Fiction logo

Lost Sock

Odd Sock Pairs

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
27
Odd Sock Day is 13th November!!!

I am a lost sock seeking my sole mate. Swirling around in the wet tumble weed of denim and old clothes, waiting to be reunited with my other half. I am hopelessly stuck in a rotational conundrum...

What if my other half had fallen into the sides of the damp, dark drum? Trapped in the crevasses of the washing machine, where no-one dares to look? If only I had not lost sight of you in the whirlpool of fabric softeners and fragrances. Or could follow the thread trail that made us together before we were cut in two.

Once hung and dried, I am among well-worn odd socks. Until I find myself placed with a sock similar to myself, but not quite cut from the same cloth. I am a cotton, they a polyester, and yet...

We become an unlikely pairing. My navy blue and their faded black, with specs of an orange tinge. I am not as worn as they are. A few more washes I reckon and their fabric will wither and fray. Maybe I could fix them, give them a part of my blue. Create a hybrid of different materials and shades to make something fresh and almost completely new. I hope it would be worth it.

Sarah Chai on Pexels

Who knows... I could be alone once more in the broken basket after a one wash or two. I could pair with another. Another sock, one of which is a different colour. Something bold like red, so that I am not overshadowed by faded black. One sock that isn't stretched and wearing thin...

So I don't have to cut away, making little holes within myself, as they become sewn together.

Just to think a red with blue. Oh, I wonder what adventures would await us in between the washes. The shoes we greet, the floors we'll glide, the feet we keep warm together, hugging cold toes on a wet winter's day.

I, the navy blue cotton, will be the shyness of their carefree, knitted confidence. Together we would be ambiverts, complimenting one another in perfect odd sock unison...

If we are fortunate enough, we could make purple!

Kmws 246 on Pexels

Of course, it would be short-lived, because...

I am back in the basket with more holes than I can count toes. I am a just lost sock, doomed to be paired up with mismatched partners. I don't want to be paired with a faded black or a bold red...

Instead, I fancy myself a patterned partner...

To think we could find our own place in the wonky chest of drawers. Among neighbours of other odd sock pairs. Befriend them in the community of lost socks...

Oh... wait, of course. I jumped taller than a stocking.

They do not see a future with my navy blue. I am too normal, too plain, too dull and dark. They want their perfectly patterned partner, and I am not them. I cannot change myself to become what they want. And if I do, I would lose my blue, and they would become unhappy with faded shapes...

I must avoid the basket. Perhaps, find myself a lonely old boot decorated with dust to build a home from them if they come.

Or... maybe... just make peace with my loneliness? Accept that I am to be alone and learn to enjoy my own company?

Maybe...

Image taken from HomelySmart

Yet, as life would have it... as it often does. I found you, in a place where I least suspected, just as I stopped looking...

You were there...

Living the same idea, waiting as I had searched, building a home...

We are two socks spilt between one sole.

________________________________________________

If you are looking for a great love story, I highly recommend Outlander. It's bloody brilliant; ye ken?

Anyway...

Thank you for taking your time to read my work. It means a lot to me, and I really appreciate every like and comment.

If you like what I do, feel free to leave a tip, show some love and don't forget to subscribe!

And as always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed! :)

Short Story
27

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Ata Muhammad2 months ago

    https://vocal.media/humans/love-2-h3jn0wac Please have a look into it, i am new in this world of stories

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Saba lal 2 months ago

    Well explained and amazing ! Keep it up 👍

  • Your piece reminds us that sometimes our ideal mate is closer than we believe, as it masterfully conveys the need for connection and the promise of finding it in unexpected places.

  • Phil Flannery2 months ago

    Very interesting metaphor. It can be difficult to find a match, but we shouldn't have to settle for a bad match. Great story.

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    A very...soleful piece of work! You socked it to me without putting your foot in it! Okay, I'll stop... Wonderful work! ;)

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Loved this! I think you had me at sole mate in the first line!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    What a very creative story. You wrote personification here wonderfully.

  • Rosie, this is ever so delightful. I enjoyed the line "community of lost socks. Job well done!!! ❤️

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    A fun take on the challenge!

  • Nice concept, great words, and good pictures

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.