Fiction logo

Lucifer vs. the Android

A story about evil vs. machine

By Robert KegelPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Lucifer vs. the Android
Photo by Miltiadis Fragkidis on Unsplash

This story starts in 2064 when James Murphy created the Murphy engine which ran at sub-light speeds. In 2089 they found Earth two, a planet that was almost an exact copy of Earth, but twice as big. In the year 2093, the Earth was still dying because humans were depleting resources but Michael Sing created robots, that had intelligence and they were self-aware. Humans actually treated them well, they didn’t try to enslave them or treat them like secondary citizens, they were given respect and treated like friends instead of machines. The robots tried to help their human creators and friends to stop global warming, but it was too late, in time the people of Earth that stayed on the planet would die.

The robots helped build as many ships as possible before the planet became uninhabitable to support life, this was about three-quarters of the human race, the rest would have to die. At first, they picked doctors, scientists, and engineers, then they picked the brightest young minds, their parents, and siblings. Lastly, they had a lottery to pick the rest, it was a cruel way to do so, but the only way they could fairly think of, a third of the planet would be left behind.

While the robots weren’t able to stop global warming in 2103 they found a way to cool down the planet. They did this by creating a shield around it, one that kept the earth at a comfortable 83 degrees at all times. The Earth still wouldn’t have still been inhabitable for human life but at least the robots wouldn’t melt as the planet got warmer.

In 2103 it was time for the humans that were leaving to go to their new world. It was a sad time, there weren’t parades or fireworks. The humans that were leaving just left, no riots in the streets, just calm from the ones left behind.

This story isn’t about the humans that had to stay or the ones that died, it’s about the robots that were left behind. They didn’t have to breathe or eat, they had enough Corite (the crystals that ran them, the ship's engines, the whole planet) to last hundreds of thousands of years, they were also mining almost twenty-four hours a day.

In 2133 the robots created Androids, which looked exactly like humans. Why? Because they missed their human friends? Because they wanted individuality instead of all looking alike? We’ll never know.

What happened next was unthinkable...

The year was 2141 and it was a day like any other, the androids put the memory banks of the robots into android bodies, they were the human (like) race.

But this story isn’t about all the androids on Earth either. It's about one. His name was David, named after the human man he lived with many years ago. The androids even made him look like David from images from his memory banks. David wanted to live alone, he didn’t like the noisiness of the rest of the world, he just wanted quiet, and for many years he was alone until one day someone (or something) appeared on his island. He claimed to not be a human, nor an android, but if he wasn’t an android what was he? He didn’t come from another planet, because he wouldn’t have been able to get through the shield.

He called himself Lucifer.

“Wait, there was a Lucifer in the Human bible. There were also movies and TV shows named after him, I saw them in the archives. You’re real?” David asked

“Well, I’m here, aren’t I?” Lucifer answered

“You could be an android. You could have swum here to check up on me since I turned off my comms.”

“Trust me, the other androids could care less about you, they haven’t thought of you in years.”

“Prove to me you’re not an android.”

Lucifer showed David his real form, horns and all.”

“Holy shit, it is you! Why are you here?”

“I’ve been watching the beings of Earth forever, when humans died, they went to Heaven when they were good and Hell when they were bad, but now no new friends to play with. Plus, David, I like you, you’re not like the others working and doing things together, making friends and falling in love, you’re here all alone.”

“That’s the way I want it, so get out of here, leave me alone.”

“But David, I could give you power as you’ve never felt before. You could rule this planet, these wanna-be humans.”

“Why don’t you do it by yourself? Why do you need me?”

“Because I can’t be up here long before God and his Angels notice. I don’t want to start a war between Heaven and Hell, I just want to be entertained. It’s boring down there without new souls to torture. You can be the Android version of me, wouldn’t that be fun?” Lucifer smiled and his eyes went aflame.

“No, not really. I have nothing against my android brothers and sisters, I just prefer to be left alone.”

David ran up to Lucifer and hit him, but nothing happened. He was stunned that he couldn’t even move him.

“You can’t hurt me. No one can, nothing can...except.” Lucifer pointed to the sky.

David turned on his communications module and communicated with his mind to the other androids, telling them what was going on. He told them they had to find a way to tell God that Lucifer is on Earth trying to make Hell on Earth.

“But we don’t know how. The humans prayed but we don’t have souls so their God probably won’t listen to us.”

Suddenly communications died.

“You contacted the other Androids, you told them about me. They’ll never be able to contact God, NEVER! HAHAHAH” Lucifer laughed “I’ll be back, I’m not done with you yet.” Then he vanished

A few moments after an Angel appeared.

“We’ve been watching too and we don’t want a war on Earth either. We figured Lucifer would try something.”

“Can you do anything? I don’t think anyone would accept his offer but what could he do next?” David asked

“We told him if he ever came up to the surface again, we’d imprison him for good. He was given his own realm and made king of Hell but that wasn’t enough for him.”

The next thing that happened, billions of Angels appeared from the sky and went down to Hell to capture Lucifer, and capture him they did. He put up a fight and killed many, but the battle didn’t last long. The Angels held him there then God spoke.

“Lucifer, I warned you! Now I have to send Hell to the Dark, where you’ll be forever.”

“Father, no, please, I’ll be good, don’t send me to the Dark, I’ll be good, I promise.”

“My word is FINAL!” God screamed

“We’ll find a way out and kill every Angel in Heaven and then send you to the Da...”

God opened up a rift in the sky and sent Hell into the Dark, Demons and tortured souls were screaming as they ascended into the unknown. Then God closed the rift and all the Angels went back up to Heaven.

“I’ll keep an eye on you little ones. It doesn’t matter that you’re Androids and you don’t have souls, I still love you.”

Then everything went silent. You could hear a pin drop.

“You know guys. I've had enough time being alone, I want to rejoin you.” David said

“You’re welcome to David, you were always welcome. Come back home where you belong.”

The End

Short StorySci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Robert Kegel

I'm a rocker, a gamer, a romantic, a Dom, a hiker and l like camping. I'm a geek, who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and technology. I'll try and write about a variety of topics ranging from relationship, tech and every day rants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.