Fiction logo

Love under the hibiscus tree

Wind and rain a few years, time steal change

By Hanla.qiaozhiPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Hibiscus growth is just right, branches and leaves in the clear sky staggered stack, I was walking on campus with a red hibiscus. Then a long shadow came over me. I looked at the boy in front of me in confusion, tall, bright eyes, malicious smile.

My heart beat a little faster. I have vaguely heard of the boy named Qi Chen from the next class. What was he stopping me for, I thought? Before I knew it, Qi Chen had stepped forward, grabbed the hibiscus from my hand, and then quickly pulled my collar open and dropped the hibiscus inside.

I let out a cry of fright. Qi Zhan has run to a group of boys watching in the distance, the group of boys out a burst of laughter.

I walked on the way home, the more I think, the more angry, is this cheap he? I bet he saw everything. I developed late, thin body, chest like two small walnuts. I was even mortified at the thought. When I learned that the man and himself were admitted to the Chinese department of Xiamen University at the same time, I could not help but show a "ferocious" smile.

Qi Chen was late for the freshmen meeting in the Chinese department. He had probably just played basketball, and his hair was still wet and glistening in the light. How handsome! Beside the roommate Yu xiao Fei lost voice scream, a pair of did not eat pork also did not see the pig run nympho expression.

I snorted inwardly.

After a month of careful observation, I finally found out Qi Chen's activity rules.

This evening, refreshed, I leaned on the balcony. At 5:30, Qi Zhan appeared on time, as usual, he was shooting basketball while walking forward. I have been planning for a long time raised the footbasin - one two three, pour!

Then, as I lay in bed, happily flicking through a magazine, I heard a boy's angry voice from downstairs.

Sophomore year is coming soon. That summer, I bought a scarlet gown, airy and airy, with a tuft of hibiscus embroidered on the chest. I wear this beautiful dress to study in the library every day. Once, I just sat opposite Qi Chen. We both looked embarrassed. When we met after the water incident, we glared at each other.

I buried myself in my book, and soon a very unpleasant smell came over me. I continued to read quietly, but quietly kicked Qi Chen's sneakers.

When the lights went out in the library, Qi Chen found that one of his shoes was missing. He jumped up and down and looked for it red-faced. I quickly packed my bag and walked proudly on the path back to my dorm. After a while, I heard someone calling my name behind me. I turned around and saw Qi Zhan jump over on one foot like a kangaroo. "Xiaoya, I want you to apologize to me!"

"With WHAT, CLEARLY IS YOU BULLY ME FIRST!" In the end is a lack of confidence, then I turned to run to the dormitory.

At this time Qi exhibition behind me said a word and hibiscus, splashing water, kicking shoes have nothing to do with the words: "Xiaoya, you wear this long skirt really very good-looking."

I panted back to the dormitory, staring at themselves in the mirror, the young face of 18 years old, clean eyes, began to "peach" forward "walnut". My face suddenly red, like red reflected heron island hibiscus.

In the autumn of my junior year, students from the Chinese Department went on an autumn outing. With a trace of fishy sea breeze blowing on my face, let me feel a kind of warm trance. When I bent down to pick up a piece of colorful snail shells, I found a pair of long black legs standing behind me.

"Let me show you a magic trick," said the long-legged owner with a narrow smile and a crooked mouth. He opened his empty hands, switched his fingers, and suddenly an orange appeared in the palm. I said "Yi" in surprise. Qi Chen proudly said: "I can turn an orange into two oh." I saw him mystify, two arms idiocy constantly crossed, at this time a whoop, an orange suddenly fell out of the sleeve. "Ha ha." I bent over with laughter, "You wear help oh." Qi Chen scratched his head sheepishly and smiled.

We sat on the rock and ate the two tangerines, very sour, my eyes and his eyes narrowed one after another. I suddenly realized that this guy wasn't so nasty after all.

Perhaps, the young heart is always reserved and fragile, although two people to each other's emotional belonging has been tacit, but always unable to go further, we are so distant, close, cling to, hoping, like two clusters of hibiscus and stems, swaying in the wind, occasionally touch slightly.

In the senior year, everyone is busy. I heard that Qi Zhan was interested in going to a newspaper office in Guangzhou. In early spring, a magazine in Guangzhou wanted to sign a contract with me. At this time, the department also began to urge me to decide whether to apply for postgraduate study. I think or find Qi exhibition to discuss it, so I zhuang bravery to Qi Chen's dormitory made a phone call. Pick up the phone is Qi Zhan, heard his voice, I immediately have thousands of words but do not know how to express the feeling. At this time roommate Yu Xiao Fei came back, I then hurriedly said: "we go to the dock at seven o 'clock in the evening to say again, OK?" "All right, all right." Qi Chen seemed happy to agree. I HURRIEDLY HUNG UP THE TELEPHONE, YU XIAO FEI IS CURIOUS AND SECRETIVE GROUND GAZE AT ME, I HURRIEDLY EXPLAIN WAY, YOU DON'T THINK IN A DISORDERLY WAY, WAIT FOR A WHILE I GO TO ELEPHANT YU WHARF TO SEE AN OLD CLASSMATE.

That night I had put on my scarlet dress and a subtle makeup.

It was an early summer night. It was hot in the day in this little seaside town, but it was cold at night, and my heart was colder still. I waited until eight o 'clock, but no one showed up. Looking at the dark and still sea, I burst into tears. From the first time I saw Qi Zhan, he was teasing me. Now, in my senior year, he still didn't treat me sincerely.

I returned to the dormitory in despair, but the whole person is a lot of calm. I suddenly see the relationship between me and Qi Chen, Qi Chen just see me as a spice in the ordinary life.

Many things are easy to deal with once thought through. I immediately went to the department to fill in the postgraduate qualification form. It was as if overnight he and I had become strangers again. Every time in the mood of parting in the campus encounter, he and I will coincidentally turn away from the face, put a cold expression.

Qi Zhan was the first to leave the school in the whole department, and everyone went to the railway station to see him off. I was in the antiquities room of the library when I heard the news. I was looking at the printed book, which was stained with the dust of the years, and suddenly felt sad. I rushed out of the library. Too late, I thought as I ran. At that moment, I found that I have been in love with Qi exhibition. I want to see him one last time, even if tomorrow is far away.

By the time I ran into the platform, the train was already starting. Standing behind the platform, leaning weakly against the wall, I saw Qi Chen standing where the cars met, waving to everyone. Across the eyes of many people, he looked at me coldly, disdainful and lonely.

Young time, as if hibiscus flowering period, only a summer, then suddenly passed away. I stayed in school after my master's degree, got married, had children, and bought a house on installments with my husband in a neighborhood full of hibiscus trees. I think I've settled down for life. Sometimes, I lean on the spacious balcony, watching the hibiscus flowers bloom and fall in front of the building, my heart will be wrapped around the clouds like the past gentle gratitude and remembrance.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.