Fiction logo

Loneliest Teddy

Finding Home

By Shell HarrellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

I remember the good days. Of long hugs, snuggles, tea parties. Oh the tea parties. Even with everyone gathered, she always gave me the seat of honor. Oh. The good days.

Now I’m alone. The rest of us are gone. Slowly. One by one. Gone. I don’t know where they went. Only that I’m the only one left. And now I sit here. Day in and day out. Never apart of anything. But at least I still get to watch her. Right now she’s sitting at her tappy bright thing. Concentrating. It must be home woke. It always makes her get that face. I may be lonely but at least I’m still near her.

Everything is different now. All of her things are in boxes. She’s gone more. Not doing so much home woke. I wonder what’s happening. Oh. Here she comes. She’s picking me up. I’m so happy my heart is bursting. She gives me a hug. And then…What? Why am I going in the box. What’s happening? Is it my time to go away? Why? I did nothing but love her. My heart breaks as her face disappears and darkness swallows me. I’m alone.

Now I’m moving. I’m scared. The box is being moved. Where am I going? Why is she abandoning me?

Oh joyous day! She hasn’t abandoned me! Here she is. Holding me again. Hugging me. This is wonderful! I’m so happy again. Oh no, I guess snuggle time is over. This shelf is different but feels the same. BUT, I still get to see her. I still get to watch her. She does loads more of home woke now. And sometimes another girl sleeps in the bed with her. Her hair is pink. Sometimes she gives me hugs and it makes me so happy. But usually I’m left here in my spot. Watching my girl. I’m lonely but happy.

She’s boxing things up again. We’re going to live with the pink haired girl. They have matching rings now. They’re pretty. My girl laughs and smiles so much more now. I’m so happy she’s happy. I’m excited instead of scared when she lifts me and places me in a box. I snuggle down into the sweater below me as the darkness falls. I am lonely but still happy.

I’m on a new shelf. My girl is getting big. The pink haired one is also my girl. But her hair is blue now. She loves rubbing my girl’s new belly. When it moves they both get really excited.

Oh. Here comes now blue haired girl. She’s whispering too me that I’ll be a surprise. I wonder what she means.

I find out soon. I’m taken to a ‘Doll Hospital’. I get pampered. My fur is clean. I have new stuffing. And a new rainbow bow on my head. I’m so happy. Here comes the now blue haired girl. She says I look wonderful. I can’t help but agree. Then she puts me in a bag. It crinkles when she swings it. It’s weird. But I’m excited. I wonder where I’m going.

Then the movement stops. I hear my girls voice. And another noise. It sounds pretty. Then I’m being pulled out of the bag. There’s my girl! She’s beautiful. She’s exclaiming over how adorable I am. Then I see the now blue haired girl. She’s holding a bundle. She comes closer with the bundle and my girl holds me up to see. It’s a baby! My girl’s baby! It’s beautiful! I love it so so much!

I look around. There’s my girl. My now blue haired girl. And my baby. It’s my family!! Mu heart is bursting with joy! And I realize as I’m hugged my them, that I wasn’t the loneliest teddy at all.

family

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SHWritten by Shell Harrell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.