Fiction logo

Lost Ones

Rebirth

By IkePublished 2 years ago 10 min read
2

This world carries as many answers as there are questions. My curiosity has gotten me Lost.

-Ike

Though when I opened my eyes many years ago on that day, all I saw was You. Within a thicket of booming plant life surrounding us. ‘The Great Forest,’ I called it. A grand sight of trees tall enough that they may even touch the clouds one day. You came to me.

The trees… I remember feeling the weight of a thousand gazes laid upon me. Are there beasts lurking in the heights? They may have even snatched me from the ground if I were not a careful soul. Careful, but terribly young. No older than the age of toddlers, three.

But You were an even more eerie yet, awe striking sight. Crashing down like a meteor, there was a shockwave of air that threw me to the ground. The greater incarnation of fire and flame had arrived. Wings as black as soot with streaks of pulsating, bright-red veins, stretched so widely, each wing disappeared behind all the trees to my sides. Your body so massive that I almost felt a gravitational pull, a command to stand back to my feet, an urge to embrace the heat waves radiating from it. Your head loomed over me with more than ten times the size of myself. Wide horns, terrifying red eyes of a reptilian, and teeth so sharp, I may have lost an arm had I gotten close enough to touch them. But most of all? Your skin, dear beast. So rough and battered that instinctively… at the very least…

I wanted to give your colossal form a hug.

“Why am here?” The words poorly formed from my lips.

***

This forest has always been too beautiful to be remembered. Everyone that resides here has always been considered ‘Lost.’ But don’t confuse us with being forgotten- no, we are far from that. The fragments of memories that represent us have only been misplaced. Locked in a time suspended by this forest. But the echoes of our souls have always found a way to remind the Earth that we are still alive.

You may even call us, ‘Lost Ones.’

“Why am here?”

But you, child, I wonder what has brought you to this place. The thought surfaces as I stare down at the boy. And due to your poorly spoken question, you may have no idea as well.

I am a mighty beast that humans have always called, ‘Dragon.’ The flames that bellow within my chest could test the survival of the entire human race. But the wisdom I may bestow is enough to turn the current era of man anew.

So why are you here?

I lock eyes with the undersized being, though only a moment after, he‘s already broken his gaze to stare up the treetops. Not distracted by the silence, but as if he has take notice of something.

Does he sense the others?

The boy’s skin is dark, almost chocolate in complexion. His ragged, unkempt hair is long enough to touch his chin. But his pupils seem to draw everything in, like twin black holes swallowing everything the light touches.

A peculiar boy indeed. I think before furling my wings roughly against my back.

“If I were a lesser beast, a lesser being, your question may not hold any meaning, Boy. Only to be devoured as my next meal.” I threaten.

His attention courses to me as my words vibrate the earth under him. An expression of shock but more so, bewilderment plays on his face. Like he’s still waiting for an answer.

Your words are quite premature, but your patience is calling to be given reason despite my terrorizing stature. Very well then.

I lower my head as close to the boy’s body as I can. A few yards away in fact. Any closer and the heat from my body may boil off his fragile skin. Then I look into his face. If he’s truly different, the fire in my soul should be visible to him, flickering from behind the windows that are my eyes. And not even a minute later, there it is, in the reflection of his own eyes, the flames he sees sputtering and swirling in mine leave him in complete fascination.

So much so that he even tries reaching out for me. A troublesome child. He ignores the obvious rise in temperature as he gets just close enough to sear his fingertips but I reel my head back, glaring, ready to scold him for his naivety. I’m aware he knows not of dangers the world holds in store for him. But his stupidity does not reflect the subconscious understanding of energy he does carry. I tell myself in thought in order to curb my impatience for the lack of intelligence.

This small interaction causes me to unexpectedly laugh for a moment before throwing my head back and breaking into a full-on cackle. A roar that almost shakes the unknown beasts off of their trees. What an interesting child! And just as suddenly, the forest is flooded with hoots and hollers from all the ancient beings watching us. Until I’ve had my fun and moments later, slamming my tail against the ground, nearly instantaneously silencing the entire forest.

“Let us do our best not to scare the boy!” I roar toward the heavens. A smirk across my face as I observe his calm demeanor above it all.

Granting him my full attention I give him a soft, compassionate expression before answering his previous question.

“Boy, you are here because you are Lost. But I have found you which means you will not be Lost forever. While we wait for that moment, I will raise you as my own. Be grateful, you shall receive teachings from one of the wisest of spirits.”

The boy tilts his head to the side while barely acknowledging my decree. But he does seem to understand that there’s a lesson to be learned. That’ll be enough for now. I must exercise as much patience as he it seems.

“What is your name?” I ask inquisitively.

I’m only met with starry eyes and another tilt of his head.

Nameless boy…” I grumble. My voice echoing through the trees.

Just then, mystical runes of gold slowly materialize in the air above the child’s head. Otherworldly magic crying out as it catches his attention, causing him to attempt grabbing them, but failing as his height won’t allow it. The runes bounce to a height further than the last with every attempt as if it has its own stingy personality. When the runes are finalized the flame behind my eyes flash red, then ignite as a deep green.

“From this day on, your true name will be, Ike.”

Ike!” The boy repeats energetically.

The runes above him then break apart and rain down on him like golden snow.

You’ll be a true blessing to this world.

And you won’t be alone.

***

A year has gone by, he’s shown me how fish and boar are hunted. How to use twigs and sticks to write my name as well as other words. Even where to mark my territory.

“You will grow to be a fine warrior one day, Ike.”

After two years pass, he’s taught me how to read and write much more fluently. My speech has improved and I’ve learned how to draw some runes, but I don’t know what they are really.

“How come you’re always super hot touch, dad?”

“It is because my soul that resides within this body is immense and this form barely can contain it without some of the energy seeping out.”

When three years have gone by, I’m able to touch him without it damaging my body.

I’m growing more like you every day…

***

“Tarragon!” I shout at the top of my lungs.

In time, the dragon told me that that was his name.

It’s been six years since I’ve wound up here. My hair has grown long enough to be kept in a ponytail. I’ve gained over a foot in height. I’ve learned all sorts of words and history of the world. I’ve climbed the trees and met the beasts that inhabit the treetops. They’re quite gentle and silly, yet very quiet. I wouldn’t be able to describe them in a way humans can imagine. But above all, the most important thing I’ve learned is how to be more like him.

“TARRAGON!” I roar even louder than the fearsome dragon himself has ever let loose.

A winged-shadow casts over me moments later. Then I raise my head to see Tarragon’s silhouette soaring to the ground.

When he lands, I run up to him with arms wide open, wrapping them around his big toe upon contact.

“What is it, my child?” His question reverberates the air with excitement. Accompanied by a pair of kind eyes.

After observing my father for so long, I’ve found it to be a simple task to distinguish his emotions despite being of different species. He’s proud of my learning, and as the dragon’s kin, I hold great pride in my accomplishments.

Taking a few steps back to look him in the face properly, I prepare the big question.

“I’ve been wondering, when can I breathe fire?”

This remark does not strike him as a question within his expectations. In turn, he bursts out into laughter. In fact, the whole forest now is in an uproar of mockery and hilarity…

That is, until my heart sank to my stomach. Am I asking too much to be more like you?

After a minute, he stops the childishness.

“Enough!” Tarragon demands, leading the forest into silence once again.

“Ike,” he turns to me with painful eyes. “You’ve grown to be a mighty child of mine. Take pride in all that you can accomplish and leave the rest. We are not of the same species in the end, your boundaries as a human should force you to break your limitations and reach a new height. But breathing fire is not one of them.”

The most fearsome talent of a dragon, something I am unable to harness. Does this mean I cannot truly follow in his footsteps? I may tell the tales but never to live them? My growth feels completely stunted…

But this would be the first and last time my father ever lied to me.

I look to him with tears under my eyes. Eyes that mirror his, unbeknownst to me. Draconic, but green in color instead of the red like my father’s.

The whole forest knows it. They all see clearly that we are approaching that fateful moment. An energy of greater purpose that begins to roll off my shoulders, flowing around me like an aurora borealis catches everyone’s gaze.

Tarragon leans in close to me. Enough for me to smell the scorched plants and animals on his breath. Gently, his head presses mine, but enough to knock my body over without the weary back step I take. So I gather myself through the tears and place my hands on his nose while closing my eyes.

“My only son, your time has come, abruptly to breathe the air of the human world.”

“What?” I pull back to look at him, an exasperated expression across my face.

“Will you listen to me closely? Before you know it, the memories of us will fade.”

“No.” My voice cracks in disbelief as the tears start to trickle down even more.

“You will awaken just as you first arrived. But this forest will no longer exist-“

“Dad, please…!” I clench my fists. I want these tears to stop, the hurt to stop. I need this dream to never end. “I don’t want to go yet,” my voice shrinks with a whiny tone.

But the aura around me wraps around my body like a blanket. I cannot see it, but now I can feel something is taking me away.

“Wait… w-wait!” I hesitate, shaking my head before throwing it up to the treetops. In disbelief, all the beasts around us are sobbing without a sound.

“You must take these lessons as weapons and armor as you battle instinctively to create a new world. The spirit in you will be restlessly resisting old, outdated expectations the world places on you.”

I look back at him through a blurred vision. Wiping away snot and tears running down my face.

“Breathe in, Ike.”

And through the sobs, I do.

“Close your eyes. When you exhale, listen to what your instincts call for you.”

So I close my eyes. But the breath that slips past my lips feel like my imagination. Fuzzy, incoherent thoughts tumbling from my mind until the only thing I hear is a voice that whispers, “I love you.”

A wisp of embers left in my place.

***

“I’m sorry, repeat that one more time?” A reporter, a woman in an all grey suit whispers to someone speaking to her outside of the camera’s view. She broadcasts in front of a large mansion that I have no knowledge of.

Her face wrinkles in a peculiar way after hearing what they have to say, then she turns back to the camera with the microphone firmly in hand.

“News has just come in; the six kids from various countries around the world that had suddenly, and simultaneously went missing have just been discovered asleep in front of their homes!“

She grips the microphone with two hands as the camera zooms in, dramatically.

“For six years, these kids have been considered deceased in a presumed, terrible series of abductions. But now, they are all back. Safe and sound-“

A man stops her to whisper something else that causes a cluster of emotions to play on her face. And an awkward expression to give back to the viewers while gathering her thoughts.

At first, she has no words to share. As if logic had just been lobbed out the window at full force and she’s tasked with counting the glass shards. But she is experienced in her job and recovers soon enough to explain.

“They have been missing for six years until found today with… no signs of having aged a day since their disappearance. Along with this report, I’m told that the children have all been woken for statements.”

She pauses and watches the cameraman for a moment with a raised eyebrow after her remark. Then someone feeds her more information.

“Four of the six children have given the accompanying parents a single and synchronized response for their absence.”

She clears her throat before continuing on.

“Their only reason as to why they were gone; they each say that, “I was Lost.”

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Ike

Lost Ones. A strange place to find stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.