Fiction logo

Live Before You Die.

life is very unpredictable, and we all live with a mystery.

By IshaWritesPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
Like

Tried with daily commuter life, I woke up at 7:00 am for a fresh new day, but the real woman in me was not ready. I peeled myself off the bed while tying my messy hair and put my foot on the floor.

"Let's refresh yourself, Supriya," I told myself.

It's 8:00 am, and I am about to leave for my office. But I can always remember looking at the painting on the wall.

"I can't believe I have made them."

Ah, Let's leave

There are some days when I like my job and others when I hate it like hell. I think I was experiencing the second one. I took a cab and left for the metro. I Sat on my pre-booked seat where no one dared to sit.

"Let's make a schedule."

While taking notes and preparing my To-do list, I noticed my friends giggling and laughing.

I have a group of friends, and we all are senior engineers at a wellness company.

"What happened to them? Why are they not talking to me?" I told myself.

Anjum and Reena were conversing, suddenly, Anjum asked, "Why didn't Supriya come today? What happened to her? "

I was shocked more than surprised. Why were my friends not able to see me? I asked myself.

I looked at myself with shock and started asking in a loud voice

"Hey, girls, I am here."

I waved my hand and went near them, but nobody bothered.

Suddenly Anjum's phone rang; she put it on speaker.

"Hey, Disha, how are you?" Anjum asked.

"Anjum, did you know Supriya had met with an accident yesterday, and she is in a coma," Disha told everyone.

"What? "Anjum was stunned to hear this news.

All my friends were shocked and worried and started crying for me.

It was a shocker, too, for me. I started crying louder and louder, but nobody could hear me.

"How couldn't I remember anything about my accident? How is this possible?" I said.

"Girls, let's go to the hospital to meet Supriya," Anjum said cryingly.

I decided to follow them too.

We all reached Borivali station and picked a cab. We all adjusted ourselves in the cab. As we take a cab daily from here, the cab driver, Suresh uncle, also knows us.

He asked, "Where is Supriya madam today?"

"She had met with an accident yesterday," Reema, Anjum, and Nisha answer together.

"Oh, is she fine?" Suresh uncle asked my friends.

"We don't have any idea, uncle; please take us to Ramachandra Hospital fast" Anjum said.

I listened to their conversation and took 50 Rs from my purse to give my share of the taxi fare to Anjum.

"Anjum take this," I said.

But at this moment, I realized they could not see me.

Later, we arrived at Ramachandra Hospital.

My friend rushed inside the hospital and asked about me in the reception.

"Hey, Is there any patient named Supriya Dave?" Anjum asked the receptionist

"Let me check," she replied.

"Yes, she had met with an accident yesterday at 7:00 in the evening near M square mall," she informed Anjum.

"Where is she now?" Anjum asked her.

"She is in the I.C.U room no. 21." she replies.

I heard their conversation, and I ran towards the I.C.U ward. I was shocked to see myself on a ventilator where a nurse was taking care of me.

My friend reached there, and they were shocked too.

I was crying like hell, thinking I was dead and nobody could save me.

"God, please help me" I shouted loudly and asked for help, but my soul knew nobody could hear me.

"Now I can't become the painter I always wanted to be in my 40s. Now I can't take my parents on a world tour or buy a house for them. All my savings are unused," which I decided to use after I turned 35. My mind was continuously running with these thoughts. I was helpless and disappointed with myself.

I wish to get a life again to live like a painter, which I enjoy the most.

I was crying loudly, and a ray of yellow light suddenly hit the floor. I covered my eyes because the light was extremely bright.

When I opened my eyes, a woman in a white fairy dress stood before me.

"Who are you?" I scream with fear.

"I have come to take you, Supi," she replied smilingly.

"First, tell me who you are and how you know my nickname," I asked her curiously.

"That is none of your business, Supriya, and please get ready. You have to come with me." She replied.

"No, please let me live; I mean, I want to live more; please don't take me with you," I begged her.

"You have lived for 27 years, and I guess that's not a short time," she replied.

"What?" I replied with anger

"Only 27 years, that's not enough for me; I have done nothing for myself in those years," I argued.

She smiled upon hearing this.

"What's funny, why are you smiling?" I asked her with anger.

"Nothing, you are just like others I take with me daily," she replied, smiling.

"What? Do you take human beings with you daily?" I asked her with shock.

"Yes, that's my job." She replied with calm.

"What a weird profession," I tell myself.

"But please don't take me, I am begging you," I said cryingly.

"Supriya, you are human and must die someday; why not now?" Fairy said.

"But I want to live more to fulfill my dreams of becoming a painter, taking my parents on a world tour, and many more," I told her cryingly.

"Supriya life is very unpredictable, and we all live with a mystery." fairly said.

"Mystery? Which mystery?" I asked her.

"The mystery of death" Her answer raised my curiosity.

"Death is uncertain; that's why the future is unpredictable, and death is a mystery." She smiled strangely while saying it.

"You had time to become a painter and take your parents on a world tour, but you kept it for the future. You could have made yourself happy by doing things you enjoy the most but kept it for an unpredictable future." She broke the bubble and showed me a mirror.

Now I understand my mistake; I would be so happy if I was a painter and not an engineer. I would not have felt exhausted and enjoyed my life too.

"Now I realize the importance of doing what you like the most, but it's too late," I told her cryingly.

"Come, Supriya, It's time to go," she said smilingly.

"Please let me live; I want to rectify my mistake. Please, please, please." I begged the fairy with closed eyes while crying.

Suddenly in the I.C.U wards, I opened my eyes and slightly moved my legs. The Nurse rushed to call the doctor. After 1 minute, the doctor came and started checking my nerves.

"Very few patients get a new life after such a dangerous accident. You are indeed Lucky." the doctor told me.

"Yes, I am." replied with a smile.

"It's not just a new life, but it's going to be a journey of happiness," I told myself.

Suddenly I saw a beautiful white feather near my pillow and started smiling.

Thank You, fairy, for this new happy life.

Moral of the story: Don't put your happiness for the future. God has given us a beautiful life, so be happy and do whatever you like. Do it, whether small or big, because it can make your day the best and laugh out louder with happiness.

familyShort Story
Like

About the Creator

IshaWrites

Content Writer| Copywriter | Story Writer

To share unknown and exciting stories is not just my job; its a fuel to make me happy.

For writing project, contact on: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.