Fiction logo

Loads of Love

a fictional romance story set in a laundromat, written by zoe frenchman

By zoe frenchmanPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2
Loads of Love
Photo by Bianca Jordan on Unsplash

One trip to the laundromat ultimately changed the trajectory of Nate’s life as he knew it. On a stormy November morning, Nate and his friends, Seth and Ben, went to the laundromat for a smoke session. They’d been to this laundromat to smoke regularly, so whenever they went, it was always at the same time–when they knew nobody would be there. After quietly entering the laundromat, they huddle in a corner and spark up a joint. They passed it around, laughing and murmuring when suddenly they heard a noise. They all look through the window to see a young woman approaching. Seth and Ben start to panic and run out of the laundromat, leaving Nate there alone with the weed. He was sweating and shaking as the young woman entered the laundromat. Her skin was spotless and smooth, she had long, dark hair and long eyelashes, and she was wearing sweatpants and an oversized hoodie.

She saw Nate and walked over to him with a confident disposition. “Hey…whatcha got there?”

“Um, it’s nothing, don’t worry about it,” Nate said nervously

“Hey, I’m a stoner too. I know that smell.”

Nate's expression quickly shifted from fear to relief.

“I’m Hannah. What’s your name?”

“I’m Nate.”

“How old are you, Nate?”

“I’m 21, you?”

“Me too. Are you going to give me a hit or what?”

“Oh, yeah, sorry,” Nate replied as he handed Hannah the joint.

Hannah took a hit of the joint. “Yeah, that’s good,” she said as she chuckled. “So tell me, are you really here to do laundry, or did you and your buddies just come here to do this, and when they saw another person approaching, they panicked and left you here alone?”

“Yeah, that’s pretty much what happened.”

“They seem like great friends,” Hannah said sarcastically.

The rain became heavier outside, with loud thunder and frequent lightning.

“I guess we should probably stay in here until it clears up a little. Do you agree?” Nate said hesitantly.

“Of course.”

There was a moment of awkward silence as they sat on the floor and looked around the laundromat.

“So, Nate, I’m trying this new thing where I’m trying to meet new people. I may seem outwardly confident, but I really struggle to make real connections. People are just so selfish and fake, you know?”

Nate sat there for a few seconds, processing. He didn’t know much about this girl so he was still guarded, but he knew that if he didn’t explore this opportunity, he would be left wondering “what could’ve been”.

“I know what you mean, Hannah. I’ve struggled with some similar challenges. I’ve had my trust betrayed more times than I can count, and it’s difficult for me to let people in,” Nate explained. His legs begin to slightly shake.

“I know exactly how that feels,” she says as she places her hand on his knee to control the shaking. “You know why I came here this morning? Hint: it wasn’t to do laundry either.”

Nate looked at her with a perplexed expression. “Why did you come here today?”

Hannah smiled and sighed. “Because I needed to get out there and explore more. I’ve been a hermit for way too long, and I thought that driving around and making stops everywhere in town would make me appreciate what I have more. Honestly, it just reminded me how boring this town is. But, little did I know when I walked in here that I’d meet a really cute guy and have a meaningful conversation with him, after smoking weed, might I add. I’m impressed with us,” Hannah laughed.

Nate chuckled. “I appreciate your honesty.” His expression shifts from a scrunched forehead and forced half-smile to relaxed muscles and a genuine grin. “And by the way, I think you’re beautiful.”

Hannah smiled. “Aw, you’re really sweet.” She turns to look through the window to see that the rain has cleared up. “Well, it looks like we can get out of here now. Here, let me see your phone.”

Nate took his phone out of his pocket.

Hannah added herself as a contact on his phone. “I have to go home now, but you have my number and I don’t have yours, so call me or text me. I’ll see you soon.”

“Okay, but you have to respond when I do,” Nate replied.

“I promise I will,” Hannah said walking to her car. She looked back at Nate and smiled before driving away.

Nate sighs in relief and smiles. He then walks home, where he calls Seth and Ben.

“You know, I should be mad at you two for ditching me, but actually, I’m calling to thank you for that.”

Young AdultShort StoryLoveHumor
2

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.