Fiction logo

London

a short story

By The Expedition NarrativePublished about a year ago 7 min read
2

“May I sit here?”

A man sitting next to the window looked up from his book.

“Go right ahead.”

“My name is Everett by the way, thanks for the seat,” he says loading his suitcase in the overhead compartment.

“Nice to meet you Everett, you heading to London as well?”

“Yea, my boss is sending me to take care of some work. I go every month. What about you?”

“London for me as well. I have to meet with a client.”

“What kind of work do you do?”

“Well, I run my own architecture firm….” Everett’s phone rang.

“Sorry, let me answer this. Hey Don, what can I do for you?”

The man by the window started reading his book again.

“Yes sir, I was going to take care of that before I left, but then Dennis….But, Don I had to get the reporting…You’re right. I should manage my time better. Yep, I’ll let you know when I land.” Everett hung up the phone and looked back at the architect.

“Sorry, about that. My boss is always calling me. That’s incredible though. You own an architecture firm. What is that like? It sounds overwhelming?

The architect laughed. “At times it can be stressful, but never overwhelming. I love it, and I wouldn’t dream of doing anything else.”

Just then a commotion at the front of the plane caught their attention. The last man to board came onto the plane dressed in eccentric clothing and carrying a large easel.

“Sir, you can’t carry that on the plane. It’s too big.” said a flight attendant

The man walked past her.

“I’m an artist. I need it.”

The man then stopped at Everett’s row while the flight attendant was chasing him down.

“May I sit here gentlemen?” Both the men looked at each other and then nodded.

“Thank you, if I don’t get this picked up quickly she’s going to lose it.” The artist said looking back at the angry flight attendant. He pulled his backpack off and began folding the easel into it.

“See Miss, it folds. Nothing to worry about.”

The unamused flight attendant rolled her eyes and returned to the front of the plane.

“Everything ok,” Everett asked as the artist sat.

“Couldn’t be better, I had a moment of inspiration at the terminal. A beautiful woman walked by and I had to draw her, but you know all these authority types they didn’t appreciate it, and said they would leave me if I didn’t get on the plane.”

Before Everett could respond, the flight attendant started the pre-flight safety speech. The architect went back to reading his book, and the artist pulled out his sketchpad to finish his drawing. The plane was about to take off when Everett’s phone started vibrating. He looked down at the caller ID, it was his boss. He went to answer but decided to send him a text instead before putting his phone in airplane mode. He then reached into his bag and pulled out Man’s Search for Meaning.

___________________

About an hour into the flight, the architect was sleeping, and the artist was still working on his sketch.”

“What do you think,” the artist asked Everett.

“Wow, that’s amazing.”

“You think so? It’s a little bumpy here. I’ll have to draw it again later”

“Do you draw random women often?”

“If they are beautiful enough. I have a collection. I think when I get to one hundred I might make one of those coffee table books.”

Everett laughed “I can’t imagine you have a wife then.”

“Well my good sir, that is where you are mistaken.” The artist pulls out a photo of a beautiful woman holding a child.

“These are my two girls.”

“And she doesn’t have a problem with the drawings.”

“She may fuss from time to time, but she knows she cannot contain me. It’s bad for my art. See an artist must be free to explore. I’m like a cat. I go away for a while, but I always come back. ”

“And she’s ok with this?”

“Certainly. What about you Everett, do you have a beautiful wife.”

Everett reached down for his phone and then showed the artist the picture on the lock screen.”

“Very beautiful. I take it she doesn’t let you enjoy the beauty of other women.”

“Not like yours.”

“Well, that’s a shame. Does she fulfill you sexually ”

“Of course” Everett choked out an answer through embarrassment.

“How many times a week?”

“I’m sorry, but I’m not going to share that”

“Have it your way.”

The artist put his drawing away and began watching a movie. Everett went back to his book.

___________

The architect woke up from his nap and stretched out his arms.

“Sorry,” The architect said nearly hitting Everett in the face.

“Had a good nap?”

The architect yawned.

“It was great. What have you been reading?” he said pointing to Everett’s book.

Everett flashed the cover toward him.

“Any good?”

“It’s okay.”

“What’s it about.”

“Well, I guess you can say it’s about finding meaning and purpose during times of suffering.”

“That’s interesting, why are you reading it? Is everything ok with you?”

“Yes, everything is fine.”

“Oh, so you are reading it for fun.”

“Well kinda, I mean, I don’t have anything traumatic happening in my life. I’m not in a concentration camp like this guy,” Everett said lifting up the book to reference it. “It helps me find meaning in the suffering of daily life.”

“I don’t understand. What suffering are you having if everything is fine?”

“The normal stuff you know, times when work gets overwhelming or when life at home gets to be too much. I’m sure you get these feelings running a company. You must be a very busy man.”

The architect nodded pondering Everett’s words.

“I’m usually busy but I’ve never considered it suffering.”

“Well, maybe it’s not suffering, but wouldn’t you rather be on vacation?”

“I take vacations when I need to sure, but I love what I do. I’m often itching to get back to work.”

“Right, that makes sense. I guess my situation is a little different.” Everett pulled out his phone to check the time. “Wow two hours in already, I should try to get some work done.”

“Ah me too”

The architect and Everett both opened their laptop.

___________

A flight attendant came down the aisle pushing a cart of drinks.

“Hello, we have Coke, Sprite, and water. What would you like?”

“Can you do a rum and coke,” said the architect.

“Water for me.”

The artist began digging in his bag on the ground.

“Just one second, please. Ah there it is,” he said pulling out a kombucha. “I’ll just drink this, thanks”

The artists then turned to Everett.

“You know the best water I ever had was in Paris. Weirdly enough it was at a small bakery, or as they say a boulangerie”

“Hold on one second, let me finish this email,” Everett said holding up a finger.

“Do as you must,” the artist said backing away from Everett.

“Sorry, my boss sent me a bunch of emails asking all kinds of questions. So you said the water in Paris is great? I’ve never been.”

“You haven’t! I talk about the water, but that is only the beginning. The city is breathtaking. I can’t get enough of it.”

“Do you go often?”

“Well, at least once a year. They have a famous art festival, and I usually sell a few of my pieces there. You need to go. Your wife may not like it because the women of Paris are a different breed. Wondrous, beauties they are.”

Everett nodded “I would love to. It’s hard to find time away from the office. I’m always traveling to London for work, but never Paris.”

“This is silly, all meaningless unless you see the beauty of the world,” the artist said gesturing toward Everett’s computer.

“Perhaps,” Everett said closing his laptop. He put in some earphones and began watching a movie.

______________

The architect had to go use the restroom, and Everett decided he should go as well. When they got to it they found it occupied.

“Well, damn hopefully they hurry up in there,” the architect said

“Agreed”

“Hey, have you ever been to Paris,” Everett asked after a moment of silence.

“Definitely, that place is beautiful. I think it’s a requirement for architects. Have you?”

“Never, but I’ve always wanted to.”

“What’s holding you back?”

“I don’t know.”

They both heard the toilet flush and the door swung open.

“Well it’s about time,” said the architect.

______________

The flight attendant rang from the speakers.

“We will be landing soon. Please keep your seatbelt on, and pick up all large electronic devices. Stow your bags in the compartment overhead if they are not already there. Most of you will be getting off in London, but those continuing with us to Paris please stay on the plane and let us refuel before departure. We will be handing out separate customs forms at that time.”

“I’m ready to get out and stretch my feet,” the architect said

“Couldn’t agree with you more,” the artist said from over Everett’s shoulder

_______________

The plane landed. The artist got up and grabbed the bags out of the overhead compartment. He threw on his backpack and handed the other two suitcases to the architect and me.

“Well gentlemen, it was nice meeting you,” the artists said heading off into the crowded aisle. Everett then turned to the architect.

“I’m going to let you out first.”

“I thought you were going to London as well.

“I am. I dropped something during the flight. I wanted to stay back and look for it after everyone cleared out. ”

“Do you need any help?”

“No, it’s fine really.”

“Well, it was nice meeting you, have a good trip.”

The architect left, and Everett sat back down this time sitting next to the window.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

The Expedition Narrative

---My life, an expedition, shared with you ----

https://www.the-exploration-narrative.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.