Fiction logo

Lost and Found

The story of the runaway button

By MPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
4
Lost and Found
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I always believed that my purpose in life was to bring joy and convenience to the people around me. As a misplaced item, I had an extraordinary ability to disappear from one spot and magically reappear in the most unexpected places. I thrived on the thrill of being discovered, of causing a momentary panic followed by a sigh of relief when I was found. But little did I know that my purpose would take an unexpected turn.

One sunny morning, amidst the bustle of a crowded train station, I found myself in the pocket of a weary traveler named Jack. Jack was a tall man, with unkempt hair and a perpetual frown etched upon his face. It seemed as if the weight of the world had settled upon his shoulders, stealing away any glimpse of joy from his life. And that's when I realized that it was my duty to bring a much-needed spark back into his world.

As Jack boarded the train, I slipped out of his pocket, ready to fulfill my role as the misplaced item. I made my way through the compartments, narrowly avoiding the feet of other passengers, and settled into the most peculiar place I've ever hidden - a little girl's pink backpack. It was a risky move, but I felt a whisper of excitement; this was precisely the adventure I had been longing for.

The backpack belonged to Emily, a cherubic little girl with bright blue eyes that sparkled with mischief. She gazed at her bag in surprise as she felt an unfamiliar object within it. Curiosity got the better of her, and she gingerly reached inside, her small hand closing around me. I could sense a faint tremor of excitement as she pulled me out, examining me with wonder.

"Mommy, look! I found a magic button that can make anyone smile!" Emily exclaimed, her voice filled with innocent delight.

Her mother, who had been engrossed in her book, lifted her head and smiled at the sight of me. "Oh, Emily, that's such a special little button. I think you should share it with someone who really needs a smile today," she suggested.

Emily's eyes widened, and she nodded enthusiastically. Clutching onto me tightly, she eagerly searched for the perfect candidate. Then, she saw Jack, sitting alone, his tired eyes fixated on the passing scenery. Determined, she tugged at her mother's sleeve, pointing towards him.

"Mommy, that man needs the magic button! He looks so sad!" Emily insisted, her voice brimming with compassion.

Her mother agreed, touched by her daughter's empathy. She gently approached Jack and explained the situation, offering him the button that could change his day. Jack looked bewildered, but as his eyes met Emily's pure and innocent gaze, something inside him stirred.

With a hint of skepticism, Jack pressed the button. Suddenly, his face transformed into a sea of laughter and gratitude. It was as if a torrent of happiness had been unleashed within him, washing away the weariness that had consumed him for so long.

From that day forward, Jack and Emily became the best of friends. They would spend hours together, exploring the world around them, with me serving as a constant reminder of the day their paths crossed. And as for me, I realized that sometimes the most mundane and misplaced objects could have the greatest impact on someone's life. I had found my true purpose - to spread joy and laughter, one misplaced item at a time.

Young AdultStream of ConsciousnessShort StoryLoveFantasyFableClassicalAdventure
4

About the Creator

M

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.