Fiction logo

Love In Paradise

A romance

By Traci E. Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love In Paradise
Photo by Chloe Leis on Unsplash

The waves washed on the beach and ran lightly across the smooth white sand. A lone woman sat on the beach, the water trickling over her toes, the wind tossing her chestnut brown hair across her richly tanned back. She was alone on the beach. It was late at night and the moonlight danced as it glistened over the ripples in the water.

The man’s toes disturbed the sand only slightly as he walked across the beach toward the woman. The soft curls of his blond hair were blown back and forth by the wind. His muscular shoulders flexed as he stretched his hand down to pick up a beautiful white shell off the sand.

“It is beautiful isn’t it,” his voice was soft and soothing as he looked at the ocean.

She was startled at the sound of his voice. “I didn’t hear you come up.”

“I am sorry, I didn’t mean to frighten you. I thought you heard me approach.” He sounded very apologetic. “I’m Michael Thomas.”

“Nice to meet you, I’m Laura Roberts,” she replied.

With his soft, soothing voice he asked, “Do you mind if I sit down?” She shook her head no.

They sat on the sand watching the sea and talking, the wind in their hair, the water on their toes. They talked of many things, their likes and dislikes, their pasts, their hopes and dreams.

“I really must be going” she finally said after looking at her watch and seeing it was two o’clock in the morning.

“Shall I walk you home?” he asked. “Or, may I have? I am just not ready to leave you yet.”

“That would be very nice of you.” Her voice was like the wind in the pines. He saw that she had a glow about her face and a walk that was as perfect as a swan gliding on water.

They left the beach and went up a path surrounded by many green plants. They passed un-noticed spiderwebs with beautiful Xs on them. It was a beautiful location that added to the romance of the night.

“I hope I see you again,” he said as he dropped her off at her apartment.

“I hope so too,” she replied.

“How about tomorrow for dinner? I will pick you up at seven o’clock,” he said.

“Fine,” was her simple reply.

They went to dinner and many dinners afterward. They took walks on the white sand beaches, rented outriggers, took surfing lessons and went dancing until dawn.

When they walked on the beach the warm sand sifted between their toes, the bright Hawaiian sun shone down on them giving them a rich tan. The outrigger canoes challenged their strength, the surfing challenged their balance and dancing challenged their endurance.

They discovered many challenges but they discovered them together.

As they sat in the Japanese restaurant, Aya-Ho in Honolulu, eating their seaweed soup, fried shrimp, roast pork, raw fish and tea, Michael watched Laura intently. He reached across the table, his legs and bare feet crossed under him. Taking Laura’s hand in his he said, “Laura I love you and I want you to be my wife.”

She shrieked a “yes” as she threw her arms around him and they began to make wedding plans.

Their wedding was in a beautiful rain forest. As Laura walked down the aisle of grass, she looked at the green trees overhead, the flowers to the side, the birds singing in the trees and a spectacular waterfall running over the rocks of a cliff.

As she saw all this, she knew she and Michael would be happy living in Hawaii forever together.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Traci E.

Writing can be therapy, insanity or both. Here is my mind, my dreams, my fears, my thoughts, my life laid bare to share with you. Enjoy the journey into what is at once my blog, diary and world, and don't forget to tip your guide.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.