Writing." I absolutely love writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Excellent Maine getaway!!!💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.