Fiction logo

LOST

By KSG

By Karen GrafPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
2

Prologue

A grown dragon finds a lost - or abandoned - toddler in the forest. Unsure of what to do with this child, he tries to keep it as comfortable as possible. It is too small to eat, and the dragon is far too curious to kill it. He makes sure to find a shelter in a nearby cave with a small barrier placed to prevent it from wandering when he’s not there, and a stream close by for water as well as fish for its food.

While it was sleeping, he searches many nights for others of its kind who are close enough for him to lead to the child. Finally, he spots what looks to be a hunting party…

Chapter One

Throughout the years, various stories were heard about how dragons came to be in our world, or who, if anyone, had control of them. Some say that they were born of magic, and Wizards or Sorcerors had control. Some say they had been in stasis somewhere and hatched when volcanoes erupted a few generations back and instinct controls them. There was also a theory that something called “scientists” used altered animal genetics in experiments with the goal of controlling them as weapons. Variations of these stories were as many as there were people to tell them, especially the people I knew.

The village I lived in was in a remote area of Cambria where news was rare and irregular. One of the most recent, and stranger bits of news in our town was about how people were just disappearing. No one seemed to be able to make sense of what or why this was happening, although opinions were as wide and varied as the ones that we had heard, and continued to hear about dragons.

One evening, several people arrived from one of the neighboring villages to barter. Included in their number was a smaller group who seemed vaguely different while trying to appear relaxed and congenial, as if they were a part of the main group of visitors. They had a wary and menacing air about them that was well hidden unless someone was looking for it, one of the men more so then the others. I became curious and decided to follow them.

As I followed them into one of the villages inns, they started asking around about someone I had known. Once told about his recent death, they regrouped and began talking quietly among themselves. I bought myself a drink and, trying not to look suspicious, attempted to get close to overhear their conversation. This accomplished nothing as talk became general the closer I got, and so quiet that I was unable to clearly hear anything that was being said.

Nursing my drink, debating about whether or not to continue, I noticed a few of them going upstairs to rooms that they had rented for the night while another part of the group headed back outside. Quickly finishing my drink, I casually strolled over to the outside door, intending to give them a slight head start before following them again. Once outside, I headed in the general direction they had gone, unable to see them. Moving cautiously, I began looking for them in between buildings and the narrow alleyways. Nothing. After awhile, feeling frustrated, I turned to go back to the inn where they were staying. Suddenly, the man I thought to be their leader stepped out in front of me while the others surrounded me.

“Why are you following us?” he demanded.

“Why are you asking around about Galen?” I countered.

“You started following us before we asked any questions about him. So, again, why are you following us?” he asked impatiently.

Knowing the truth was always easiest, I replied with a shrug, “There’s something different about you and your people, I was curious.”

I heard a snort which sounded like disbelief from one of the men, but ignored it.

“We mean no harm to anyone here. We were simply planning on paying a visit with an old comrade. I knew Gavin several years ago.” He stated, “We were about to look for his wife or any other of his family members to give them our condolences. We also need to speak with them on an important matter.”

“Losing him was a great loss for our village. There will never be anyone like him.” I stated sadly. Then, after thinking about it briefly, offered, “I might be able to make arrangements for you to meet with his family, but with all the recent unrest, I would be unwilling to take you to them or their home without their permission.”

“Understood.” he said abruptly.

“I can try to get them to meet with you tomorrow morning at the inn if that’s convenient.” I said politely. “Shall we say at 9 bells?”

Glancing at his men, he replied, “We don’t have a lot of time to finish our business here, so that will have to do.” He stated.

Annoyed, but determined not to show it, I gave a brief bow of my head, said “Blessings to you.” a common saying in our village, and left.

The next day I arrived with Galens wife and sons to meet the strangers. Introductions were made, and I learned that Lucien was the name of their spokes person. We were lead to a room in the inn where we could talk privately. At first, the strangers tried to stop me from being part of the group. Imagine their disgruntlement when Galens family insisted that I remain with them. They didn’t realize that I was part of the family, and for whatever reason, my family didn’t want them to know.

With four older brothers in my family, I was the youngest, and only girl. My brothers always teased me about being the “afterthought” of the family. My father and mother always called me there blessing, and a “gift” after having all boys first. Despite being a girl, I was trained by my father as my brothers had been before me. This included hunting, the use of various weapons, survival skills, and a few of the commonly used languages of the area. I was especially grateful to him for teaching me how to fight since my stature was on the small side and seemed to make me a target for other kids to tease and pick on while growing up.

Lucien started by explaining the circumstances that had lead up to meeting our father. That a small child, a toddler, had been found by a group of hunters. The child had appeared to be captured, or possibly protected by a dragon. After much debate and watching the child and dragon for a few days, the hunters came up with a plan to try and rescue the child.

The hunters were able to successfully rescue the child but not without a few of the hunters having some serious injuries. This delayed them from being able to find the childs family or anyone who might know about the child. During their inquiries, they came to our village. They asked that we continue looking for information about the child or family as well as shelter the child as they had been away from their families longer then originally intended and were eager to get home. They agreed to continue looking for the childs family as well and Galen agreed to be the contact person. Galen and the hunters continued to remain in contact for a few years, then, infrequent contact, until gradually no contact at all for several years. These strangers were wondering what had become of the child, now fully grown, as they might have some information about the childs family now.

During this time, I noticed that my mom appeared to be apprehensive, which then became grim and stoic, as if not wanting her emotions or thoughts to be exposed. After Lucien finished, she told them that she would look through my dad’s papers and let them know if she found anything. Another meeting was set up for the next day.

My moms expression continued to be grim as we returned home. Once home, she asked us all to remain as she had something important to discuss with us. We gathered in our family common room and waited for our mother to begin. After a few minutes she started out with “I’m not sure how to say this, so I will just say it out loud and continue from there. Your dad brought that child home with him. We had been unable to find another place in the village that was willing to take on the responsibility of this child, so your father and I decided to keep her.” She slowly turned to me and quietly said, “Our gift. That child was you, Ariana.”

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Karen Graf

I have always felt that I have the ability to write. Now that I’m retired, I hope to make that dream come true.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.