Fiction logo

Lone Wolf

A Wolf in the Winter

By Jack SnapPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The lone wolf,

The thunder dog,

The bite of the cold wind,

The guardian of death,

The pierce of the end.

Fenris

Why have have you left me in the dark?

In the cold, I have gained the desire to live.

In my wanderings, I have gained a path,

In my wake, I leave no prints.

In my sleep, I have no dreams.

In this forest is my meal.

I hear the cries of small animals begging me for the attention that I offer. I pay them no mind. I have my sights set on the bigger prey, the prey that fears me, the prey that does not wish to see me at all. I cannot resist her cries of fear and loneliness, she wails in the night, for she is lost and the perfect meal for me. I stalk her in the night, I approach her from behind, I smell her fear and sadness and my jaw salivate at the thought of a meal. Her ratty blanket wrapped around her that provided no resistance. I feel the warmth of her skin as I rub against her and I know that she is mine. But she does an odd thing that no other has done in their fear. Many have tried to strike me and defend themselves. This small child reached out to simply feel my fur, to feel my warmth. instead of biting the hand, I instead move closer and allow her to get warm in my fur, for a certain kindness washes over me as this slight child who was afraid felt no more fear by simply feeling warm close to death. As I curled around her small stature she clung to my neck and it almost seemed to that her tears were no longer sad. There in the forest, in the night, in the moonlight we slept and the warmth circulated between us. The morning came and the light of the sun could barely be seen through the clouds over head. I perked my ears up listening in the quiet light. The wind spoke to me that there were more strangers in the woods. The scent was that of a group of men. crying out frantically in the woods. I looked down at the child I had saved and I howled and in my howling I garnered the attention of the men. The voices came quickly in my direction. I rose to leave and standing in the light I backed away from the child and saw that she lay in a bed of green grass surrounded by my paw prints in the white snow. Perhaps it was for the best that I leave, but some instinct compelled me to stay and watch to make sure that the child was well care for. I hid behind a tree and waited. The men came not too long after. There they saw the child and were in awe. For the child lay lifeless and did not move. Perhaps it was just her time. The man that had check to see if she was alive gave a mournful wail and tears of anger streaked his face. He then saw the prints in the snow but ignore the ring of green grass around him. He ordered the others to spread out and search the area. I tried my best to leave the area quickly and quietly, but a twig snapped underneath my back paw and made an uncharacteristically loud snap. I knew that I was about to be found, I knew that I was about to die I ran at the man who was still clutching the girl in the grass. I lunged at him and pinned him to the ground with one paw. It was in his moment of fear that he felt the warmth of the grass under him and compared it to the heat of the giant wolf above him. I snarled at him and look once again at the girl that I had saved. I kissed her and felt that she still had life in her. Her breath was shallow but there. I tried to make her feel warm again, I had to do so while pinning the man down and feel surrounded by his cohorts. She cough a beautiful cough. I then I saw the man’s eyes light up at the sound. I backed away before running away breaking trees and limbs and bushes to outrun any pursuers that there may have been.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.